$79,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,569.52/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$15,171 total interest over 60 months
Principal $79,000 Interest $15,171. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,469.57 | 6.29% | $1,537.97 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,535.75 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,665.72 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,815.34 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,925.75 | 21.62% | $2,164.86 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $79,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,728 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $84,728 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,683.31 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,569.52 payment is 10% of gross income at $188,342 a year and 15% at $125,561. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,099.47 | $470.05 | $77,900.53 |
| 2 | $1,106.01 | $463.51 | $76,794.52 |
| 3 | $1,112.59 | $456.93 | $75,681.93 |
| 4 | $1,119.21 | $450.31 | $74,562.72 |
| 5 | $1,125.87 | $443.65 | $73,436.85 |
| 6 | $1,132.57 | $436.95 | $72,304.28 |
| 7 | $1,139.31 | $430.21 | $71,164.97 |
| 8 | $1,146.09 | $423.43 | $70,018.89 |
| 9 | $1,152.91 | $416.61 | $68,865.98 |
| 10 | $1,159.77 | $409.75 | $67,706.22 |
| 11 | $1,166.67 | $402.85 | $66,539.55 |
| 12 | $1,173.61 | $395.91 | $65,365.94 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $13,634 | $5,200 | $65,366 |
| 2 | $14,640 | $4,194 | $50,726 |
| 3 | $15,720 | $3,114 | $35,006 |
| 4 | $16,880 | $1,954 | $18,126 |
| 5 | $18,126 | $709 | $0 |
| Total | $79,000 | $15,171 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,099.47 | 470.05 | 77,900.53 |
| 2 | 1,106.01 | 463.51 | 76,794.52 |
| 3 | 1,112.59 | 456.93 | 75,681.93 |
| 4 | 1,119.21 | 450.31 | 74,562.72 |
| 5 | 1,125.87 | 443.65 | 73,436.85 |
| 6 | 1,132.57 | 436.95 | 72,304.28 |
| 7 | 1,139.31 | 430.21 | 71,164.97 |
| 8 | 1,146.09 | 423.43 | 70,018.89 |
| 9 | 1,152.91 | 416.61 | 68,865.98 |
| 10 | 1,159.77 | 409.75 | 67,706.22 |
| 11 | 1,166.67 | 402.85 | 66,539.55 |
| 12 | 1,173.61 | 395.91 | 65,365.94 |
| 13 | 1,180.59 | 388.93 | 64,185.35 |
| 14 | 1,187.62 | 381.90 | 62,997.74 |
| 15 | 1,194.68 | 374.84 | 61,803.06 |
| 16 | 1,201.79 | 367.73 | 60,601.27 |
| 17 | 1,208.94 | 360.58 | 59,392.33 |
| 18 | 1,216.13 | 353.38 | 58,176.19 |
| 19 | 1,223.37 | 346.15 | 56,952.82 |
| 20 | 1,230.65 | 338.87 | 55,722.17 |
| 21 | 1,237.97 | 331.55 | 54,484.20 |
| 22 | 1,245.34 | 324.18 | 53,238.86 |
| 23 | 1,252.75 | 316.77 | 51,986.12 |
| 24 | 1,260.20 | 309.32 | 50,725.92 |
| 25 | 1,267.70 | 301.82 | 49,458.22 |
| 26 | 1,275.24 | 294.28 | 48,182.98 |
| 27 | 1,282.83 | 286.69 | 46,900.15 |
| 28 | 1,290.46 | 279.06 | 45,609.68 |
| 29 | 1,298.14 | 271.38 | 44,311.54 |
| 30 | 1,305.86 | 263.65 | 43,005.68 |
| 31 | 1,313.63 | 255.88 | 41,692.05 |
| 32 | 1,321.45 | 248.07 | 40,370.60 |
| 33 | 1,329.31 | 240.21 | 39,041.28 |
| 34 | 1,337.22 | 232.30 | 37,704.06 |
| 35 | 1,345.18 | 224.34 | 36,358.88 |
| 36 | 1,353.18 | 216.34 | 35,005.70 |
| 37 | 1,361.23 | 208.28 | 33,644.46 |
| 38 | 1,369.33 | 200.18 | 32,275.13 |
| 39 | 1,377.48 | 192.04 | 30,897.65 |
| 40 | 1,385.68 | 183.84 | 29,511.97 |
| 41 | 1,393.92 | 175.60 | 28,118.05 |
| 42 | 1,402.22 | 167.30 | 26,715.84 |
| 43 | 1,410.56 | 158.96 | 25,305.28 |
| 44 | 1,418.95 | 150.57 | 23,886.32 |
| 45 | 1,427.39 | 142.12 | 22,458.93 |
| 46 | 1,435.89 | 133.63 | 21,023.04 |
| 47 | 1,444.43 | 125.09 | 19,578.61 |
| 48 | 1,453.03 | 116.49 | 18,125.59 |
| 49 | 1,461.67 | 107.85 | 16,663.92 |
| 50 | 1,470.37 | 99.15 | 15,193.55 |
| 51 | 1,479.12 | 90.40 | 13,714.43 |
| 52 | 1,487.92 | 81.60 | 12,226.51 |
| 53 | 1,496.77 | 72.75 | 10,729.74 |
| 54 | 1,505.68 | 63.84 | 9,224.07 |
| 55 | 1,514.63 | 54.88 | 7,709.43 |
| 56 | 1,523.65 | 45.87 | 6,185.79 |
| 57 | 1,532.71 | 36.81 | 4,653.07 |
| 58 | 1,541.83 | 27.69 | 3,111.24 |
| 59 | 1,551.01 | 18.51 | 1,560.23 |
| 60 | 1,560.23 | 9.28 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $79,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,569.52 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $15,171.
How much is a $79,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,815.34 a month over 60 months, versus $1,535.75 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $79,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,569.52 to $1,352.19 but adds $3,186 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $79,000 car loan?
The $1,569.52 payment is 10% of gross income at $188,342 a year and 15% at $125,561. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $79,000 car in California?
$5,728 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,683.31. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.