$41,000 car loan payment
$814.56/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$7,874 total interest over 60 months
Principal $41,000 Interest $7,874. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $762.69 | 6.29% | $798.19 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $797.04 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $864.49 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $942.14 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $999.44 | 21.62% | $1,123.53 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $41,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,973 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $43,973 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $873.62 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $814.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $97,747 a year and 15% at $65,165. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $570.61 | $243.95 | $40,429.39 |
| 2 | $574.01 | $240.55 | $39,855.38 |
| 3 | $577.42 | $237.14 | $39,277.96 |
| 4 | $580.86 | $233.70 | $38,697.11 |
| 5 | $584.31 | $230.25 | $38,112.80 |
| 6 | $587.79 | $226.77 | $37,525.01 |
| 7 | $591.29 | $223.27 | $36,933.72 |
| 8 | $594.80 | $219.76 | $36,338.92 |
| 9 | $598.34 | $216.22 | $35,740.57 |
| 10 | $601.90 | $212.66 | $35,138.67 |
| 11 | $605.48 | $209.08 | $34,533.18 |
| 12 | $609.09 | $205.47 | $33,924.10 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,076 | $2,699 | $33,924 |
| 2 | $7,598 | $2,177 | $26,326 |
| 3 | $8,159 | $1,616 | $18,168 |
| 4 | $8,761 | $1,014 | $9,407 |
| 5 | $9,407 | $368 | $0 |
| Total | $41,000 | $7,874 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 570.61 | 243.95 | 40,429.39 |
| 2 | 574.01 | 240.55 | 39,855.38 |
| 3 | 577.42 | 237.14 | 39,277.96 |
| 4 | 580.86 | 233.70 | 38,697.11 |
| 5 | 584.31 | 230.25 | 38,112.80 |
| 6 | 587.79 | 226.77 | 37,525.01 |
| 7 | 591.29 | 223.27 | 36,933.72 |
| 8 | 594.80 | 219.76 | 36,338.92 |
| 9 | 598.34 | 216.22 | 35,740.57 |
| 10 | 601.90 | 212.66 | 35,138.67 |
| 11 | 605.48 | 209.08 | 34,533.18 |
| 12 | 609.09 | 205.47 | 33,924.10 |
| 13 | 612.71 | 201.85 | 33,311.39 |
| 14 | 616.36 | 198.20 | 32,695.03 |
| 15 | 620.02 | 194.54 | 32,075.00 |
| 16 | 623.71 | 190.85 | 31,451.29 |
| 17 | 627.42 | 187.14 | 30,823.86 |
| 18 | 631.16 | 183.40 | 30,192.71 |
| 19 | 634.91 | 179.65 | 29,557.79 |
| 20 | 638.69 | 175.87 | 28,919.10 |
| 21 | 642.49 | 172.07 | 28,276.61 |
| 22 | 646.31 | 168.25 | 27,630.30 |
| 23 | 650.16 | 164.40 | 26,980.14 |
| 24 | 654.03 | 160.53 | 26,326.11 |
| 25 | 657.92 | 156.64 | 25,668.19 |
| 26 | 661.83 | 152.73 | 25,006.35 |
| 27 | 665.77 | 148.79 | 24,340.58 |
| 28 | 669.73 | 144.83 | 23,670.85 |
| 29 | 673.72 | 140.84 | 22,997.13 |
| 30 | 677.73 | 136.83 | 22,319.40 |
| 31 | 681.76 | 132.80 | 21,637.64 |
| 32 | 685.82 | 128.74 | 20,951.83 |
| 33 | 689.90 | 124.66 | 20,261.93 |
| 34 | 694.00 | 120.56 | 19,567.93 |
| 35 | 698.13 | 116.43 | 18,869.80 |
| 36 | 702.28 | 112.28 | 18,167.51 |
| 37 | 706.46 | 108.10 | 17,461.05 |
| 38 | 710.67 | 103.89 | 16,750.38 |
| 39 | 714.90 | 99.66 | 16,035.49 |
| 40 | 719.15 | 95.41 | 15,316.34 |
| 41 | 723.43 | 91.13 | 14,592.91 |
| 42 | 727.73 | 86.83 | 13,865.18 |
| 43 | 732.06 | 82.50 | 13,133.12 |
| 44 | 736.42 | 78.14 | 12,396.70 |
| 45 | 740.80 | 73.76 | 11,655.90 |
| 46 | 745.21 | 69.35 | 10,910.69 |
| 47 | 749.64 | 64.92 | 10,161.05 |
| 48 | 754.10 | 60.46 | 9,406.95 |
| 49 | 758.59 | 55.97 | 8,648.36 |
| 50 | 763.10 | 51.46 | 7,885.26 |
| 51 | 767.64 | 46.92 | 7,117.62 |
| 52 | 772.21 | 42.35 | 6,345.41 |
| 53 | 776.80 | 37.76 | 5,568.60 |
| 54 | 781.43 | 33.13 | 4,787.17 |
| 55 | 786.08 | 28.48 | 4,001.10 |
| 56 | 790.75 | 23.81 | 3,210.34 |
| 57 | 795.46 | 19.10 | 2,414.89 |
| 58 | 800.19 | 14.37 | 1,614.69 |
| 59 | 804.95 | 9.61 | 809.74 |
| 60 | 809.74 | 4.82 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $41,000 car loan for 60 months?
$814.56 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $7,874.
How much is a $41,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $942.14 a month over 60 months, versus $797.04 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $41,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $814.56 to $701.77 but adds $1,654 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $41,000 car loan?
The $814.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $97,747 a year and 15% at $65,165. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $41,000 car in California?
$2,973 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $873.62. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.