$26,500 car loan payment
$526.48/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,089 total interest over 60 months
Principal $26,500 Interest $5,089. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $492.96 | 6.29% | $515.90 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $515.16 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $558.75 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $608.94 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $645.98 | 21.62% | $726.19 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $26,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,921 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $28,421 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $564.65 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $526.48 payment is 10% of gross income at $63,178 a year and 15% at $42,119. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $368.81 | $157.68 | $26,131.19 |
| 2 | $371.00 | $155.48 | $25,760.19 |
| 3 | $373.21 | $153.27 | $25,386.98 |
| 4 | $375.43 | $151.05 | $25,011.55 |
| 5 | $377.67 | $148.82 | $24,633.88 |
| 6 | $379.91 | $146.57 | $24,253.97 |
| 7 | $382.17 | $144.31 | $23,871.80 |
| 8 | $384.45 | $142.04 | $23,487.35 |
| 9 | $386.73 | $139.75 | $23,100.61 |
| 10 | $389.04 | $137.45 | $22,711.58 |
| 11 | $391.35 | $135.13 | $22,320.23 |
| 12 | $393.68 | $132.81 | $21,926.55 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4,573 | $1,744 | $21,927 |
| 2 | $4,911 | $1,407 | $17,016 |
| 3 | $5,273 | $1,045 | $11,742 |
| 4 | $5,662 | $655 | $6,080 |
| 5 | $6,080 | $238 | $0 |
| Total | $26,500 | $5,089 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 368.81 | 157.68 | 26,131.19 |
| 2 | 371.00 | 155.48 | 25,760.19 |
| 3 | 373.21 | 153.27 | 25,386.98 |
| 4 | 375.43 | 151.05 | 25,011.55 |
| 5 | 377.67 | 148.82 | 24,633.88 |
| 6 | 379.91 | 146.57 | 24,253.97 |
| 7 | 382.17 | 144.31 | 23,871.80 |
| 8 | 384.45 | 142.04 | 23,487.35 |
| 9 | 386.73 | 139.75 | 23,100.61 |
| 10 | 389.04 | 137.45 | 22,711.58 |
| 11 | 391.35 | 135.13 | 22,320.23 |
| 12 | 393.68 | 132.81 | 21,926.55 |
| 13 | 396.02 | 130.46 | 21,530.53 |
| 14 | 398.38 | 128.11 | 21,132.15 |
| 15 | 400.75 | 125.74 | 20,731.40 |
| 16 | 403.13 | 123.35 | 20,328.27 |
| 17 | 405.53 | 120.95 | 19,922.74 |
| 18 | 407.94 | 118.54 | 19,514.80 |
| 19 | 410.37 | 116.11 | 19,104.43 |
| 20 | 412.81 | 113.67 | 18,691.61 |
| 21 | 415.27 | 111.22 | 18,276.35 |
| 22 | 417.74 | 108.74 | 17,858.61 |
| 23 | 420.23 | 106.26 | 17,438.38 |
| 24 | 422.73 | 103.76 | 17,015.66 |
| 25 | 425.24 | 101.24 | 16,590.41 |
| 26 | 427.77 | 98.71 | 16,162.64 |
| 27 | 430.32 | 96.17 | 15,732.33 |
| 28 | 432.88 | 93.61 | 15,299.45 |
| 29 | 435.45 | 91.03 | 14,864.00 |
| 30 | 438.04 | 88.44 | 14,425.96 |
| 31 | 440.65 | 85.83 | 13,985.31 |
| 32 | 443.27 | 83.21 | 13,542.04 |
| 33 | 445.91 | 80.58 | 13,096.13 |
| 34 | 448.56 | 77.92 | 12,647.56 |
| 35 | 451.23 | 75.25 | 12,196.33 |
| 36 | 453.92 | 72.57 | 11,742.42 |
| 37 | 456.62 | 69.87 | 11,285.80 |
| 38 | 459.33 | 67.15 | 10,826.47 |
| 39 | 462.07 | 64.42 | 10,364.40 |
| 40 | 464.82 | 61.67 | 9,899.59 |
| 41 | 467.58 | 58.90 | 9,432.00 |
| 42 | 470.36 | 56.12 | 8,961.64 |
| 43 | 473.16 | 53.32 | 8,488.48 |
| 44 | 475.98 | 50.51 | 8,012.50 |
| 45 | 478.81 | 47.67 | 7,533.69 |
| 46 | 481.66 | 44.83 | 7,052.03 |
| 47 | 484.52 | 41.96 | 6,567.51 |
| 48 | 487.41 | 39.08 | 6,080.10 |
| 49 | 490.31 | 36.18 | 5,589.79 |
| 50 | 493.22 | 33.26 | 5,096.57 |
| 51 | 496.16 | 30.32 | 4,600.41 |
| 52 | 499.11 | 27.37 | 4,101.30 |
| 53 | 502.08 | 24.40 | 3,599.22 |
| 54 | 505.07 | 21.42 | 3,094.15 |
| 55 | 508.07 | 18.41 | 2,586.08 |
| 56 | 511.10 | 15.39 | 2,074.98 |
| 57 | 514.14 | 12.35 | 1,560.84 |
| 58 | 517.20 | 9.29 | 1,043.64 |
| 59 | 520.27 | 6.21 | 523.37 |
| 60 | 523.37 | 3.11 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $26,500 car loan for 60 months?
$526.48 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,089.
How much is a $26,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $608.94 a month over 60 months, versus $515.16 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $26,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $526.48 to $453.58 but adds $1,069 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $26,500 car loan?
The $526.48 payment is 10% of gross income at $63,178 a year and 15% at $42,119. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $26,500 car in California?
$1,921 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $564.65. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.