$24,000 car loan payment
$476.82/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$4,609 total interest over 60 months
Principal $24,000 Interest $4,609. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $446.45 | 6.29% | $467.23 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $466.56 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $506.04 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $551.49 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $585.04 | 21.62% | $657.68 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $24,000 |
| Sales tax | $1,740 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $25,740 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $511.38 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $476.82 payment is 10% of gross income at $57,218 a year and 15% at $38,145. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $334.02 | $142.80 | $23,665.98 |
| 2 | $336.00 | $140.81 | $23,329.98 |
| 3 | $338.00 | $138.81 | $22,991.98 |
| 4 | $340.01 | $136.80 | $22,651.97 |
| 5 | $342.04 | $134.78 | $22,309.93 |
| 6 | $344.07 | $132.74 | $21,965.86 |
| 7 | $346.12 | $130.70 | $21,619.74 |
| 8 | $348.18 | $128.64 | $21,271.56 |
| 9 | $350.25 | $126.57 | $20,921.31 |
| 10 | $352.33 | $124.48 | $20,568.98 |
| 11 | $354.43 | $122.39 | $20,214.55 |
| 12 | $356.54 | $120.28 | $19,858.01 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4,142 | $1,580 | $19,858 |
| 2 | $4,448 | $1,274 | $15,410 |
| 3 | $4,776 | $946 | $10,635 |
| 4 | $5,128 | $594 | $5,507 |
| 5 | $5,507 | $215 | $0 |
| Total | $24,000 | $4,609 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 334.02 | 142.80 | 23,665.98 |
| 2 | 336.00 | 140.81 | 23,329.98 |
| 3 | 338.00 | 138.81 | 22,991.98 |
| 4 | 340.01 | 136.80 | 22,651.97 |
| 5 | 342.04 | 134.78 | 22,309.93 |
| 6 | 344.07 | 132.74 | 21,965.86 |
| 7 | 346.12 | 130.70 | 21,619.74 |
| 8 | 348.18 | 128.64 | 21,271.56 |
| 9 | 350.25 | 126.57 | 20,921.31 |
| 10 | 352.33 | 124.48 | 20,568.98 |
| 11 | 354.43 | 122.39 | 20,214.55 |
| 12 | 356.54 | 120.28 | 19,858.01 |
| 13 | 358.66 | 118.16 | 19,499.35 |
| 14 | 360.79 | 116.02 | 19,138.55 |
| 15 | 362.94 | 113.87 | 18,775.61 |
| 16 | 365.10 | 111.71 | 18,410.51 |
| 17 | 367.27 | 109.54 | 18,043.24 |
| 18 | 369.46 | 107.36 | 17,673.78 |
| 19 | 371.66 | 105.16 | 17,302.12 |
| 20 | 373.87 | 102.95 | 16,928.26 |
| 21 | 376.09 | 100.72 | 16,552.16 |
| 22 | 378.33 | 98.49 | 16,173.83 |
| 23 | 380.58 | 96.23 | 15,793.25 |
| 24 | 382.85 | 93.97 | 15,410.41 |
| 25 | 385.12 | 91.69 | 15,025.28 |
| 26 | 387.42 | 89.40 | 14,637.87 |
| 27 | 389.72 | 87.10 | 14,248.15 |
| 28 | 392.04 | 84.78 | 13,856.11 |
| 29 | 394.37 | 82.44 | 13,461.74 |
| 30 | 396.72 | 80.10 | 13,065.02 |
| 31 | 399.08 | 77.74 | 12,665.94 |
| 32 | 401.45 | 75.36 | 12,264.48 |
| 33 | 403.84 | 72.97 | 11,860.64 |
| 34 | 406.24 | 70.57 | 11,454.40 |
| 35 | 408.66 | 68.15 | 11,045.74 |
| 36 | 411.09 | 65.72 | 10,634.64 |
| 37 | 413.54 | 63.28 | 10,221.10 |
| 38 | 416.00 | 60.82 | 9,805.10 |
| 39 | 418.48 | 58.34 | 9,386.63 |
| 40 | 420.97 | 55.85 | 8,965.66 |
| 41 | 423.47 | 53.35 | 8,542.19 |
| 42 | 425.99 | 50.83 | 8,116.20 |
| 43 | 428.52 | 48.29 | 7,687.68 |
| 44 | 431.07 | 45.74 | 7,256.60 |
| 45 | 433.64 | 43.18 | 6,822.97 |
| 46 | 436.22 | 40.60 | 6,386.75 |
| 47 | 438.81 | 38.00 | 5,947.93 |
| 48 | 441.43 | 35.39 | 5,506.51 |
| 49 | 444.05 | 32.76 | 5,062.46 |
| 50 | 446.69 | 30.12 | 4,615.76 |
| 51 | 449.35 | 27.46 | 4,166.41 |
| 52 | 452.03 | 24.79 | 3,714.38 |
| 53 | 454.72 | 22.10 | 3,259.67 |
| 54 | 457.42 | 19.40 | 2,802.25 |
| 55 | 460.14 | 16.67 | 2,342.11 |
| 56 | 462.88 | 13.94 | 1,879.23 |
| 57 | 465.63 | 11.18 | 1,413.59 |
| 58 | 468.40 | 8.41 | 945.19 |
| 59 | 471.19 | 5.62 | 474.00 |
| 60 | 474.00 | 2.82 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $24,000 car loan for 60 months?
$476.82 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $4,609.
How much is a $24,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $551.49 a month over 60 months, versus $466.56 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $24,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $476.82 to $410.79 but adds $968 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $24,000 car loan?
The $476.82 payment is 10% of gross income at $57,218 a year and 15% at $38,145. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $24,000 car in California?
$1,740 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $511.38. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.