$29,000 car loan for 60 months
$576.15/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,569 total interest over 60 months
Principal $29,000 Interest $5,569. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $539.46 | 6.29% | $564.57 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $563.76 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $611.47 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $666.39 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $706.92 | 21.62% | $794.70 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $29,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,103 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $31,103 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $617.92 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $576.15 payment is 10% of gross income at $69,138 a year and 15% at $46,092. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $403.60 | $172.55 | $28,596.40 |
| 2 | $406.00 | $170.15 | $28,190.39 |
| 3 | $408.42 | $167.73 | $27,781.97 |
| 4 | $410.85 | $165.30 | $27,371.13 |
| 5 | $413.29 | $162.86 | $26,957.83 |
| 6 | $415.75 | $160.40 | $26,542.08 |
| 7 | $418.23 | $157.93 | $26,123.85 |
| 8 | $420.72 | $155.44 | $25,703.14 |
| 9 | $423.22 | $152.93 | $25,279.92 |
| 10 | $425.74 | $150.42 | $24,854.18 |
| 11 | $428.27 | $147.88 | $24,425.91 |
| 12 | $430.82 | $145.33 | $23,995.09 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,005 | $1,909 | $23,995 |
| 2 | $5,374 | $1,540 | $18,621 |
| 3 | $5,771 | $1,143 | $12,850 |
| 4 | $6,196 | $717 | $6,654 |
| 5 | $6,654 | $260 | $0 |
| Total | $29,000 | $5,569 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 403.60 | 172.55 | 28,596.40 |
| 2 | 406.00 | 170.15 | 28,190.39 |
| 3 | 408.42 | 167.73 | 27,781.97 |
| 4 | 410.85 | 165.30 | 27,371.13 |
| 5 | 413.29 | 162.86 | 26,957.83 |
| 6 | 415.75 | 160.40 | 26,542.08 |
| 7 | 418.23 | 157.93 | 26,123.85 |
| 8 | 420.72 | 155.44 | 25,703.14 |
| 9 | 423.22 | 152.93 | 25,279.92 |
| 10 | 425.74 | 150.42 | 24,854.18 |
| 11 | 428.27 | 147.88 | 24,425.91 |
| 12 | 430.82 | 145.33 | 23,995.09 |
| 13 | 433.38 | 142.77 | 23,561.71 |
| 14 | 435.96 | 140.19 | 23,125.75 |
| 15 | 438.55 | 137.60 | 22,687.20 |
| 16 | 441.16 | 134.99 | 22,246.03 |
| 17 | 443.79 | 132.36 | 21,802.25 |
| 18 | 446.43 | 129.72 | 21,355.82 |
| 19 | 449.09 | 127.07 | 20,906.73 |
| 20 | 451.76 | 124.40 | 20,454.97 |
| 21 | 454.45 | 121.71 | 20,000.53 |
| 22 | 457.15 | 119.00 | 19,543.38 |
| 23 | 459.87 | 116.28 | 19,083.51 |
| 24 | 462.61 | 113.55 | 18,620.91 |
| 25 | 465.36 | 110.79 | 18,155.55 |
| 26 | 468.13 | 108.03 | 17,687.42 |
| 27 | 470.91 | 105.24 | 17,216.51 |
| 28 | 473.71 | 102.44 | 16,742.80 |
| 29 | 476.53 | 99.62 | 16,266.26 |
| 30 | 479.37 | 96.78 | 15,786.90 |
| 31 | 482.22 | 93.93 | 15,304.68 |
| 32 | 485.09 | 91.06 | 14,819.59 |
| 33 | 487.98 | 88.18 | 14,331.61 |
| 34 | 490.88 | 85.27 | 13,840.73 |
| 35 | 493.80 | 82.35 | 13,346.93 |
| 36 | 496.74 | 79.41 | 12,850.19 |
| 37 | 499.69 | 76.46 | 12,350.50 |
| 38 | 502.67 | 73.49 | 11,847.83 |
| 39 | 505.66 | 70.49 | 11,342.18 |
| 40 | 508.67 | 67.49 | 10,833.51 |
| 41 | 511.69 | 64.46 | 10,321.82 |
| 42 | 514.74 | 61.41 | 9,807.08 |
| 43 | 517.80 | 58.35 | 9,289.28 |
| 44 | 520.88 | 55.27 | 8,768.40 |
| 45 | 523.98 | 52.17 | 8,244.42 |
| 46 | 527.10 | 49.05 | 7,717.32 |
| 47 | 530.23 | 45.92 | 7,187.09 |
| 48 | 533.39 | 42.76 | 6,653.70 |
| 49 | 536.56 | 39.59 | 6,117.13 |
| 50 | 539.76 | 36.40 | 5,577.38 |
| 51 | 542.97 | 33.19 | 5,034.41 |
| 52 | 546.20 | 29.95 | 4,488.21 |
| 53 | 549.45 | 26.70 | 3,938.77 |
| 54 | 552.72 | 23.44 | 3,386.05 |
| 55 | 556.01 | 20.15 | 2,830.04 |
| 56 | 559.31 | 16.84 | 2,270.73 |
| 57 | 562.64 | 13.51 | 1,708.09 |
| 58 | 565.99 | 10.16 | 1,142.10 |
| 59 | 569.36 | 6.80 | 572.74 |
| 60 | 572.74 | 3.41 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $29,000 car loan for 60 months?
$576.15 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,569.
How much is a $29,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $666.39 a month over 60 months, versus $563.76 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $29,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $576.15 to $496.37 but adds $1,170 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $29,000 car loan?
The $576.15 payment is 10% of gross income at $69,138 a year and 15% at $46,092. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $29,000 car in California?
$2,103 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $617.92. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.