$34,500 car loan payment
$685.42/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$6,625 total interest over 60 months
Principal $34,500 Interest $6,625. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $641.77 | 6.29% | $671.64 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $670.68 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $727.43 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $792.77 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $840.99 | 21.62% | $945.41 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $34,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,501 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $37,001 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $735.12 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $685.42 payment is 10% of gross income at $82,251 a year and 15% at $54,834. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $480.15 | $205.28 | $34,019.85 |
| 2 | $483.00 | $202.42 | $33,536.85 |
| 3 | $485.88 | $199.54 | $33,050.97 |
| 4 | $488.77 | $196.65 | $32,562.20 |
| 5 | $491.68 | $193.75 | $32,070.52 |
| 6 | $494.60 | $190.82 | $31,575.92 |
| 7 | $497.55 | $187.88 | $31,078.37 |
| 8 | $500.51 | $184.92 | $30,577.87 |
| 9 | $503.48 | $181.94 | $30,074.38 |
| 10 | $506.48 | $178.94 | $29,567.90 |
| 11 | $509.49 | $175.93 | $29,058.41 |
| 12 | $512.52 | $172.90 | $28,545.89 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,954 | $2,271 | $28,546 |
| 2 | $6,393 | $1,832 | $22,152 |
| 3 | $6,865 | $1,360 | $15,287 |
| 4 | $7,372 | $853 | $7,916 |
| 5 | $7,916 | $309 | $0 |
| Total | $34,500 | $6,625 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 480.15 | 205.28 | 34,019.85 |
| 2 | 483.00 | 202.42 | 33,536.85 |
| 3 | 485.88 | 199.54 | 33,050.97 |
| 4 | 488.77 | 196.65 | 32,562.20 |
| 5 | 491.68 | 193.75 | 32,070.52 |
| 6 | 494.60 | 190.82 | 31,575.92 |
| 7 | 497.55 | 187.88 | 31,078.37 |
| 8 | 500.51 | 184.92 | 30,577.87 |
| 9 | 503.48 | 181.94 | 30,074.38 |
| 10 | 506.48 | 178.94 | 29,567.90 |
| 11 | 509.49 | 175.93 | 29,058.41 |
| 12 | 512.52 | 172.90 | 28,545.89 |
| 13 | 515.57 | 169.85 | 28,030.31 |
| 14 | 518.64 | 166.78 | 27,511.67 |
| 15 | 521.73 | 163.69 | 26,989.94 |
| 16 | 524.83 | 160.59 | 26,465.11 |
| 17 | 527.96 | 157.47 | 25,937.15 |
| 18 | 531.10 | 154.33 | 25,406.06 |
| 19 | 534.26 | 151.17 | 24,871.80 |
| 20 | 537.44 | 147.99 | 24,334.37 |
| 21 | 540.63 | 144.79 | 23,793.73 |
| 22 | 543.85 | 141.57 | 23,249.88 |
| 23 | 547.09 | 138.34 | 22,702.80 |
| 24 | 550.34 | 135.08 | 22,152.46 |
| 25 | 553.62 | 131.81 | 21,598.84 |
| 26 | 556.91 | 128.51 | 21,041.93 |
| 27 | 560.22 | 125.20 | 20,481.71 |
| 28 | 563.56 | 121.87 | 19,918.15 |
| 29 | 566.91 | 118.51 | 19,351.24 |
| 30 | 570.28 | 115.14 | 18,780.96 |
| 31 | 573.68 | 111.75 | 18,207.29 |
| 32 | 577.09 | 108.33 | 17,630.20 |
| 33 | 580.52 | 104.90 | 17,049.67 |
| 34 | 583.98 | 101.45 | 16,465.70 |
| 35 | 587.45 | 97.97 | 15,878.25 |
| 36 | 590.95 | 94.48 | 15,287.30 |
| 37 | 594.46 | 90.96 | 14,692.84 |
| 38 | 598.00 | 87.42 | 14,094.84 |
| 39 | 601.56 | 83.86 | 13,493.28 |
| 40 | 605.14 | 80.29 | 12,888.14 |
| 41 | 608.74 | 76.68 | 12,279.40 |
| 42 | 612.36 | 73.06 | 11,667.04 |
| 43 | 616.00 | 69.42 | 11,051.04 |
| 44 | 619.67 | 65.75 | 10,431.37 |
| 45 | 623.36 | 62.07 | 9,808.01 |
| 46 | 627.06 | 58.36 | 9,180.95 |
| 47 | 630.80 | 54.63 | 8,550.15 |
| 48 | 634.55 | 50.87 | 7,915.60 |
| 49 | 638.32 | 47.10 | 7,277.28 |
| 50 | 642.12 | 43.30 | 6,635.16 |
| 51 | 645.94 | 39.48 | 5,989.21 |
| 52 | 649.79 | 35.64 | 5,339.43 |
| 53 | 653.65 | 31.77 | 4,685.77 |
| 54 | 657.54 | 27.88 | 4,028.23 |
| 55 | 661.45 | 23.97 | 3,366.78 |
| 56 | 665.39 | 20.03 | 2,701.39 |
| 57 | 669.35 | 16.07 | 2,032.04 |
| 58 | 673.33 | 12.09 | 1,358.71 |
| 59 | 677.34 | 8.08 | 681.37 |
| 60 | 681.37 | 4.05 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $34,500 car loan for 60 months?
$685.42 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $6,625.
How much is a $34,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $792.77 a month over 60 months, versus $670.68 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $34,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $685.42 to $590.51 but adds $1,392 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $34,500 car loan?
The $685.42 payment is 10% of gross income at $82,251 a year and 15% at $54,834. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $34,500 car in California?
$2,501 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $735.12. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.