$87,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,728.46/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$16,707 total interest over 60 months
Principal $87,000 Interest $16,707. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,618.38 | 6.29% | $1,693.71 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,691.27 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,834.40 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,999.17 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,120.76 | 21.62% | $2,384.09 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $87,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,308 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $93,308 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,853.77 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,728.46 payment is 10% of gross income at $207,415 a year and 15% at $138,277. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,210.81 | $517.65 | $85,789.19 |
| 2 | $1,218.01 | $510.45 | $84,571.18 |
| 3 | $1,225.26 | $503.20 | $83,345.92 |
| 4 | $1,232.55 | $495.91 | $82,113.38 |
| 5 | $1,239.88 | $488.57 | $80,873.49 |
| 6 | $1,247.26 | $481.20 | $79,626.23 |
| 7 | $1,254.68 | $473.78 | $78,371.55 |
| 8 | $1,262.15 | $466.31 | $77,109.41 |
| 9 | $1,269.66 | $458.80 | $75,839.75 |
| 10 | $1,277.21 | $451.25 | $74,562.54 |
| 11 | $1,284.81 | $443.65 | $73,277.73 |
| 12 | $1,292.45 | $436.00 | $71,985.28 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,015 | $5,727 | $71,985 |
| 2 | $16,123 | $4,619 | $55,863 |
| 3 | $17,312 | $3,429 | $38,551 |
| 4 | $18,589 | $2,152 | $19,961 |
| 5 | $19,961 | $780 | $0 |
| Total | $87,000 | $16,707 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,210.81 | 517.65 | 85,789.19 |
| 2 | 1,218.01 | 510.45 | 84,571.18 |
| 3 | 1,225.26 | 503.20 | 83,345.92 |
| 4 | 1,232.55 | 495.91 | 82,113.38 |
| 5 | 1,239.88 | 488.57 | 80,873.49 |
| 6 | 1,247.26 | 481.20 | 79,626.23 |
| 7 | 1,254.68 | 473.78 | 78,371.55 |
| 8 | 1,262.15 | 466.31 | 77,109.41 |
| 9 | 1,269.66 | 458.80 | 75,839.75 |
| 10 | 1,277.21 | 451.25 | 74,562.54 |
| 11 | 1,284.81 | 443.65 | 73,277.73 |
| 12 | 1,292.45 | 436.00 | 71,985.28 |
| 13 | 1,300.14 | 428.31 | 70,685.13 |
| 14 | 1,307.88 | 420.58 | 69,377.25 |
| 15 | 1,315.66 | 412.79 | 68,061.59 |
| 16 | 1,323.49 | 404.97 | 66,738.10 |
| 17 | 1,331.36 | 397.09 | 65,406.74 |
| 18 | 1,339.29 | 389.17 | 64,067.45 |
| 19 | 1,347.26 | 381.20 | 62,720.20 |
| 20 | 1,355.27 | 373.19 | 61,364.92 |
| 21 | 1,363.34 | 365.12 | 60,001.59 |
| 22 | 1,371.45 | 357.01 | 58,630.14 |
| 23 | 1,379.61 | 348.85 | 57,250.53 |
| 24 | 1,387.82 | 340.64 | 55,862.72 |
| 25 | 1,396.07 | 332.38 | 54,466.65 |
| 26 | 1,404.38 | 324.08 | 53,062.27 |
| 27 | 1,412.74 | 315.72 | 51,649.53 |
| 28 | 1,421.14 | 307.31 | 50,228.39 |
| 29 | 1,429.60 | 298.86 | 48,798.79 |
| 30 | 1,438.10 | 290.35 | 47,360.69 |
| 31 | 1,446.66 | 281.80 | 45,914.03 |
| 32 | 1,455.27 | 273.19 | 44,458.76 |
| 33 | 1,463.93 | 264.53 | 42,994.83 |
| 34 | 1,472.64 | 255.82 | 41,522.19 |
| 35 | 1,481.40 | 247.06 | 40,040.79 |
| 36 | 1,490.21 | 238.24 | 38,550.58 |
| 37 | 1,499.08 | 229.38 | 37,051.50 |
| 38 | 1,508.00 | 220.46 | 35,543.50 |
| 39 | 1,516.97 | 211.48 | 34,026.53 |
| 40 | 1,526.00 | 202.46 | 32,500.53 |
| 41 | 1,535.08 | 193.38 | 30,965.45 |
| 42 | 1,544.21 | 184.24 | 29,421.24 |
| 43 | 1,553.40 | 175.06 | 27,867.84 |
| 44 | 1,562.64 | 165.81 | 26,305.19 |
| 45 | 1,571.94 | 156.52 | 24,733.25 |
| 46 | 1,581.29 | 147.16 | 23,151.96 |
| 47 | 1,590.70 | 137.75 | 21,561.26 |
| 48 | 1,600.17 | 128.29 | 19,961.09 |
| 49 | 1,609.69 | 118.77 | 18,351.40 |
| 50 | 1,619.27 | 109.19 | 16,732.13 |
| 51 | 1,628.90 | 99.56 | 15,103.23 |
| 52 | 1,638.59 | 89.86 | 13,464.64 |
| 53 | 1,648.34 | 80.11 | 11,816.30 |
| 54 | 1,658.15 | 70.31 | 10,158.15 |
| 55 | 1,668.02 | 60.44 | 8,490.13 |
| 56 | 1,677.94 | 50.52 | 6,812.19 |
| 57 | 1,687.92 | 40.53 | 5,124.27 |
| 58 | 1,697.97 | 30.49 | 3,426.30 |
| 59 | 1,708.07 | 20.39 | 1,718.23 |
| 60 | 1,718.23 | 10.22 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $87,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,728.46 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $16,707.
How much is a $87,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,999.17 a month over 60 months, versus $1,691.27 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $87,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,728.46 to $1,489.12 but adds $3,509 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $87,000 car loan?
The $1,728.46 payment is 10% of gross income at $207,415 a year and 15% at $138,277. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $87,000 car in California?
$6,308 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,853.77. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.