$40,000 car loan for 60 months
$794.69/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$7,682 total interest over 60 months
Principal $40,000 Interest $7,682. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $744.08 | 6.29% | $778.72 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $777.60 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $843.40 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $919.16 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $975.06 | 21.62% | $1,096.13 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $40,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,900 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $42,900 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $852.31 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $794.69 payment is 10% of gross income at $95,363 a year and 15% at $63,575. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $556.69 | $238.00 | $39,443.31 |
| 2 | $560.01 | $234.69 | $38,883.30 |
| 3 | $563.34 | $231.36 | $38,319.97 |
| 4 | $566.69 | $228.00 | $37,753.28 |
| 5 | $570.06 | $224.63 | $37,183.22 |
| 6 | $573.45 | $221.24 | $36,609.76 |
| 7 | $576.86 | $217.83 | $36,032.90 |
| 8 | $580.30 | $214.40 | $35,452.60 |
| 9 | $583.75 | $210.94 | $34,868.85 |
| 10 | $587.22 | $207.47 | $34,281.63 |
| 11 | $590.72 | $203.98 | $33,690.91 |
| 12 | $594.23 | $200.46 | $33,096.68 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,903 | $2,633 | $33,097 |
| 2 | $7,413 | $2,124 | $25,684 |
| 3 | $7,960 | $1,577 | $17,724 |
| 4 | $8,547 | $989 | $9,178 |
| 5 | $9,178 | $359 | $0 |
| Total | $40,000 | $7,682 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 556.69 | 238.00 | 39,443.31 |
| 2 | 560.01 | 234.69 | 38,883.30 |
| 3 | 563.34 | 231.36 | 38,319.97 |
| 4 | 566.69 | 228.00 | 37,753.28 |
| 5 | 570.06 | 224.63 | 37,183.22 |
| 6 | 573.45 | 221.24 | 36,609.76 |
| 7 | 576.86 | 217.83 | 36,032.90 |
| 8 | 580.30 | 214.40 | 35,452.60 |
| 9 | 583.75 | 210.94 | 34,868.85 |
| 10 | 587.22 | 207.47 | 34,281.63 |
| 11 | 590.72 | 203.98 | 33,690.91 |
| 12 | 594.23 | 200.46 | 33,096.68 |
| 13 | 597.77 | 196.93 | 32,498.91 |
| 14 | 601.32 | 193.37 | 31,897.59 |
| 15 | 604.90 | 189.79 | 31,292.69 |
| 16 | 608.50 | 186.19 | 30,684.19 |
| 17 | 612.12 | 182.57 | 30,072.06 |
| 18 | 615.76 | 178.93 | 29,456.30 |
| 19 | 619.43 | 175.26 | 28,836.87 |
| 20 | 623.11 | 171.58 | 28,213.76 |
| 21 | 626.82 | 167.87 | 27,586.94 |
| 22 | 630.55 | 164.14 | 26,956.39 |
| 23 | 634.30 | 160.39 | 26,322.08 |
| 24 | 638.08 | 156.62 | 25,684.01 |
| 25 | 641.87 | 152.82 | 25,042.14 |
| 26 | 645.69 | 149.00 | 24,396.44 |
| 27 | 649.53 | 145.16 | 23,746.91 |
| 28 | 653.40 | 141.29 | 23,093.51 |
| 29 | 657.29 | 137.41 | 22,436.23 |
| 30 | 661.20 | 133.50 | 21,775.03 |
| 31 | 665.13 | 129.56 | 21,109.90 |
| 32 | 669.09 | 125.60 | 20,440.81 |
| 33 | 673.07 | 121.62 | 19,767.74 |
| 34 | 677.07 | 117.62 | 19,090.66 |
| 35 | 681.10 | 113.59 | 18,409.56 |
| 36 | 685.16 | 109.54 | 17,724.40 |
| 37 | 689.23 | 105.46 | 17,035.17 |
| 38 | 693.33 | 101.36 | 16,341.84 |
| 39 | 697.46 | 97.23 | 15,644.38 |
| 40 | 701.61 | 93.08 | 14,942.77 |
| 41 | 705.78 | 88.91 | 14,236.99 |
| 42 | 709.98 | 84.71 | 13,527.01 |
| 43 | 714.21 | 80.49 | 12,812.80 |
| 44 | 718.46 | 76.24 | 12,094.34 |
| 45 | 722.73 | 71.96 | 11,371.61 |
| 46 | 727.03 | 67.66 | 10,644.58 |
| 47 | 731.36 | 63.34 | 9,913.22 |
| 48 | 735.71 | 58.98 | 9,177.51 |
| 49 | 740.09 | 54.61 | 8,437.43 |
| 50 | 744.49 | 50.20 | 7,692.94 |
| 51 | 748.92 | 45.77 | 6,944.02 |
| 52 | 753.38 | 41.32 | 6,190.64 |
| 53 | 757.86 | 36.83 | 5,432.78 |
| 54 | 762.37 | 32.33 | 4,670.41 |
| 55 | 766.90 | 27.79 | 3,903.51 |
| 56 | 771.47 | 23.23 | 3,132.04 |
| 57 | 776.06 | 18.64 | 2,355.99 |
| 58 | 780.67 | 14.02 | 1,575.31 |
| 59 | 785.32 | 9.37 | 789.99 |
| 60 | 789.99 | 4.70 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $40,000 car loan for 60 months?
$794.69 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $7,682.
How much is a $40,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $919.16 a month over 60 months, versus $777.60 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $40,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $794.69 to $684.65 but adds $1,613 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $40,000 car loan?
The $794.69 payment is 10% of gross income at $95,363 a year and 15% at $63,575. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $40,000 car in California?
$2,900 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $852.31. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.