$42,000 car loan for 60 months
$834.43/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,066 total interest over 60 months
Principal $42,000 Interest $8,066. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $781.29 | 6.29% | $817.65 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $816.48 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $885.57 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $965.12 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,023.81 | 21.62% | $1,150.94 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $42,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,045 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $45,045 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $894.92 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $834.43 payment is 10% of gross income at $100,131 a year and 15% at $66,754. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $584.53 | $249.90 | $41,415.47 |
| 2 | $588.01 | $246.42 | $40,827.47 |
| 3 | $591.50 | $242.92 | $40,235.96 |
| 4 | $595.02 | $239.40 | $39,640.94 |
| 5 | $598.56 | $235.86 | $39,042.38 |
| 6 | $602.13 | $232.30 | $38,440.25 |
| 7 | $605.71 | $228.72 | $37,834.54 |
| 8 | $609.31 | $225.12 | $37,225.23 |
| 9 | $612.94 | $221.49 | $36,612.29 |
| 10 | $616.58 | $217.84 | $35,995.71 |
| 11 | $620.25 | $214.17 | $35,375.46 |
| 12 | $623.94 | $210.48 | $34,751.51 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,248 | $2,765 | $34,752 |
| 2 | $7,783 | $2,230 | $26,968 |
| 3 | $8,358 | $1,656 | $18,611 |
| 4 | $8,974 | $1,039 | $9,636 |
| 5 | $9,636 | $377 | $0 |
| Total | $42,000 | $8,066 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 584.53 | 249.90 | 41,415.47 |
| 2 | 588.01 | 246.42 | 40,827.47 |
| 3 | 591.50 | 242.92 | 40,235.96 |
| 4 | 595.02 | 239.40 | 39,640.94 |
| 5 | 598.56 | 235.86 | 39,042.38 |
| 6 | 602.13 | 232.30 | 38,440.25 |
| 7 | 605.71 | 228.72 | 37,834.54 |
| 8 | 609.31 | 225.12 | 37,225.23 |
| 9 | 612.94 | 221.49 | 36,612.29 |
| 10 | 616.58 | 217.84 | 35,995.71 |
| 11 | 620.25 | 214.17 | 35,375.46 |
| 12 | 623.94 | 210.48 | 34,751.51 |
| 13 | 627.66 | 206.77 | 34,123.86 |
| 14 | 631.39 | 203.04 | 33,492.47 |
| 15 | 635.15 | 199.28 | 32,857.32 |
| 16 | 638.93 | 195.50 | 32,218.39 |
| 17 | 642.73 | 191.70 | 31,575.67 |
| 18 | 646.55 | 187.88 | 30,929.11 |
| 19 | 650.40 | 184.03 | 30,278.72 |
| 20 | 654.27 | 180.16 | 29,624.45 |
| 21 | 658.16 | 176.27 | 28,966.28 |
| 22 | 662.08 | 172.35 | 28,304.21 |
| 23 | 666.02 | 168.41 | 27,638.19 |
| 24 | 669.98 | 164.45 | 26,968.21 |
| 25 | 673.97 | 160.46 | 26,294.24 |
| 26 | 677.98 | 156.45 | 25,616.27 |
| 27 | 682.01 | 152.42 | 24,934.26 |
| 28 | 686.07 | 148.36 | 24,248.19 |
| 29 | 690.15 | 144.28 | 23,558.04 |
| 30 | 694.26 | 140.17 | 22,863.78 |
| 31 | 698.39 | 136.04 | 22,165.39 |
| 32 | 702.54 | 131.88 | 21,462.85 |
| 33 | 706.72 | 127.70 | 20,756.12 |
| 34 | 710.93 | 123.50 | 20,045.20 |
| 35 | 715.16 | 119.27 | 19,330.04 |
| 36 | 719.41 | 115.01 | 18,610.62 |
| 37 | 723.69 | 110.73 | 17,886.93 |
| 38 | 728.00 | 106.43 | 17,158.93 |
| 39 | 732.33 | 102.10 | 16,426.60 |
| 40 | 736.69 | 97.74 | 15,689.91 |
| 41 | 741.07 | 93.35 | 14,948.84 |
| 42 | 745.48 | 88.95 | 14,203.36 |
| 43 | 749.92 | 84.51 | 13,453.44 |
| 44 | 754.38 | 80.05 | 12,699.06 |
| 45 | 758.87 | 75.56 | 11,940.19 |
| 46 | 763.38 | 71.04 | 11,176.81 |
| 47 | 767.93 | 66.50 | 10,408.88 |
| 48 | 772.49 | 61.93 | 9,636.39 |
| 49 | 777.09 | 57.34 | 8,859.30 |
| 50 | 781.71 | 52.71 | 8,077.58 |
| 51 | 786.37 | 48.06 | 7,291.22 |
| 52 | 791.04 | 43.38 | 6,500.17 |
| 53 | 795.75 | 38.68 | 5,704.42 |
| 54 | 800.49 | 33.94 | 4,903.93 |
| 55 | 805.25 | 29.18 | 4,098.69 |
| 56 | 810.04 | 24.39 | 3,288.65 |
| 57 | 814.86 | 19.57 | 2,473.79 |
| 58 | 819.71 | 14.72 | 1,654.08 |
| 59 | 824.59 | 9.84 | 829.49 |
| 60 | 829.49 | 4.94 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $42,000 car loan for 60 months?
$834.43 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,066.
How much is a $42,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $965.12 a month over 60 months, versus $816.48 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $42,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $834.43 to $718.89 but adds $1,694 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $42,000 car loan?
The $834.43 payment is 10% of gross income at $100,131 a year and 15% at $66,754. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $42,000 car in California?
$3,045 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $894.92. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.