$25,500 car loan for 60 months
$506.62/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$4,897 total interest over 60 months
Principal $25,500 Interest $4,897. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $474.35 | 6.29% | $496.43 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $495.72 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $537.67 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $585.96 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $621.60 | 21.62% | $698.78 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $25,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,849 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $27,349 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $543.35 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $506.62 payment is 10% of gross income at $60,794 a year and 15% at $40,529. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $354.89 | $151.73 | $25,145.11 |
| 2 | $357.00 | $149.61 | $24,788.11 |
| 3 | $359.13 | $147.49 | $24,428.98 |
| 4 | $361.26 | $145.35 | $24,067.71 |
| 5 | $363.41 | $143.20 | $23,704.30 |
| 6 | $365.58 | $141.04 | $23,338.72 |
| 7 | $367.75 | $138.87 | $22,970.97 |
| 8 | $369.94 | $136.68 | $22,601.03 |
| 9 | $372.14 | $134.48 | $22,228.89 |
| 10 | $374.35 | $132.26 | $21,854.54 |
| 11 | $376.58 | $130.03 | $21,477.96 |
| 12 | $378.82 | $127.79 | $21,099.13 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4,401 | $1,679 | $21,099 |
| 2 | $4,726 | $1,354 | $16,374 |
| 3 | $5,074 | $1,005 | $11,299 |
| 4 | $5,449 | $631 | $5,851 |
| 5 | $5,851 | $229 | $0 |
| Total | $25,500 | $4,897 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 354.89 | 151.73 | 25,145.11 |
| 2 | 357.00 | 149.61 | 24,788.11 |
| 3 | 359.13 | 147.49 | 24,428.98 |
| 4 | 361.26 | 145.35 | 24,067.71 |
| 5 | 363.41 | 143.20 | 23,704.30 |
| 6 | 365.58 | 141.04 | 23,338.72 |
| 7 | 367.75 | 138.87 | 22,970.97 |
| 8 | 369.94 | 136.68 | 22,601.03 |
| 9 | 372.14 | 134.48 | 22,228.89 |
| 10 | 374.35 | 132.26 | 21,854.54 |
| 11 | 376.58 | 130.03 | 21,477.96 |
| 12 | 378.82 | 127.79 | 21,099.13 |
| 13 | 381.08 | 125.54 | 20,718.06 |
| 14 | 383.34 | 123.27 | 20,334.71 |
| 15 | 385.63 | 120.99 | 19,949.09 |
| 16 | 387.92 | 118.70 | 19,561.17 |
| 17 | 390.23 | 116.39 | 19,170.94 |
| 18 | 392.55 | 114.07 | 18,778.39 |
| 19 | 394.89 | 111.73 | 18,383.51 |
| 20 | 397.23 | 109.38 | 17,986.27 |
| 21 | 399.60 | 107.02 | 17,586.67 |
| 22 | 401.98 | 104.64 | 17,184.70 |
| 23 | 404.37 | 102.25 | 16,780.33 |
| 24 | 406.77 | 99.84 | 16,373.56 |
| 25 | 409.19 | 97.42 | 15,964.36 |
| 26 | 411.63 | 94.99 | 15,552.73 |
| 27 | 414.08 | 92.54 | 15,138.66 |
| 28 | 416.54 | 90.07 | 14,722.11 |
| 29 | 419.02 | 87.60 | 14,303.09 |
| 30 | 421.51 | 85.10 | 13,881.58 |
| 31 | 424.02 | 82.60 | 13,457.56 |
| 32 | 426.54 | 80.07 | 13,031.01 |
| 33 | 429.08 | 77.53 | 12,601.93 |
| 34 | 431.64 | 74.98 | 12,170.30 |
| 35 | 434.20 | 72.41 | 11,736.09 |
| 36 | 436.79 | 69.83 | 11,299.31 |
| 37 | 439.39 | 67.23 | 10,859.92 |
| 38 | 442.00 | 64.62 | 10,417.92 |
| 39 | 444.63 | 61.99 | 9,973.29 |
| 40 | 447.28 | 59.34 | 9,526.02 |
| 41 | 449.94 | 56.68 | 9,076.08 |
| 42 | 452.61 | 54.00 | 8,623.47 |
| 43 | 455.31 | 51.31 | 8,168.16 |
| 44 | 458.02 | 48.60 | 7,710.14 |
| 45 | 460.74 | 45.88 | 7,249.40 |
| 46 | 463.48 | 43.13 | 6,785.92 |
| 47 | 466.24 | 40.38 | 6,319.68 |
| 48 | 469.01 | 37.60 | 5,850.66 |
| 49 | 471.81 | 34.81 | 5,378.86 |
| 50 | 474.61 | 32.00 | 4,904.25 |
| 51 | 477.44 | 29.18 | 4,426.81 |
| 52 | 480.28 | 26.34 | 3,946.53 |
| 53 | 483.13 | 23.48 | 3,463.40 |
| 54 | 486.01 | 20.61 | 2,977.39 |
| 55 | 488.90 | 17.72 | 2,488.49 |
| 56 | 491.81 | 14.81 | 1,996.68 |
| 57 | 494.74 | 11.88 | 1,501.94 |
| 58 | 497.68 | 8.94 | 1,004.26 |
| 59 | 500.64 | 5.98 | 503.62 |
| 60 | 503.62 | 3.00 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $25,500 car loan for 60 months?
$506.62 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $4,897.
How much is a $25,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $585.96 a month over 60 months, versus $495.72 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $25,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $506.62 to $436.47 but adds $1,029 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $25,500 car loan?
The $506.62 payment is 10% of gross income at $60,794 a year and 15% at $40,529. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $25,500 car in California?
$1,849 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $543.35. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.