$54,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,072.84/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$10,370 total interest over 60 months
Principal $54,000 Interest $10,370. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,004.51 | 6.29% | $1,051.27 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,049.76 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,138.59 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,240.86 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,316.33 | 21.62% | $1,479.78 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $54,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,915 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $57,915 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,150.62 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,072.84 payment is 10% of gross income at $128,740 a year and 15% at $85,827. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $751.54 | $321.30 | $53,248.46 |
| 2 | $756.01 | $316.83 | $52,492.46 |
| 3 | $760.51 | $312.33 | $51,731.95 |
| 4 | $765.03 | $307.81 | $50,966.92 |
| 5 | $769.58 | $303.25 | $50,197.34 |
| 6 | $774.16 | $298.67 | $49,423.18 |
| 7 | $778.77 | $294.07 | $48,644.41 |
| 8 | $783.40 | $289.43 | $47,861.01 |
| 9 | $788.06 | $284.77 | $47,072.95 |
| 10 | $792.75 | $280.08 | $46,280.20 |
| 11 | $797.47 | $275.37 | $45,482.73 |
| 12 | $802.21 | $270.62 | $44,680.52 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $9,319 | $3,555 | $44,681 |
| 2 | $10,007 | $2,867 | $34,673 |
| 3 | $10,745 | $2,129 | $23,928 |
| 4 | $11,538 | $1,336 | $12,390 |
| 5 | $12,390 | $484 | $0 |
| Total | $54,000 | $10,370 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 751.54 | 321.30 | 53,248.46 |
| 2 | 756.01 | 316.83 | 52,492.46 |
| 3 | 760.51 | 312.33 | 51,731.95 |
| 4 | 765.03 | 307.81 | 50,966.92 |
| 5 | 769.58 | 303.25 | 50,197.34 |
| 6 | 774.16 | 298.67 | 49,423.18 |
| 7 | 778.77 | 294.07 | 48,644.41 |
| 8 | 783.40 | 289.43 | 47,861.01 |
| 9 | 788.06 | 284.77 | 47,072.95 |
| 10 | 792.75 | 280.08 | 46,280.20 |
| 11 | 797.47 | 275.37 | 45,482.73 |
| 12 | 802.21 | 270.62 | 44,680.52 |
| 13 | 806.99 | 265.85 | 43,873.53 |
| 14 | 811.79 | 261.05 | 43,061.74 |
| 15 | 816.62 | 256.22 | 42,245.13 |
| 16 | 821.48 | 251.36 | 41,423.65 |
| 17 | 826.36 | 246.47 | 40,597.29 |
| 18 | 831.28 | 241.55 | 39,766.00 |
| 19 | 836.23 | 236.61 | 38,929.78 |
| 20 | 841.20 | 231.63 | 38,088.57 |
| 21 | 846.21 | 226.63 | 37,242.37 |
| 22 | 851.24 | 221.59 | 36,391.12 |
| 23 | 856.31 | 216.53 | 35,534.81 |
| 24 | 861.40 | 211.43 | 34,673.41 |
| 25 | 866.53 | 206.31 | 33,806.88 |
| 26 | 871.68 | 201.15 | 32,935.20 |
| 27 | 876.87 | 195.96 | 32,058.33 |
| 28 | 882.09 | 190.75 | 31,176.24 |
| 29 | 887.34 | 185.50 | 30,288.90 |
| 30 | 892.62 | 180.22 | 29,396.29 |
| 31 | 897.93 | 174.91 | 28,498.36 |
| 32 | 903.27 | 169.57 | 27,595.09 |
| 33 | 908.64 | 164.19 | 26,686.45 |
| 34 | 914.05 | 158.78 | 25,772.40 |
| 35 | 919.49 | 153.35 | 24,852.91 |
| 36 | 924.96 | 147.87 | 23,927.95 |
| 37 | 930.46 | 142.37 | 22,997.48 |
| 38 | 936.00 | 136.84 | 22,061.48 |
| 39 | 941.57 | 131.27 | 21,119.91 |
| 40 | 947.17 | 125.66 | 20,172.74 |
| 41 | 952.81 | 120.03 | 19,219.93 |
| 42 | 958.48 | 114.36 | 18,261.46 |
| 43 | 964.18 | 108.66 | 17,297.28 |
| 44 | 969.92 | 102.92 | 16,327.36 |
| 45 | 975.69 | 97.15 | 15,351.67 |
| 46 | 981.49 | 91.34 | 14,370.18 |
| 47 | 987.33 | 85.50 | 13,382.85 |
| 48 | 993.21 | 79.63 | 12,389.64 |
| 49 | 999.12 | 73.72 | 11,390.52 |
| 50 | 1,005.06 | 67.77 | 10,385.46 |
| 51 | 1,011.04 | 61.79 | 9,374.42 |
| 52 | 1,017.06 | 55.78 | 8,357.36 |
| 53 | 1,023.11 | 49.73 | 7,334.26 |
| 54 | 1,029.20 | 43.64 | 6,305.06 |
| 55 | 1,035.32 | 37.52 | 5,269.74 |
| 56 | 1,041.48 | 31.35 | 4,228.26 |
| 57 | 1,047.68 | 25.16 | 3,180.58 |
| 58 | 1,053.91 | 18.92 | 2,126.67 |
| 59 | 1,060.18 | 12.65 | 1,066.49 |
| 60 | 1,066.49 | 6.35 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $54,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,072.84 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $10,370.
How much is a $54,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,240.86 a month over 60 months, versus $1,049.76 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $54,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,072.84 to $924.28 but adds $2,178 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $54,000 car loan?
The $1,072.84 payment is 10% of gross income at $128,740 a year and 15% at $85,827. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $54,000 car in California?
$3,915 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,150.62. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.