$19,500 car loan for 60 months
$387.41/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$3,745 total interest over 60 months
Principal $19,500 Interest $3,745. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $362.74 | 6.29% | $379.62 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $379.08 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $411.16 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $448.09 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $475.34 | 21.62% | $534.36 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $19,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,414 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $20,914 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $415.50 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $387.41 payment is 10% of gross income at $46,490 a year and 15% at $30,993. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $271.39 | $116.03 | $19,228.61 |
| 2 | $273.00 | $114.41 | $18,955.61 |
| 3 | $274.63 | $112.79 | $18,680.98 |
| 4 | $276.26 | $111.15 | $18,404.72 |
| 5 | $277.90 | $109.51 | $18,126.82 |
| 6 | $279.56 | $107.85 | $17,847.26 |
| 7 | $281.22 | $106.19 | $17,566.04 |
| 8 | $282.89 | $104.52 | $17,283.14 |
| 9 | $284.58 | $102.83 | $16,998.57 |
| 10 | $286.27 | $101.14 | $16,712.29 |
| 11 | $287.97 | $99.44 | $16,424.32 |
| 12 | $289.69 | $97.72 | $16,134.63 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $3,365 | $1,284 | $16,135 |
| 2 | $3,614 | $1,035 | $12,521 |
| 3 | $3,880 | $769 | $8,641 |
| 4 | $4,167 | $482 | $4,474 |
| 5 | $4,474 | $175 | $0 |
| Total | $19,500 | $3,745 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 271.39 | 116.03 | 19,228.61 |
| 2 | 273.00 | 114.41 | 18,955.61 |
| 3 | 274.63 | 112.79 | 18,680.98 |
| 4 | 276.26 | 111.15 | 18,404.72 |
| 5 | 277.90 | 109.51 | 18,126.82 |
| 6 | 279.56 | 107.85 | 17,847.26 |
| 7 | 281.22 | 106.19 | 17,566.04 |
| 8 | 282.89 | 104.52 | 17,283.14 |
| 9 | 284.58 | 102.83 | 16,998.57 |
| 10 | 286.27 | 101.14 | 16,712.29 |
| 11 | 287.97 | 99.44 | 16,424.32 |
| 12 | 289.69 | 97.72 | 16,134.63 |
| 13 | 291.41 | 96.00 | 15,843.22 |
| 14 | 293.15 | 94.27 | 15,550.07 |
| 15 | 294.89 | 92.52 | 15,255.18 |
| 16 | 296.64 | 90.77 | 14,958.54 |
| 17 | 298.41 | 89.00 | 14,660.13 |
| 18 | 300.18 | 87.23 | 14,359.95 |
| 19 | 301.97 | 85.44 | 14,057.97 |
| 20 | 303.77 | 83.64 | 13,754.21 |
| 21 | 305.58 | 81.84 | 13,448.63 |
| 22 | 307.39 | 80.02 | 13,141.24 |
| 23 | 309.22 | 78.19 | 12,832.02 |
| 24 | 311.06 | 76.35 | 12,520.95 |
| 25 | 312.91 | 74.50 | 12,208.04 |
| 26 | 314.77 | 72.64 | 11,893.27 |
| 27 | 316.65 | 70.76 | 11,576.62 |
| 28 | 318.53 | 68.88 | 11,258.09 |
| 29 | 320.43 | 66.99 | 10,937.66 |
| 30 | 322.33 | 65.08 | 10,615.33 |
| 31 | 324.25 | 63.16 | 10,291.07 |
| 32 | 326.18 | 61.23 | 9,964.89 |
| 33 | 328.12 | 59.29 | 9,636.77 |
| 34 | 330.07 | 57.34 | 9,306.70 |
| 35 | 332.04 | 55.37 | 8,974.66 |
| 36 | 334.01 | 53.40 | 8,640.65 |
| 37 | 336.00 | 51.41 | 8,304.65 |
| 38 | 338.00 | 49.41 | 7,966.65 |
| 39 | 340.01 | 47.40 | 7,626.64 |
| 40 | 342.03 | 45.38 | 7,284.60 |
| 41 | 344.07 | 43.34 | 6,940.53 |
| 42 | 346.12 | 41.30 | 6,594.41 |
| 43 | 348.18 | 39.24 | 6,246.24 |
| 44 | 350.25 | 37.17 | 5,895.99 |
| 45 | 352.33 | 35.08 | 5,543.66 |
| 46 | 354.43 | 32.98 | 5,189.23 |
| 47 | 356.54 | 30.88 | 4,832.70 |
| 48 | 358.66 | 28.75 | 4,474.04 |
| 49 | 360.79 | 26.62 | 4,113.24 |
| 50 | 362.94 | 24.47 | 3,750.31 |
| 51 | 365.10 | 22.31 | 3,385.21 |
| 52 | 367.27 | 20.14 | 3,017.94 |
| 53 | 369.46 | 17.96 | 2,648.48 |
| 54 | 371.65 | 15.76 | 2,276.83 |
| 55 | 373.87 | 13.55 | 1,902.96 |
| 56 | 376.09 | 11.32 | 1,526.87 |
| 57 | 378.33 | 9.08 | 1,148.54 |
| 58 | 380.58 | 6.83 | 767.96 |
| 59 | 382.84 | 4.57 | 385.12 |
| 60 | 385.12 | 2.29 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $19,500 car loan for 60 months?
$387.41 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $3,745.
How much is a $19,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $448.09 a month over 60 months, versus $379.08 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $19,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $387.41 to $333.77 but adds $787 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $19,500 car loan?
The $387.41 payment is 10% of gross income at $46,490 a year and 15% at $30,993. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $19,500 car in California?
$1,414 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $415.50. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.