$78,000 car loan payment
$1,549.65/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$14,979 total interest over 60 months
Principal $78,000 Interest $14,979. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,450.97 | 6.29% | $1,518.50 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,516.31 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,644.63 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,792.36 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,901.37 | 21.62% | $2,137.46 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $78,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,655 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $83,655 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,662.00 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,549.65 payment is 10% of gross income at $185,958 a year and 15% at $123,972. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,085.55 | $464.10 | $76,914.45 |
| 2 | $1,092.01 | $457.64 | $75,822.44 |
| 3 | $1,098.51 | $451.14 | $74,723.93 |
| 4 | $1,105.04 | $444.61 | $73,618.89 |
| 5 | $1,111.62 | $438.03 | $72,507.27 |
| 6 | $1,118.23 | $431.42 | $71,389.04 |
| 7 | $1,124.89 | $424.76 | $70,264.15 |
| 8 | $1,131.58 | $418.07 | $69,132.57 |
| 9 | $1,138.31 | $411.34 | $67,994.26 |
| 10 | $1,145.08 | $404.57 | $66,849.18 |
| 11 | $1,151.90 | $397.75 | $65,697.28 |
| 12 | $1,158.75 | $390.90 | $64,538.53 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $13,461 | $5,134 | $64,539 |
| 2 | $14,455 | $4,141 | $50,084 |
| 3 | $15,521 | $3,075 | $34,563 |
| 4 | $16,666 | $1,929 | $17,896 |
| 5 | $17,896 | $700 | $0 |
| Total | $78,000 | $14,979 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,085.55 | 464.10 | 76,914.45 |
| 2 | 1,092.01 | 457.64 | 75,822.44 |
| 3 | 1,098.51 | 451.14 | 74,723.93 |
| 4 | 1,105.04 | 444.61 | 73,618.89 |
| 5 | 1,111.62 | 438.03 | 72,507.27 |
| 6 | 1,118.23 | 431.42 | 71,389.04 |
| 7 | 1,124.89 | 424.76 | 70,264.15 |
| 8 | 1,131.58 | 418.07 | 69,132.57 |
| 9 | 1,138.31 | 411.34 | 67,994.26 |
| 10 | 1,145.08 | 404.57 | 66,849.18 |
| 11 | 1,151.90 | 397.75 | 65,697.28 |
| 12 | 1,158.75 | 390.90 | 64,538.53 |
| 13 | 1,165.65 | 384.00 | 63,372.88 |
| 14 | 1,172.58 | 377.07 | 62,200.30 |
| 15 | 1,179.56 | 370.09 | 61,020.74 |
| 16 | 1,186.58 | 363.07 | 59,834.16 |
| 17 | 1,193.64 | 356.01 | 58,640.52 |
| 18 | 1,200.74 | 348.91 | 57,439.78 |
| 19 | 1,207.88 | 341.77 | 56,231.90 |
| 20 | 1,215.07 | 334.58 | 55,016.83 |
| 21 | 1,222.30 | 327.35 | 53,794.53 |
| 22 | 1,229.57 | 320.08 | 52,564.95 |
| 23 | 1,236.89 | 312.76 | 51,328.07 |
| 24 | 1,244.25 | 305.40 | 50,083.82 |
| 25 | 1,251.65 | 298.00 | 48,832.16 |
| 26 | 1,259.10 | 290.55 | 47,573.07 |
| 27 | 1,266.59 | 283.06 | 46,306.47 |
| 28 | 1,274.13 | 275.52 | 45,032.35 |
| 29 | 1,281.71 | 267.94 | 43,750.64 |
| 30 | 1,289.33 | 260.32 | 42,461.30 |
| 31 | 1,297.01 | 252.64 | 41,164.30 |
| 32 | 1,304.72 | 244.93 | 39,859.58 |
| 33 | 1,312.49 | 237.16 | 38,547.09 |
| 34 | 1,320.30 | 229.36 | 37,226.79 |
| 35 | 1,328.15 | 221.50 | 35,898.64 |
| 36 | 1,336.05 | 213.60 | 34,562.59 |
| 37 | 1,344.00 | 205.65 | 33,218.58 |
| 38 | 1,352.00 | 197.65 | 31,866.58 |
| 39 | 1,360.04 | 189.61 | 30,506.54 |
| 40 | 1,368.14 | 181.51 | 29,138.40 |
| 41 | 1,376.28 | 173.37 | 27,762.13 |
| 42 | 1,384.47 | 165.18 | 26,377.66 |
| 43 | 1,392.70 | 156.95 | 24,984.96 |
| 44 | 1,400.99 | 148.66 | 23,583.97 |
| 45 | 1,409.33 | 140.32 | 22,174.64 |
| 46 | 1,417.71 | 131.94 | 20,756.93 |
| 47 | 1,426.15 | 123.50 | 19,330.78 |
| 48 | 1,434.63 | 115.02 | 17,896.15 |
| 49 | 1,443.17 | 106.48 | 16,452.98 |
| 50 | 1,451.76 | 97.90 | 15,001.22 |
| 51 | 1,460.39 | 89.26 | 13,540.83 |
| 52 | 1,469.08 | 80.57 | 12,071.75 |
| 53 | 1,477.82 | 71.83 | 10,593.92 |
| 54 | 1,486.62 | 63.03 | 9,107.31 |
| 55 | 1,495.46 | 54.19 | 7,611.84 |
| 56 | 1,504.36 | 45.29 | 6,107.48 |
| 57 | 1,513.31 | 36.34 | 4,594.17 |
| 58 | 1,522.32 | 27.34 | 3,071.86 |
| 59 | 1,531.37 | 18.28 | 1,540.48 |
| 60 | 1,540.48 | 9.17 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $78,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,549.65 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $14,979.
How much is a $78,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,792.36 a month over 60 months, versus $1,516.31 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $78,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,549.65 to $1,335.07 but adds $3,146 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $78,000 car loan?
The $1,549.65 payment is 10% of gross income at $185,958 a year and 15% at $123,972. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $78,000 car in California?
$5,655 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,662.00. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.