$93,000 car loan payment
$1,847.66/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$17,860 total interest over 60 months
Principal $93,000 Interest $17,860. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,730.00 | 6.29% | $1,810.52 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,807.91 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,960.91 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,137.04 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,267.02 | 21.62% | $2,548.51 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $93,000 |
| Sales tax | $6,743 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $99,743 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,981.62 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,847.66 payment is 10% of gross income at $221,719 a year and 15% at $147,813. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,294.31 | $553.35 | $91,705.69 |
| 2 | $1,302.01 | $545.65 | $90,403.68 |
| 3 | $1,309.76 | $537.90 | $89,093.92 |
| 4 | $1,317.55 | $530.11 | $87,776.37 |
| 5 | $1,325.39 | $522.27 | $86,450.98 |
| 6 | $1,333.28 | $514.38 | $85,117.70 |
| 7 | $1,341.21 | $506.45 | $83,776.49 |
| 8 | $1,349.19 | $498.47 | $82,427.30 |
| 9 | $1,357.22 | $490.44 | $81,070.08 |
| 10 | $1,365.29 | $482.37 | $79,704.79 |
| 11 | $1,373.42 | $474.24 | $78,331.37 |
| 12 | $1,381.59 | $466.07 | $76,949.78 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $16,050 | $6,122 | $76,950 |
| 2 | $17,234 | $4,937 | $59,715 |
| 3 | $18,506 | $3,666 | $41,209 |
| 4 | $19,872 | $2,300 | $21,338 |
| 5 | $21,338 | $834 | $0 |
| Total | $93,000 | $17,860 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,294.31 | 553.35 | 91,705.69 |
| 2 | 1,302.01 | 545.65 | 90,403.68 |
| 3 | 1,309.76 | 537.90 | 89,093.92 |
| 4 | 1,317.55 | 530.11 | 87,776.37 |
| 5 | 1,325.39 | 522.27 | 86,450.98 |
| 6 | 1,333.28 | 514.38 | 85,117.70 |
| 7 | 1,341.21 | 506.45 | 83,776.49 |
| 8 | 1,349.19 | 498.47 | 82,427.30 |
| 9 | 1,357.22 | 490.44 | 81,070.08 |
| 10 | 1,365.29 | 482.37 | 79,704.79 |
| 11 | 1,373.42 | 474.24 | 78,331.37 |
| 12 | 1,381.59 | 466.07 | 76,949.78 |
| 13 | 1,389.81 | 457.85 | 75,559.97 |
| 14 | 1,398.08 | 449.58 | 74,161.89 |
| 15 | 1,406.40 | 441.26 | 72,755.50 |
| 16 | 1,414.77 | 432.90 | 71,340.73 |
| 17 | 1,423.18 | 424.48 | 69,917.55 |
| 18 | 1,431.65 | 416.01 | 68,485.90 |
| 19 | 1,440.17 | 407.49 | 67,045.73 |
| 20 | 1,448.74 | 398.92 | 65,596.99 |
| 21 | 1,457.36 | 390.30 | 64,139.63 |
| 22 | 1,466.03 | 381.63 | 62,673.60 |
| 23 | 1,474.75 | 372.91 | 61,198.85 |
| 24 | 1,483.53 | 364.13 | 59,715.32 |
| 25 | 1,492.35 | 355.31 | 58,222.97 |
| 26 | 1,501.23 | 346.43 | 56,721.73 |
| 27 | 1,510.17 | 337.49 | 55,211.57 |
| 28 | 1,519.15 | 328.51 | 53,692.41 |
| 29 | 1,528.19 | 319.47 | 52,164.22 |
| 30 | 1,537.28 | 310.38 | 50,626.94 |
| 31 | 1,546.43 | 301.23 | 49,080.51 |
| 32 | 1,555.63 | 292.03 | 47,524.88 |
| 33 | 1,564.89 | 282.77 | 45,959.99 |
| 34 | 1,574.20 | 273.46 | 44,385.79 |
| 35 | 1,583.57 | 264.10 | 42,802.23 |
| 36 | 1,592.99 | 254.67 | 41,209.24 |
| 37 | 1,602.47 | 245.19 | 39,606.77 |
| 38 | 1,612.00 | 235.66 | 37,994.77 |
| 39 | 1,621.59 | 226.07 | 36,373.18 |
| 40 | 1,631.24 | 216.42 | 34,741.94 |
| 41 | 1,640.95 | 206.71 | 33,101.00 |
| 42 | 1,650.71 | 196.95 | 31,450.29 |
| 43 | 1,660.53 | 187.13 | 29,789.76 |
| 44 | 1,670.41 | 177.25 | 28,119.34 |
| 45 | 1,680.35 | 167.31 | 26,438.99 |
| 46 | 1,690.35 | 157.31 | 24,748.65 |
| 47 | 1,700.41 | 147.25 | 23,048.24 |
| 48 | 1,710.52 | 137.14 | 21,337.72 |
| 49 | 1,720.70 | 126.96 | 19,617.01 |
| 50 | 1,730.94 | 116.72 | 17,886.08 |
| 51 | 1,741.24 | 106.42 | 16,144.84 |
| 52 | 1,751.60 | 96.06 | 14,393.24 |
| 53 | 1,762.02 | 85.64 | 12,631.22 |
| 54 | 1,772.50 | 75.16 | 10,858.71 |
| 55 | 1,783.05 | 64.61 | 9,075.66 |
| 56 | 1,793.66 | 54.00 | 7,282.00 |
| 57 | 1,804.33 | 43.33 | 5,477.67 |
| 58 | 1,815.07 | 32.59 | 3,662.60 |
| 59 | 1,825.87 | 21.79 | 1,836.73 |
| 60 | 1,836.73 | 10.93 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $93,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,847.66 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $17,860.
How much is a $93,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,137.04 a month over 60 months, versus $1,807.91 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $93,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,847.66 to $1,591.82 but adds $3,751 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $93,000 car loan?
The $1,847.66 payment is 10% of gross income at $221,719 a year and 15% at $147,813. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $93,000 car in California?
$6,743 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,981.62. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.