$25,500 car loan for 72 months
$436.47/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,926 total interest over 72 months
Principal $25,500 Interest $5,926. 19¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
72 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey). The Fed does not survey 72-month loans; longer loans usually carry higher rates than this.
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $403.73 | 6.29% | $426.11 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $425.38 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $468.18 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $517.83 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $554.69 | 21.62% | $634.98 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $25,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,849 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $27,349 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $468.11 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $436.47 payment is 10% of gross income at $52,376 a year and 15% at $34,917. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $284.74 | $151.73 | $25,215.26 |
| 2 | $286.44 | $150.03 | $24,928.82 |
| 3 | $288.14 | $148.33 | $24,640.68 |
| 4 | $289.85 | $146.61 | $24,350.83 |
| 5 | $291.58 | $144.89 | $24,059.25 |
| 6 | $293.31 | $143.15 | $23,765.94 |
| 7 | $295.06 | $141.41 | $23,470.88 |
| 8 | $296.81 | $139.65 | $23,174.07 |
| 9 | $298.58 | $137.89 | $22,875.49 |
| 10 | $300.36 | $136.11 | $22,575.13 |
| 11 | $302.14 | $134.32 | $22,272.98 |
| 12 | $303.94 | $132.52 | $21,969.04 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $3,531 | $1,707 | $21,969 |
| 2 | $3,791 | $1,446 | $18,178 |
| 3 | $4,071 | $1,166 | $14,106 |
| 4 | $4,372 | $866 | $9,735 |
| 5 | $4,694 | $543 | $5,041 |
| 6 | $5,041 | $197 | $0 |
| Total | $25,500 | $5,926 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 72 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 284.74 | 151.73 | 25,215.26 |
| 2 | 286.44 | 150.03 | 24,928.82 |
| 3 | 288.14 | 148.33 | 24,640.68 |
| 4 | 289.85 | 146.61 | 24,350.83 |
| 5 | 291.58 | 144.89 | 24,059.25 |
| 6 | 293.31 | 143.15 | 23,765.94 |
| 7 | 295.06 | 141.41 | 23,470.88 |
| 8 | 296.81 | 139.65 | 23,174.07 |
| 9 | 298.58 | 137.89 | 22,875.49 |
| 10 | 300.36 | 136.11 | 22,575.13 |
| 11 | 302.14 | 134.32 | 22,272.98 |
| 12 | 303.94 | 132.52 | 21,969.04 |
| 13 | 305.75 | 130.72 | 21,663.29 |
| 14 | 307.57 | 128.90 | 21,355.72 |
| 15 | 309.40 | 127.07 | 21,046.32 |
| 16 | 311.24 | 125.23 | 20,735.08 |
| 17 | 313.09 | 123.37 | 20,421.99 |
| 18 | 314.96 | 121.51 | 20,107.04 |
| 19 | 316.83 | 119.64 | 19,790.21 |
| 20 | 318.71 | 117.75 | 19,471.49 |
| 21 | 320.61 | 115.86 | 19,150.88 |
| 22 | 322.52 | 113.95 | 18,828.36 |
| 23 | 324.44 | 112.03 | 18,503.93 |
| 24 | 326.37 | 110.10 | 18,177.56 |
| 25 | 328.31 | 108.16 | 17,849.25 |
| 26 | 330.26 | 106.20 | 17,518.99 |
| 27 | 332.23 | 104.24 | 17,186.76 |
| 28 | 334.20 | 102.26 | 16,852.55 |
| 29 | 336.19 | 100.27 | 16,516.36 |
| 30 | 338.19 | 98.27 | 16,178.17 |
| 31 | 340.21 | 96.26 | 15,837.96 |
| 32 | 342.23 | 94.24 | 15,495.73 |
| 33 | 344.27 | 92.20 | 15,151.47 |
| 34 | 346.31 | 90.15 | 14,805.15 |
| 35 | 348.38 | 88.09 | 14,456.78 |
| 36 | 350.45 | 86.02 | 14,106.33 |
| 37 | 352.53 | 83.93 | 13,753.79 |
| 38 | 354.63 | 81.84 | 13,399.16 |
| 39 | 356.74 | 79.73 | 13,042.42 |
| 40 | 358.86 | 77.60 | 12,683.56 |
| 41 | 361.00 | 75.47 | 12,322.56 |
| 42 | 363.15 | 73.32 | 11,959.41 |
| 43 | 365.31 | 71.16 | 11,594.11 |
| 44 | 367.48 | 68.98 | 11,226.62 |
| 45 | 369.67 | 66.80 | 10,856.96 |
| 46 | 371.87 | 64.60 | 10,485.09 |
| 47 | 374.08 | 62.39 | 10,111.01 |
| 48 | 376.31 | 60.16 | 9,734.71 |
| 49 | 378.54 | 57.92 | 9,356.16 |
| 50 | 380.80 | 55.67 | 8,975.36 |
| 51 | 383.06 | 53.40 | 8,592.30 |
| 52 | 385.34 | 51.12 | 8,206.96 |
| 53 | 387.63 | 48.83 | 7,819.32 |
| 54 | 389.94 | 46.52 | 7,429.38 |
| 55 | 392.26 | 44.20 | 7,037.12 |
| 56 | 394.60 | 41.87 | 6,642.53 |
| 57 | 396.94 | 39.52 | 6,245.58 |
| 58 | 399.30 | 37.16 | 5,846.28 |
| 59 | 401.68 | 34.79 | 5,444.60 |
| 60 | 404.07 | 32.40 | 5,040.53 |
| 61 | 406.47 | 29.99 | 4,634.05 |
| 62 | 408.89 | 27.57 | 4,225.16 |
| 63 | 411.33 | 25.14 | 3,813.83 |
| 64 | 413.77 | 22.69 | 3,400.06 |
| 65 | 416.24 | 20.23 | 2,983.83 |
| 66 | 418.71 | 17.75 | 2,565.11 |
| 67 | 421.20 | 15.26 | 2,143.91 |
| 68 | 423.71 | 12.76 | 1,720.20 |
| 69 | 426.23 | 10.24 | 1,293.97 |
| 70 | 428.77 | 7.70 | 865.20 |
| 71 | 431.32 | 5.15 | 433.88 |
| 72 | 433.88 | 2.58 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $25,500 car loan for 72 months?
$436.47 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,926.
How much is a $25,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $517.83 a month over 72 months, versus $425.38 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $25,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $506.62 to $436.47 but adds $1,029 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $25,500 car loan?
The $436.47 payment is 10% of gross income at $52,376 a year and 15% at $34,917. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $25,500 car in California?
$1,849 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $468.11. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.