$100,000 car loan payment
$1,986.73/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$19,204 total interest over 60 months
Principal $100,000 Interest $19,204. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,860.21 | 6.29% | $1,946.79 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,943.99 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $2,108.50 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,297.89 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,437.65 | 21.62% | $2,740.33 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $100,000 |
| Sales tax | $7,250 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $107,250 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $2,130.77 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,986.73 payment is 10% of gross income at $238,408 a year and 15% at $158,939. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,391.73 | $595.00 | $98,608.27 |
| 2 | $1,400.01 | $586.72 | $97,208.26 |
| 3 | $1,408.34 | $578.39 | $95,799.91 |
| 4 | $1,416.72 | $570.01 | $94,383.19 |
| 5 | $1,425.15 | $561.58 | $92,958.04 |
| 6 | $1,433.63 | $553.10 | $91,524.41 |
| 7 | $1,442.16 | $544.57 | $90,082.25 |
| 8 | $1,450.74 | $535.99 | $88,631.50 |
| 9 | $1,459.37 | $527.36 | $87,172.13 |
| 10 | $1,468.06 | $518.67 | $85,704.07 |
| 11 | $1,476.79 | $509.94 | $84,227.28 |
| 12 | $1,485.58 | $501.15 | $82,741.70 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $17,258 | $6,582 | $82,742 |
| 2 | $18,532 | $5,309 | $64,210 |
| 3 | $19,899 | $3,942 | $44,311 |
| 4 | $21,367 | $2,474 | $22,944 |
| 5 | $22,944 | $897 | $0 |
| Total | $100,000 | $19,204 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,391.73 | 595.00 | 98,608.27 |
| 2 | 1,400.01 | 586.72 | 97,208.26 |
| 3 | 1,408.34 | 578.39 | 95,799.91 |
| 4 | 1,416.72 | 570.01 | 94,383.19 |
| 5 | 1,425.15 | 561.58 | 92,958.04 |
| 6 | 1,433.63 | 553.10 | 91,524.41 |
| 7 | 1,442.16 | 544.57 | 90,082.25 |
| 8 | 1,450.74 | 535.99 | 88,631.50 |
| 9 | 1,459.37 | 527.36 | 87,172.13 |
| 10 | 1,468.06 | 518.67 | 85,704.07 |
| 11 | 1,476.79 | 509.94 | 84,227.28 |
| 12 | 1,485.58 | 501.15 | 82,741.70 |
| 13 | 1,494.42 | 492.31 | 81,247.28 |
| 14 | 1,503.31 | 483.42 | 79,743.97 |
| 15 | 1,512.26 | 474.48 | 78,231.72 |
| 16 | 1,521.25 | 465.48 | 76,710.46 |
| 17 | 1,530.30 | 456.43 | 75,180.16 |
| 18 | 1,539.41 | 447.32 | 73,640.75 |
| 19 | 1,548.57 | 438.16 | 72,092.18 |
| 20 | 1,557.78 | 428.95 | 70,534.40 |
| 21 | 1,567.05 | 419.68 | 68,967.34 |
| 22 | 1,576.38 | 410.36 | 67,390.97 |
| 23 | 1,585.76 | 400.98 | 65,805.21 |
| 24 | 1,595.19 | 391.54 | 64,210.02 |
| 25 | 1,604.68 | 382.05 | 62,605.34 |
| 26 | 1,614.23 | 372.50 | 60,991.11 |
| 27 | 1,623.83 | 362.90 | 59,367.27 |
| 28 | 1,633.50 | 353.24 | 57,733.78 |
| 29 | 1,643.22 | 343.52 | 56,090.56 |
| 30 | 1,652.99 | 333.74 | 54,437.57 |
| 31 | 1,662.83 | 323.90 | 52,774.74 |
| 32 | 1,672.72 | 314.01 | 51,102.02 |
| 33 | 1,682.67 | 304.06 | 49,419.34 |
| 34 | 1,692.69 | 294.05 | 47,726.66 |
| 35 | 1,702.76 | 283.97 | 46,023.90 |
| 36 | 1,712.89 | 273.84 | 44,311.01 |
| 37 | 1,723.08 | 263.65 | 42,587.93 |
| 38 | 1,733.33 | 253.40 | 40,854.60 |
| 39 | 1,743.65 | 243.08 | 39,110.95 |
| 40 | 1,754.02 | 232.71 | 37,356.93 |
| 41 | 1,764.46 | 222.27 | 35,592.47 |
| 42 | 1,774.96 | 211.78 | 33,817.51 |
| 43 | 1,785.52 | 201.21 | 32,032.00 |
| 44 | 1,796.14 | 190.59 | 30,235.85 |
| 45 | 1,806.83 | 179.90 | 28,429.03 |
| 46 | 1,817.58 | 169.15 | 26,611.45 |
| 47 | 1,828.39 | 158.34 | 24,783.05 |
| 48 | 1,839.27 | 147.46 | 22,943.78 |
| 49 | 1,850.22 | 136.52 | 21,093.56 |
| 50 | 1,861.23 | 125.51 | 19,232.34 |
| 51 | 1,872.30 | 114.43 | 17,360.04 |
| 52 | 1,883.44 | 103.29 | 15,476.60 |
| 53 | 1,894.65 | 92.09 | 13,581.95 |
| 54 | 1,905.92 | 80.81 | 11,676.03 |
| 55 | 1,917.26 | 69.47 | 9,758.78 |
| 56 | 1,928.67 | 58.06 | 7,830.11 |
| 57 | 1,940.14 | 46.59 | 5,889.97 |
| 58 | 1,951.69 | 35.05 | 3,938.28 |
| 59 | 1,963.30 | 23.43 | 1,974.98 |
| 60 | 1,974.98 | 11.75 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $100,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,986.73 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $19,204.
How much is a $100,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,297.89 a month over 60 months, versus $1,943.99 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $100,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,986.73 to $1,711.63 but adds $4,034 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $100,000 car loan?
The $1,986.73 payment is 10% of gross income at $238,408 a year and 15% at $158,939. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $100,000 car in California?
$7,250 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $2,130.77. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.