Loanweek

Average auto loan rates

New-car loan, 60 months

7.14%

−0.38 pt from the previous survey. May 2026 survey.

New-car loan, 48 months

7.47%

May 2026 survey.

Source: Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, finance rates at commercial banks (FRED RIFLPBCIANM60NM, TERMCBAUTO48NS). Averages, not offers.

By credit score

Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026: average APR
TierScoreNew carUsed car
Super prime781–8504.41%6.29%
Prime661–7806.23%not reported
Near prime601–6609.67%not reported
Subprime501–60013.44%not reported
Deep subprime300–50016.11%21.62%
All tiers6.35%11.19%

Bank rates over time

Average new-car loan rates at commercial banksAverage rate from August 1, 2025 to May 1, 2026, every published observation.60-month new-car48-month new-car7.10%7.20%7.30%7.40%7.50%7.60%7.70%August 2025November 2025May 202660-month new-car, August 2025: 7.64%60-month new-car, November 2025: 7.22%60-month new-car, February 2026: 7.52%60-month new-car, May 2026: 7.14%48-month new-car, May 2026: 7.47%7.47%7.14%
Survey60-month48-month
May 20267.14%7.47%
February 20267.52%—
November 20257.22%—
August 20257.64%—

Payments at the 60-month bank average

Questions

What is the average car loan rate right now?

Commercial banks charged an average 7.14% on 60-month new-car loans in the Federal Reserve's May 2026 survey. Experian's Q2 2026 figures put the average across all lenders at 6.35% for new cars and 11.19% for used.

Why are the two averages different?

The Fed series is the most common rate at a panel of commercial banks; Experian averages every auto loan originated, including captive lenders' promotional rates and credit unions.

How much does credit score change the rate?

In Experian's Q2 2026 data, new-car rates ran from 4.41% for super-prime borrowers to 16.11% for deep subprime.

How often is this updated?

The Fed publishes these rates quarterly in its G.19 release; Experian publishes its tiers quarterly. This page updates when either does.

Sources

Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.