$28,500 car loan payment
$566.22/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,473 total interest over 60 months
Principal $28,500 Interest $5,473. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $530.16 | 6.29% | $554.84 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $554.04 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $600.92 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $654.90 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $694.73 | 21.62% | $780.99 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $28,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,066 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $30,566 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $607.27 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $566.22 payment is 10% of gross income at $67,946 a year and 15% at $45,297. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $396.64 | $169.58 | $28,103.36 |
| 2 | $399.00 | $167.21 | $27,704.35 |
| 3 | $401.38 | $164.84 | $27,302.98 |
| 4 | $403.77 | $162.45 | $26,899.21 |
| 5 | $406.17 | $160.05 | $26,493.04 |
| 6 | $408.58 | $157.63 | $26,084.46 |
| 7 | $411.02 | $155.20 | $25,673.44 |
| 8 | $413.46 | $152.76 | $25,259.98 |
| 9 | $415.92 | $150.30 | $24,844.06 |
| 10 | $418.40 | $147.82 | $24,425.66 |
| 11 | $420.89 | $145.33 | $24,004.77 |
| 12 | $423.39 | $142.83 | $23,581.38 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $4,919 | $1,876 | $23,581 |
| 2 | $5,282 | $1,513 | $18,300 |
| 3 | $5,671 | $1,123 | $12,629 |
| 4 | $6,090 | $705 | $6,539 |
| 5 | $6,539 | $256 | $0 |
| Total | $28,500 | $5,473 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 396.64 | 169.58 | 28,103.36 |
| 2 | 399.00 | 167.21 | 27,704.35 |
| 3 | 401.38 | 164.84 | 27,302.98 |
| 4 | 403.77 | 162.45 | 26,899.21 |
| 5 | 406.17 | 160.05 | 26,493.04 |
| 6 | 408.58 | 157.63 | 26,084.46 |
| 7 | 411.02 | 155.20 | 25,673.44 |
| 8 | 413.46 | 152.76 | 25,259.98 |
| 9 | 415.92 | 150.30 | 24,844.06 |
| 10 | 418.40 | 147.82 | 24,425.66 |
| 11 | 420.89 | 145.33 | 24,004.77 |
| 12 | 423.39 | 142.83 | 23,581.38 |
| 13 | 425.91 | 140.31 | 23,155.48 |
| 14 | 428.44 | 137.78 | 22,727.03 |
| 15 | 430.99 | 135.23 | 22,296.04 |
| 16 | 433.56 | 132.66 | 21,862.48 |
| 17 | 436.14 | 130.08 | 21,426.35 |
| 18 | 438.73 | 127.49 | 20,987.61 |
| 19 | 441.34 | 124.88 | 20,546.27 |
| 20 | 443.97 | 122.25 | 20,102.30 |
| 21 | 446.61 | 119.61 | 19,655.69 |
| 22 | 449.27 | 116.95 | 19,206.43 |
| 23 | 451.94 | 114.28 | 18,754.49 |
| 24 | 454.63 | 111.59 | 18,299.86 |
| 25 | 457.33 | 108.88 | 17,842.52 |
| 26 | 460.06 | 106.16 | 17,382.47 |
| 27 | 462.79 | 103.43 | 16,919.67 |
| 28 | 465.55 | 100.67 | 16,454.13 |
| 29 | 468.32 | 97.90 | 15,985.81 |
| 30 | 471.10 | 95.12 | 15,514.71 |
| 31 | 473.91 | 92.31 | 15,040.80 |
| 32 | 476.73 | 89.49 | 14,564.08 |
| 33 | 479.56 | 86.66 | 14,084.51 |
| 34 | 482.42 | 83.80 | 13,602.10 |
| 35 | 485.29 | 80.93 | 13,116.81 |
| 36 | 488.17 | 78.05 | 12,628.64 |
| 37 | 491.08 | 75.14 | 12,137.56 |
| 38 | 494.00 | 72.22 | 11,643.56 |
| 39 | 496.94 | 69.28 | 11,146.62 |
| 40 | 499.90 | 66.32 | 10,646.72 |
| 41 | 502.87 | 63.35 | 10,143.85 |
| 42 | 505.86 | 60.36 | 9,637.99 |
| 43 | 508.87 | 57.35 | 9,129.12 |
| 44 | 511.90 | 54.32 | 8,617.22 |
| 45 | 514.95 | 51.27 | 8,102.27 |
| 46 | 518.01 | 48.21 | 7,584.26 |
| 47 | 521.09 | 45.13 | 7,063.17 |
| 48 | 524.19 | 42.03 | 6,538.98 |
| 49 | 527.31 | 38.91 | 6,011.67 |
| 50 | 530.45 | 35.77 | 5,481.22 |
| 51 | 533.61 | 32.61 | 4,947.61 |
| 52 | 536.78 | 29.44 | 4,410.83 |
| 53 | 539.97 | 26.24 | 3,870.86 |
| 54 | 543.19 | 23.03 | 3,327.67 |
| 55 | 546.42 | 19.80 | 2,781.25 |
| 56 | 549.67 | 16.55 | 2,231.58 |
| 57 | 552.94 | 13.28 | 1,678.64 |
| 58 | 556.23 | 9.99 | 1,122.41 |
| 59 | 559.54 | 6.68 | 562.87 |
| 60 | 562.87 | 3.35 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $28,500 car loan for 60 months?
$566.22 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,473.
How much is a $28,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $654.90 a month over 60 months, versus $554.04 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $28,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $566.22 to $487.81 but adds $1,150 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $28,500 car loan?
The $566.22 payment is 10% of gross income at $67,946 a year and 15% at $45,297. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $28,500 car in California?
$2,066 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $607.27. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.