$27,500 car loan payment
$546.35/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,281 total interest over 60 months
Principal $27,500 Interest $5,281. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $511.56 | 6.29% | $535.37 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $534.60 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $579.84 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $631.92 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $670.35 | 21.62% | $753.59 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $27,500 |
| Sales tax | $1,994 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $29,494 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $585.96 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $546.35 payment is 10% of gross income at $65,562 a year and 15% at $43,708. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $382.73 | $163.63 | $27,117.27 |
| 2 | $385.00 | $161.35 | $26,732.27 |
| 3 | $387.29 | $159.06 | $26,344.98 |
| 4 | $389.60 | $156.75 | $25,955.38 |
| 5 | $391.92 | $154.43 | $25,563.46 |
| 6 | $394.25 | $152.10 | $25,169.21 |
| 7 | $396.59 | $149.76 | $24,772.62 |
| 8 | $398.95 | $147.40 | $24,373.66 |
| 9 | $401.33 | $145.02 | $23,972.34 |
| 10 | $403.72 | $142.64 | $23,568.62 |
| 11 | $406.12 | $140.23 | $23,162.50 |
| 12 | $408.53 | $137.82 | $22,753.97 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4,746 | $1,810 | $22,754 |
| 2 | $5,096 | $1,460 | $17,658 |
| 3 | $5,472 | $1,084 | $12,186 |
| 4 | $5,876 | $680 | $6,310 |
| 5 | $6,310 | $247 | $0 |
| Total | $27,500 | $5,281 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 382.73 | 163.63 | 27,117.27 |
| 2 | 385.00 | 161.35 | 26,732.27 |
| 3 | 387.29 | 159.06 | 26,344.98 |
| 4 | 389.60 | 156.75 | 25,955.38 |
| 5 | 391.92 | 154.43 | 25,563.46 |
| 6 | 394.25 | 152.10 | 25,169.21 |
| 7 | 396.59 | 149.76 | 24,772.62 |
| 8 | 398.95 | 147.40 | 24,373.66 |
| 9 | 401.33 | 145.02 | 23,972.34 |
| 10 | 403.72 | 142.64 | 23,568.62 |
| 11 | 406.12 | 140.23 | 23,162.50 |
| 12 | 408.53 | 137.82 | 22,753.97 |
| 13 | 410.97 | 135.39 | 22,343.00 |
| 14 | 413.41 | 132.94 | 21,929.59 |
| 15 | 415.87 | 130.48 | 21,513.72 |
| 16 | 418.34 | 128.01 | 21,095.38 |
| 17 | 420.83 | 125.52 | 20,674.54 |
| 18 | 423.34 | 123.01 | 20,251.21 |
| 19 | 425.86 | 120.49 | 19,825.35 |
| 20 | 428.39 | 117.96 | 19,396.96 |
| 21 | 430.94 | 115.41 | 18,966.02 |
| 22 | 433.50 | 112.85 | 18,532.52 |
| 23 | 436.08 | 110.27 | 18,096.43 |
| 24 | 438.68 | 107.67 | 17,657.76 |
| 25 | 441.29 | 105.06 | 17,216.47 |
| 26 | 443.91 | 102.44 | 16,772.56 |
| 27 | 446.55 | 99.80 | 16,326.00 |
| 28 | 449.21 | 97.14 | 15,876.79 |
| 29 | 451.88 | 94.47 | 15,424.90 |
| 30 | 454.57 | 91.78 | 14,970.33 |
| 31 | 457.28 | 89.07 | 14,513.05 |
| 32 | 460.00 | 86.35 | 14,053.06 |
| 33 | 462.74 | 83.62 | 13,590.32 |
| 34 | 465.49 | 80.86 | 13,124.83 |
| 35 | 468.26 | 78.09 | 12,656.57 |
| 36 | 471.04 | 75.31 | 12,185.53 |
| 37 | 473.85 | 72.50 | 11,711.68 |
| 38 | 476.67 | 69.68 | 11,235.01 |
| 39 | 479.50 | 66.85 | 10,755.51 |
| 40 | 482.36 | 64.00 | 10,273.16 |
| 41 | 485.23 | 61.13 | 9,787.93 |
| 42 | 488.11 | 58.24 | 9,299.82 |
| 43 | 491.02 | 55.33 | 8,808.80 |
| 44 | 493.94 | 52.41 | 8,314.86 |
| 45 | 496.88 | 49.47 | 7,817.98 |
| 46 | 499.83 | 46.52 | 7,318.15 |
| 47 | 502.81 | 43.54 | 6,815.34 |
| 48 | 505.80 | 40.55 | 6,309.54 |
| 49 | 508.81 | 37.54 | 5,800.73 |
| 50 | 511.84 | 34.51 | 5,288.89 |
| 51 | 514.88 | 31.47 | 4,774.01 |
| 52 | 517.95 | 28.41 | 4,256.07 |
| 53 | 521.03 | 25.32 | 3,735.04 |
| 54 | 524.13 | 22.22 | 3,210.91 |
| 55 | 527.25 | 19.10 | 2,683.66 |
| 56 | 530.38 | 15.97 | 2,153.28 |
| 57 | 533.54 | 12.81 | 1,619.74 |
| 58 | 536.71 | 9.64 | 1,083.03 |
| 59 | 539.91 | 6.44 | 543.12 |
| 60 | 543.12 | 3.23 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $27,500 car loan for 60 months?
$546.35 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,281.
How much is a $27,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $631.92 a month over 60 months, versus $534.60 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $27,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $546.35 to $470.70 but adds $1,109 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $27,500 car loan?
The $546.35 payment is 10% of gross income at $65,562 a year and 15% at $43,708. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $27,500 car in California?
$1,994 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $585.96. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.