$30,500 car loan payment
$605.95/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,857 total interest over 60 months
Principal $30,500 Interest $5,857. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $567.36 | 6.29% | $593.77 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $592.92 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $643.09 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $700.86 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $743.48 | 21.62% | $835.80 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $30,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,211 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $32,711 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $649.88 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $605.95 payment is 10% of gross income at $72,714 a year and 15% at $48,476. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $424.48 | $181.48 | $30,075.52 |
| 2 | $427.00 | $178.95 | $29,648.52 |
| 3 | $429.54 | $176.41 | $29,218.97 |
| 4 | $432.10 | $173.85 | $28,786.87 |
| 5 | $434.67 | $171.28 | $28,352.20 |
| 6 | $437.26 | $168.70 | $27,914.94 |
| 7 | $439.86 | $166.09 | $27,475.09 |
| 8 | $442.48 | $163.48 | $27,032.61 |
| 9 | $445.11 | $160.84 | $26,587.50 |
| 10 | $447.76 | $158.20 | $26,139.74 |
| 11 | $450.42 | $155.53 | $25,689.32 |
| 12 | $453.10 | $152.85 | $25,236.22 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,264 | $2,008 | $25,236 |
| 2 | $5,652 | $1,619 | $19,584 |
| 3 | $6,069 | $1,202 | $13,515 |
| 4 | $6,517 | $754 | $6,998 |
| 5 | $6,998 | $274 | $0 |
| Total | $30,500 | $5,857 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 424.48 | 181.48 | 30,075.52 |
| 2 | 427.00 | 178.95 | 29,648.52 |
| 3 | 429.54 | 176.41 | 29,218.97 |
| 4 | 432.10 | 173.85 | 28,786.87 |
| 5 | 434.67 | 171.28 | 28,352.20 |
| 6 | 437.26 | 168.70 | 27,914.94 |
| 7 | 439.86 | 166.09 | 27,475.09 |
| 8 | 442.48 | 163.48 | 27,032.61 |
| 9 | 445.11 | 160.84 | 26,587.50 |
| 10 | 447.76 | 158.20 | 26,139.74 |
| 11 | 450.42 | 155.53 | 25,689.32 |
| 12 | 453.10 | 152.85 | 25,236.22 |
| 13 | 455.80 | 150.16 | 24,780.42 |
| 14 | 458.51 | 147.44 | 24,321.91 |
| 15 | 461.24 | 144.72 | 23,860.67 |
| 16 | 463.98 | 141.97 | 23,396.69 |
| 17 | 466.74 | 139.21 | 22,929.95 |
| 18 | 469.52 | 136.43 | 22,460.43 |
| 19 | 472.31 | 133.64 | 21,988.11 |
| 20 | 475.12 | 130.83 | 21,512.99 |
| 21 | 477.95 | 128.00 | 21,035.04 |
| 22 | 480.79 | 125.16 | 20,554.25 |
| 23 | 483.66 | 122.30 | 20,070.59 |
| 24 | 486.53 | 119.42 | 19,584.06 |
| 25 | 489.43 | 116.53 | 19,094.63 |
| 26 | 492.34 | 113.61 | 18,602.29 |
| 27 | 495.27 | 110.68 | 18,107.02 |
| 28 | 498.22 | 107.74 | 17,608.80 |
| 29 | 501.18 | 104.77 | 17,107.62 |
| 30 | 504.16 | 101.79 | 16,603.46 |
| 31 | 507.16 | 98.79 | 16,096.30 |
| 32 | 510.18 | 95.77 | 15,586.12 |
| 33 | 513.22 | 92.74 | 15,072.90 |
| 34 | 516.27 | 89.68 | 14,556.63 |
| 35 | 519.34 | 86.61 | 14,037.29 |
| 36 | 522.43 | 83.52 | 13,514.86 |
| 37 | 525.54 | 80.41 | 12,989.32 |
| 38 | 528.67 | 77.29 | 12,460.65 |
| 39 | 531.81 | 74.14 | 11,928.84 |
| 40 | 534.98 | 70.98 | 11,393.86 |
| 41 | 538.16 | 67.79 | 10,855.70 |
| 42 | 541.36 | 64.59 | 10,314.34 |
| 43 | 544.58 | 61.37 | 9,769.76 |
| 44 | 547.82 | 58.13 | 9,221.94 |
| 45 | 551.08 | 54.87 | 8,670.85 |
| 46 | 554.36 | 51.59 | 8,116.49 |
| 47 | 557.66 | 48.29 | 7,558.83 |
| 48 | 560.98 | 44.98 | 6,997.85 |
| 49 | 564.32 | 41.64 | 6,433.54 |
| 50 | 567.67 | 38.28 | 5,865.86 |
| 51 | 571.05 | 34.90 | 5,294.81 |
| 52 | 574.45 | 31.50 | 4,720.36 |
| 53 | 577.87 | 28.09 | 4,142.50 |
| 54 | 581.31 | 24.65 | 3,561.19 |
| 55 | 584.76 | 21.19 | 2,976.43 |
| 56 | 588.24 | 17.71 | 2,388.18 |
| 57 | 591.74 | 14.21 | 1,796.44 |
| 58 | 595.26 | 10.69 | 1,201.18 |
| 59 | 598.81 | 7.15 | 602.37 |
| 60 | 602.37 | 3.58 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $30,500 car loan for 60 months?
$605.95 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,857.
How much is a $30,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $700.86 a month over 60 months, versus $592.92 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $30,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $605.95 to $522.05 but adds $1,230 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $30,500 car loan?
The $605.95 payment is 10% of gross income at $72,714 a year and 15% at $48,476. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $30,500 car in California?
$2,211 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $649.88. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.