$31,000 car loan for 60 months
$615.89/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$5,953 total interest over 60 months
Principal $31,000 Interest $5,953. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $576.67 | 6.29% | $603.51 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $602.64 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $653.64 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $712.35 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $755.67 | 21.62% | $849.50 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $31,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,248 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $33,248 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $660.54 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $615.89 payment is 10% of gross income at $73,906 a year and 15% at $49,271. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $431.44 | $184.45 | $30,568.56 |
| 2 | $434.00 | $181.88 | $30,134.56 |
| 3 | $436.59 | $179.30 | $29,697.97 |
| 4 | $439.18 | $176.70 | $29,258.79 |
| 5 | $441.80 | $174.09 | $28,816.99 |
| 6 | $444.43 | $171.46 | $28,372.57 |
| 7 | $447.07 | $168.82 | $27,925.50 |
| 8 | $449.73 | $166.16 | $27,475.77 |
| 9 | $452.41 | $163.48 | $27,023.36 |
| 10 | $455.10 | $160.79 | $26,568.26 |
| 11 | $457.81 | $158.08 | $26,110.46 |
| 12 | $460.53 | $155.36 | $25,649.93 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,350 | $2,041 | $25,650 |
| 2 | $5,745 | $1,646 | $19,905 |
| 3 | $6,169 | $1,222 | $13,736 |
| 4 | $6,624 | $767 | $7,113 |
| 5 | $7,113 | $278 | $0 |
| Total | $31,000 | $5,953 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 431.44 | 184.45 | 30,568.56 |
| 2 | 434.00 | 181.88 | 30,134.56 |
| 3 | 436.59 | 179.30 | 29,697.97 |
| 4 | 439.18 | 176.70 | 29,258.79 |
| 5 | 441.80 | 174.09 | 28,816.99 |
| 6 | 444.43 | 171.46 | 28,372.57 |
| 7 | 447.07 | 168.82 | 27,925.50 |
| 8 | 449.73 | 166.16 | 27,475.77 |
| 9 | 452.41 | 163.48 | 27,023.36 |
| 10 | 455.10 | 160.79 | 26,568.26 |
| 11 | 457.81 | 158.08 | 26,110.46 |
| 12 | 460.53 | 155.36 | 25,649.93 |
| 13 | 463.27 | 152.62 | 25,186.66 |
| 14 | 466.03 | 149.86 | 24,720.63 |
| 15 | 468.80 | 147.09 | 24,251.83 |
| 16 | 471.59 | 144.30 | 23,780.24 |
| 17 | 474.39 | 141.49 | 23,305.85 |
| 18 | 477.22 | 138.67 | 22,828.63 |
| 19 | 480.06 | 135.83 | 22,348.58 |
| 20 | 482.91 | 132.97 | 21,865.66 |
| 21 | 485.79 | 130.10 | 21,379.88 |
| 22 | 488.68 | 127.21 | 20,891.20 |
| 23 | 491.58 | 124.30 | 20,399.62 |
| 24 | 494.51 | 121.38 | 19,905.11 |
| 25 | 497.45 | 118.44 | 19,407.66 |
| 26 | 500.41 | 115.48 | 18,907.24 |
| 27 | 503.39 | 112.50 | 18,403.86 |
| 28 | 506.38 | 109.50 | 17,897.47 |
| 29 | 509.40 | 106.49 | 17,388.07 |
| 30 | 512.43 | 103.46 | 16,875.65 |
| 31 | 515.48 | 100.41 | 16,360.17 |
| 32 | 518.54 | 97.34 | 15,841.63 |
| 33 | 521.63 | 94.26 | 15,320.00 |
| 34 | 524.73 | 91.15 | 14,795.26 |
| 35 | 527.86 | 88.03 | 14,267.41 |
| 36 | 531.00 | 84.89 | 13,736.41 |
| 37 | 534.16 | 81.73 | 13,202.26 |
| 38 | 537.33 | 78.55 | 12,664.92 |
| 39 | 540.53 | 75.36 | 12,124.39 |
| 40 | 543.75 | 72.14 | 11,580.65 |
| 41 | 546.98 | 68.90 | 11,033.67 |
| 42 | 550.24 | 65.65 | 10,483.43 |
| 43 | 553.51 | 62.38 | 9,929.92 |
| 44 | 556.80 | 59.08 | 9,373.11 |
| 45 | 560.12 | 55.77 | 8,813.00 |
| 46 | 563.45 | 52.44 | 8,249.55 |
| 47 | 566.80 | 49.08 | 7,682.75 |
| 48 | 570.17 | 45.71 | 7,112.57 |
| 49 | 573.57 | 42.32 | 6,539.00 |
| 50 | 576.98 | 38.91 | 5,962.03 |
| 51 | 580.41 | 35.47 | 5,381.61 |
| 52 | 583.87 | 32.02 | 4,797.75 |
| 53 | 587.34 | 28.55 | 4,210.41 |
| 54 | 590.83 | 25.05 | 3,619.57 |
| 55 | 594.35 | 21.54 | 3,025.22 |
| 56 | 597.89 | 18.00 | 2,427.33 |
| 57 | 601.44 | 14.44 | 1,825.89 |
| 58 | 605.02 | 10.86 | 1,220.87 |
| 59 | 608.62 | 7.26 | 612.24 |
| 60 | 612.24 | 3.64 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $31,000 car loan for 60 months?
$615.89 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $5,953.
How much is a $31,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $712.35 a month over 60 months, versus $602.64 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $31,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $615.89 to $530.61 but adds $1,250 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $31,000 car loan?
The $615.89 payment is 10% of gross income at $73,906 a year and 15% at $49,271. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $31,000 car in California?
$2,248 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $660.54. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.