$29,500 car loan for 60 months
$586.09/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,665 total interest over 60 months
Principal $29,500 Interest $5,665. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $548.76 | 6.29% | $574.30 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $573.48 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $622.01 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $677.88 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $719.11 | 21.62% | $808.40 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $29,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,139 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $31,639 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $628.58 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $586.09 payment is 10% of gross income at $70,330 a year and 15% at $46,887. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $410.56 | $175.53 | $29,089.44 |
| 2 | $413.00 | $173.08 | $28,676.44 |
| 3 | $415.46 | $170.62 | $28,260.97 |
| 4 | $417.93 | $168.15 | $27,843.04 |
| 5 | $420.42 | $165.67 | $27,422.62 |
| 6 | $422.92 | $163.16 | $26,999.70 |
| 7 | $425.44 | $160.65 | $26,574.26 |
| 8 | $427.97 | $158.12 | $26,146.29 |
| 9 | $430.52 | $155.57 | $25,715.78 |
| 10 | $433.08 | $153.01 | $25,282.70 |
| 11 | $435.65 | $150.43 | $24,847.05 |
| 12 | $438.25 | $147.84 | $24,408.80 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,091 | $1,942 | $24,409 |
| 2 | $5,467 | $1,566 | $18,942 |
| 3 | $5,870 | $1,163 | $13,072 |
| 4 | $6,303 | $730 | $6,768 |
| 5 | $6,768 | $265 | $0 |
| Total | $29,500 | $5,665 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 410.56 | 175.53 | 29,089.44 |
| 2 | 413.00 | 173.08 | 28,676.44 |
| 3 | 415.46 | 170.62 | 28,260.97 |
| 4 | 417.93 | 168.15 | 27,843.04 |
| 5 | 420.42 | 165.67 | 27,422.62 |
| 6 | 422.92 | 163.16 | 26,999.70 |
| 7 | 425.44 | 160.65 | 26,574.26 |
| 8 | 427.97 | 158.12 | 26,146.29 |
| 9 | 430.52 | 155.57 | 25,715.78 |
| 10 | 433.08 | 153.01 | 25,282.70 |
| 11 | 435.65 | 150.43 | 24,847.05 |
| 12 | 438.25 | 147.84 | 24,408.80 |
| 13 | 440.85 | 145.23 | 23,967.95 |
| 14 | 443.48 | 142.61 | 23,524.47 |
| 15 | 446.12 | 139.97 | 23,078.36 |
| 16 | 448.77 | 137.32 | 22,629.59 |
| 17 | 451.44 | 134.65 | 22,178.15 |
| 18 | 454.13 | 131.96 | 21,724.02 |
| 19 | 456.83 | 129.26 | 21,267.19 |
| 20 | 459.55 | 126.54 | 20,807.65 |
| 21 | 462.28 | 123.81 | 20,345.37 |
| 22 | 465.03 | 121.05 | 19,880.34 |
| 23 | 467.80 | 118.29 | 19,412.54 |
| 24 | 470.58 | 115.50 | 18,941.96 |
| 25 | 473.38 | 112.70 | 18,468.58 |
| 26 | 476.20 | 109.89 | 17,992.38 |
| 27 | 479.03 | 107.05 | 17,513.35 |
| 28 | 481.88 | 104.20 | 17,031.46 |
| 29 | 484.75 | 101.34 | 16,546.72 |
| 30 | 487.63 | 98.45 | 16,059.08 |
| 31 | 490.53 | 95.55 | 15,568.55 |
| 32 | 493.45 | 92.63 | 15,075.10 |
| 33 | 496.39 | 89.70 | 14,578.71 |
| 34 | 499.34 | 86.74 | 14,079.36 |
| 35 | 502.31 | 83.77 | 13,577.05 |
| 36 | 505.30 | 80.78 | 13,071.75 |
| 37 | 508.31 | 77.78 | 12,563.44 |
| 38 | 511.33 | 74.75 | 12,052.11 |
| 39 | 514.38 | 71.71 | 11,537.73 |
| 40 | 517.44 | 68.65 | 11,020.29 |
| 41 | 520.52 | 65.57 | 10,499.78 |
| 42 | 523.61 | 62.47 | 9,976.17 |
| 43 | 526.73 | 59.36 | 9,449.44 |
| 44 | 529.86 | 56.22 | 8,919.58 |
| 45 | 533.01 | 53.07 | 8,386.56 |
| 46 | 536.19 | 49.90 | 7,850.38 |
| 47 | 539.38 | 46.71 | 7,311.00 |
| 48 | 542.59 | 43.50 | 6,768.42 |
| 49 | 545.81 | 40.27 | 6,222.60 |
| 50 | 549.06 | 37.02 | 5,673.54 |
| 51 | 552.33 | 33.76 | 5,121.21 |
| 52 | 555.61 | 30.47 | 4,565.60 |
| 53 | 558.92 | 27.17 | 4,006.68 |
| 54 | 562.25 | 23.84 | 3,444.43 |
| 55 | 565.59 | 20.49 | 2,878.84 |
| 56 | 568.96 | 17.13 | 2,309.88 |
| 57 | 572.34 | 13.74 | 1,737.54 |
| 58 | 575.75 | 10.34 | 1,161.79 |
| 59 | 579.17 | 6.91 | 582.62 |
| 60 | 582.62 | 3.47 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $29,500 car loan for 60 months?
$586.09 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,665.
How much is a $29,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $677.88 a month over 60 months, versus $573.48 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $29,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $586.09 to $504.93 but adds $1,190 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $29,500 car loan?
The $586.09 payment is 10% of gross income at $70,330 a year and 15% at $46,887. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $29,500 car in California?
$2,139 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $628.58. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.