$51,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,013.23/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,794 total interest over 60 months
Principal $51,000 Interest $9,794. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $948.71 | 6.29% | $992.86 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $991.44 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,075.34 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,171.93 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,243.20 | 21.62% | $1,397.57 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $51,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,698 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $54,698 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,086.69 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,013.23 payment is 10% of gross income at $121,588 a year and 15% at $81,059. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $709.78 | $303.45 | $50,290.22 |
| 2 | $714.01 | $299.23 | $49,576.21 |
| 3 | $718.25 | $294.98 | $48,857.96 |
| 4 | $722.53 | $290.70 | $48,135.43 |
| 5 | $726.83 | $286.41 | $47,408.60 |
| 6 | $731.15 | $282.08 | $46,677.45 |
| 7 | $735.50 | $277.73 | $45,941.95 |
| 8 | $739.88 | $273.35 | $45,202.07 |
| 9 | $744.28 | $268.95 | $44,457.79 |
| 10 | $748.71 | $264.52 | $43,709.08 |
| 11 | $753.16 | $260.07 | $42,955.91 |
| 12 | $757.65 | $255.59 | $42,198.27 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,802 | $3,357 | $42,198 |
| 2 | $9,451 | $2,708 | $32,747 |
| 3 | $10,148 | $2,010 | $22,599 |
| 4 | $10,897 | $1,262 | $11,701 |
| 5 | $11,701 | $457 | $0 |
| Total | $51,000 | $9,794 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 709.78 | 303.45 | 50,290.22 |
| 2 | 714.01 | 299.23 | 49,576.21 |
| 3 | 718.25 | 294.98 | 48,857.96 |
| 4 | 722.53 | 290.70 | 48,135.43 |
| 5 | 726.83 | 286.41 | 47,408.60 |
| 6 | 731.15 | 282.08 | 46,677.45 |
| 7 | 735.50 | 277.73 | 45,941.95 |
| 8 | 739.88 | 273.35 | 45,202.07 |
| 9 | 744.28 | 268.95 | 44,457.79 |
| 10 | 748.71 | 264.52 | 43,709.08 |
| 11 | 753.16 | 260.07 | 42,955.91 |
| 12 | 757.65 | 255.59 | 42,198.27 |
| 13 | 762.15 | 251.08 | 41,436.11 |
| 14 | 766.69 | 246.54 | 40,669.43 |
| 15 | 771.25 | 241.98 | 39,898.18 |
| 16 | 775.84 | 237.39 | 39,122.34 |
| 17 | 780.46 | 232.78 | 38,341.88 |
| 18 | 785.10 | 228.13 | 37,556.78 |
| 19 | 789.77 | 223.46 | 36,767.01 |
| 20 | 794.47 | 218.76 | 35,972.54 |
| 21 | 799.20 | 214.04 | 35,173.35 |
| 22 | 803.95 | 209.28 | 34,369.39 |
| 23 | 808.74 | 204.50 | 33,560.66 |
| 24 | 813.55 | 199.69 | 32,747.11 |
| 25 | 818.39 | 194.85 | 31,928.72 |
| 26 | 823.26 | 189.98 | 31,105.47 |
| 27 | 828.16 | 185.08 | 30,277.31 |
| 28 | 833.08 | 180.15 | 29,444.23 |
| 29 | 838.04 | 175.19 | 28,606.19 |
| 30 | 843.03 | 170.21 | 27,763.16 |
| 31 | 848.04 | 165.19 | 26,915.12 |
| 32 | 853.09 | 160.14 | 26,062.03 |
| 33 | 858.16 | 155.07 | 25,203.87 |
| 34 | 863.27 | 149.96 | 24,340.60 |
| 35 | 868.41 | 144.83 | 23,472.19 |
| 36 | 873.57 | 139.66 | 22,598.62 |
| 37 | 878.77 | 134.46 | 21,719.84 |
| 38 | 884.00 | 129.23 | 20,835.84 |
| 39 | 889.26 | 123.97 | 19,946.58 |
| 40 | 894.55 | 118.68 | 19,052.03 |
| 41 | 899.87 | 113.36 | 18,152.16 |
| 42 | 905.23 | 108.01 | 17,246.93 |
| 43 | 910.61 | 102.62 | 16,336.32 |
| 44 | 916.03 | 97.20 | 15,420.29 |
| 45 | 921.48 | 91.75 | 14,498.80 |
| 46 | 926.97 | 86.27 | 13,571.84 |
| 47 | 932.48 | 80.75 | 12,639.36 |
| 48 | 938.03 | 75.20 | 11,701.33 |
| 49 | 943.61 | 69.62 | 10,757.72 |
| 50 | 949.22 | 64.01 | 9,808.49 |
| 51 | 954.87 | 58.36 | 8,853.62 |
| 52 | 960.55 | 52.68 | 7,893.07 |
| 53 | 966.27 | 46.96 | 6,926.80 |
| 54 | 972.02 | 41.21 | 5,954.78 |
| 55 | 977.80 | 35.43 | 4,976.98 |
| 56 | 983.62 | 29.61 | 3,993.36 |
| 57 | 989.47 | 23.76 | 3,003.88 |
| 58 | 995.36 | 17.87 | 2,008.52 |
| 59 | 1,001.28 | 11.95 | 1,007.24 |
| 60 | 1,007.24 | 5.99 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $51,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,013.23 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,794.
How much is a $51,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,171.93 a month over 60 months, versus $991.44 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $51,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,013.23 to $872.93 but adds $2,057 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $51,000 car loan?
The $1,013.23 payment is 10% of gross income at $121,588 a year and 15% at $81,059. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $51,000 car in California?
$3,698 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,086.69. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.