$97,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,927.13/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$18,628 total interest over 60 months
Principal $97,000 Interest $18,628. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,804.41 | 6.29% | $1,888.39 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,885.67 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $2,045.25 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $2,228.96 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $2,364.52 | 21.62% | $2,658.12 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $97,000 |
| Sales tax | $7,033 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $104,033 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $2,066.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,927.13 payment is 10% of gross income at $231,256 a year and 15% at $154,170. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,349.98 | $577.15 | $95,650.02 |
| 2 | $1,358.01 | $569.12 | $94,292.01 |
| 3 | $1,366.09 | $561.04 | $92,925.92 |
| 4 | $1,374.22 | $552.91 | $91,551.70 |
| 5 | $1,382.40 | $544.73 | $90,169.30 |
| 6 | $1,390.62 | $536.51 | $88,778.68 |
| 7 | $1,398.90 | $528.23 | $87,379.78 |
| 8 | $1,407.22 | $519.91 | $85,972.56 |
| 9 | $1,415.59 | $511.54 | $84,556.97 |
| 10 | $1,424.02 | $503.11 | $83,132.95 |
| 11 | $1,432.49 | $494.64 | $81,700.46 |
| 12 | $1,441.01 | $486.12 | $80,259.45 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $16,741 | $6,385 | $80,259 |
| 2 | $17,976 | $5,150 | $62,284 |
| 3 | $19,302 | $3,824 | $42,982 |
| 4 | $20,726 | $2,399 | $22,255 |
| 5 | $22,255 | $870 | $0 |
| Total | $97,000 | $18,628 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,349.98 | 577.15 | 95,650.02 |
| 2 | 1,358.01 | 569.12 | 94,292.01 |
| 3 | 1,366.09 | 561.04 | 92,925.92 |
| 4 | 1,374.22 | 552.91 | 91,551.70 |
| 5 | 1,382.40 | 544.73 | 90,169.30 |
| 6 | 1,390.62 | 536.51 | 88,778.68 |
| 7 | 1,398.90 | 528.23 | 87,379.78 |
| 8 | 1,407.22 | 519.91 | 85,972.56 |
| 9 | 1,415.59 | 511.54 | 84,556.97 |
| 10 | 1,424.02 | 503.11 | 83,132.95 |
| 11 | 1,432.49 | 494.64 | 81,700.46 |
| 12 | 1,441.01 | 486.12 | 80,259.45 |
| 13 | 1,449.59 | 477.54 | 78,809.86 |
| 14 | 1,458.21 | 468.92 | 77,351.65 |
| 15 | 1,466.89 | 460.24 | 75,884.76 |
| 16 | 1,475.62 | 451.51 | 74,409.15 |
| 17 | 1,484.40 | 442.73 | 72,924.75 |
| 18 | 1,493.23 | 433.90 | 71,431.53 |
| 19 | 1,502.11 | 425.02 | 69,929.41 |
| 20 | 1,511.05 | 416.08 | 68,418.36 |
| 21 | 1,520.04 | 407.09 | 66,898.32 |
| 22 | 1,529.08 | 398.05 | 65,369.24 |
| 23 | 1,538.18 | 388.95 | 63,831.06 |
| 24 | 1,547.34 | 379.79 | 62,283.72 |
| 25 | 1,556.54 | 370.59 | 60,727.18 |
| 26 | 1,565.80 | 361.33 | 59,161.38 |
| 27 | 1,575.12 | 352.01 | 57,586.26 |
| 28 | 1,584.49 | 342.64 | 56,001.77 |
| 29 | 1,593.92 | 333.21 | 54,407.85 |
| 30 | 1,603.40 | 323.73 | 52,804.44 |
| 31 | 1,612.94 | 314.19 | 51,191.50 |
| 32 | 1,622.54 | 304.59 | 49,568.96 |
| 33 | 1,632.19 | 294.94 | 47,936.76 |
| 34 | 1,641.91 | 285.22 | 46,294.86 |
| 35 | 1,651.68 | 275.45 | 44,643.18 |
| 36 | 1,661.50 | 265.63 | 42,981.68 |
| 37 | 1,671.39 | 255.74 | 41,310.29 |
| 38 | 1,681.33 | 245.80 | 39,628.96 |
| 39 | 1,691.34 | 235.79 | 37,937.62 |
| 40 | 1,701.40 | 225.73 | 36,236.22 |
| 41 | 1,711.52 | 215.61 | 34,524.70 |
| 42 | 1,721.71 | 205.42 | 32,802.99 |
| 43 | 1,731.95 | 195.18 | 31,071.04 |
| 44 | 1,742.26 | 184.87 | 29,328.78 |
| 45 | 1,752.62 | 174.51 | 27,576.15 |
| 46 | 1,763.05 | 164.08 | 25,813.10 |
| 47 | 1,773.54 | 153.59 | 24,039.56 |
| 48 | 1,784.09 | 143.04 | 22,255.47 |
| 49 | 1,794.71 | 132.42 | 20,460.76 |
| 50 | 1,805.39 | 121.74 | 18,655.37 |
| 51 | 1,816.13 | 111.00 | 16,839.24 |
| 52 | 1,826.94 | 100.19 | 15,012.30 |
| 53 | 1,837.81 | 89.32 | 13,174.50 |
| 54 | 1,848.74 | 78.39 | 11,325.75 |
| 55 | 1,859.74 | 67.39 | 9,466.01 |
| 56 | 1,870.81 | 56.32 | 7,595.21 |
| 57 | 1,881.94 | 45.19 | 5,713.27 |
| 58 | 1,893.14 | 33.99 | 3,820.13 |
| 59 | 1,904.40 | 22.73 | 1,915.73 |
| 60 | 1,915.73 | 11.40 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $97,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,927.13 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $18,628.
How much is a $97,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $2,228.96 a month over 60 months, versus $1,885.67 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $97,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,927.13 to $1,660.28 but adds $3,913 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $97,000 car loan?
The $1,927.13 payment is 10% of gross income at $231,256 a year and 15% at $154,170. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $97,000 car in California?
$7,033 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $2,066.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.