$82,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,629.12/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$15,747 total interest over 60 months
Principal $82,000 Interest $15,747. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,525.37 | 6.29% | $1,596.37 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,594.07 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,728.97 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,884.27 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,998.88 | 21.62% | $2,247.07 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $82,000 |
| Sales tax | $5,945 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $87,945 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,747.23 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,629.12 payment is 10% of gross income at $195,494 a year and 15% at $130,330. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,141.22 | $487.90 | $80,858.78 |
| 2 | $1,148.01 | $481.11 | $79,710.77 |
| 3 | $1,154.84 | $474.28 | $78,555.93 |
| 4 | $1,161.71 | $467.41 | $77,394.22 |
| 5 | $1,168.62 | $460.50 | $76,225.59 |
| 6 | $1,175.58 | $453.54 | $75,050.01 |
| 7 | $1,182.57 | $446.55 | $73,867.44 |
| 8 | $1,189.61 | $439.51 | $72,677.83 |
| 9 | $1,196.69 | $432.43 | $71,481.15 |
| 10 | $1,203.81 | $425.31 | $70,277.34 |
| 11 | $1,210.97 | $418.15 | $69,066.37 |
| 12 | $1,218.18 | $410.94 | $67,848.19 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $14,152 | $5,398 | $67,848 |
| 2 | $15,196 | $4,353 | $52,652 |
| 3 | $16,317 | $3,232 | $36,335 |
| 4 | $17,521 | $2,028 | $18,814 |
| 5 | $18,814 | $736 | $0 |
| Total | $82,000 | $15,747 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,141.22 | 487.90 | 80,858.78 |
| 2 | 1,148.01 | 481.11 | 79,710.77 |
| 3 | 1,154.84 | 474.28 | 78,555.93 |
| 4 | 1,161.71 | 467.41 | 77,394.22 |
| 5 | 1,168.62 | 460.50 | 76,225.59 |
| 6 | 1,175.58 | 453.54 | 75,050.01 |
| 7 | 1,182.57 | 446.55 | 73,867.44 |
| 8 | 1,189.61 | 439.51 | 72,677.83 |
| 9 | 1,196.69 | 432.43 | 71,481.15 |
| 10 | 1,203.81 | 425.31 | 70,277.34 |
| 11 | 1,210.97 | 418.15 | 69,066.37 |
| 12 | 1,218.18 | 410.94 | 67,848.19 |
| 13 | 1,225.42 | 403.70 | 66,622.77 |
| 14 | 1,232.71 | 396.41 | 65,390.06 |
| 15 | 1,240.05 | 389.07 | 64,150.01 |
| 16 | 1,247.43 | 381.69 | 62,902.58 |
| 17 | 1,254.85 | 374.27 | 61,647.73 |
| 18 | 1,262.32 | 366.80 | 60,385.41 |
| 19 | 1,269.83 | 359.29 | 59,115.59 |
| 20 | 1,277.38 | 351.74 | 57,838.20 |
| 21 | 1,284.98 | 344.14 | 56,553.22 |
| 22 | 1,292.63 | 336.49 | 55,260.59 |
| 23 | 1,300.32 | 328.80 | 53,960.27 |
| 24 | 1,308.06 | 321.06 | 52,652.22 |
| 25 | 1,315.84 | 313.28 | 51,336.38 |
| 26 | 1,323.67 | 305.45 | 50,012.71 |
| 27 | 1,331.54 | 297.58 | 48,681.17 |
| 28 | 1,339.47 | 289.65 | 47,341.70 |
| 29 | 1,347.44 | 281.68 | 45,994.26 |
| 30 | 1,355.45 | 273.67 | 44,638.81 |
| 31 | 1,363.52 | 265.60 | 43,275.29 |
| 32 | 1,371.63 | 257.49 | 41,903.66 |
| 33 | 1,379.79 | 249.33 | 40,523.86 |
| 34 | 1,388.00 | 241.12 | 39,135.86 |
| 35 | 1,396.26 | 232.86 | 37,739.60 |
| 36 | 1,404.57 | 224.55 | 36,335.03 |
| 37 | 1,412.93 | 216.19 | 34,922.10 |
| 38 | 1,421.33 | 207.79 | 33,500.77 |
| 39 | 1,429.79 | 199.33 | 32,070.98 |
| 40 | 1,438.30 | 190.82 | 30,632.68 |
| 41 | 1,446.86 | 182.26 | 29,185.82 |
| 42 | 1,455.46 | 173.66 | 27,730.36 |
| 43 | 1,464.12 | 165.00 | 26,266.24 |
| 44 | 1,472.84 | 156.28 | 24,793.40 |
| 45 | 1,481.60 | 147.52 | 23,311.80 |
| 46 | 1,490.41 | 138.71 | 21,821.39 |
| 47 | 1,499.28 | 129.84 | 20,322.10 |
| 48 | 1,508.20 | 120.92 | 18,813.90 |
| 49 | 1,517.18 | 111.94 | 17,296.72 |
| 50 | 1,526.20 | 102.92 | 15,770.52 |
| 51 | 1,535.29 | 93.83 | 14,235.23 |
| 52 | 1,544.42 | 84.70 | 12,690.81 |
| 53 | 1,553.61 | 75.51 | 11,137.20 |
| 54 | 1,562.85 | 66.27 | 9,574.35 |
| 55 | 1,572.15 | 56.97 | 8,002.20 |
| 56 | 1,581.51 | 47.61 | 6,420.69 |
| 57 | 1,590.92 | 38.20 | 4,829.77 |
| 58 | 1,600.38 | 28.74 | 3,229.39 |
| 59 | 1,609.91 | 19.21 | 1,619.48 |
| 60 | 1,619.48 | 9.64 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $82,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,629.12 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $15,747.
How much is a $82,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,884.27 a month over 60 months, versus $1,594.07 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $82,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,629.12 to $1,403.54 but adds $3,308 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $82,000 car loan?
The $1,629.12 payment is 10% of gross income at $195,494 a year and 15% at $130,330. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $82,000 car in California?
$5,945 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,747.23. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.