$32,000 car loan for 60 months
$635.75/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$6,145 total interest over 60 months
Principal $32,000 Interest $6,145. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $595.27 | 6.29% | $622.97 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $622.08 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $674.72 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $735.33 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $780.05 | 21.62% | $876.91 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $32,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,320 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $34,320 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $681.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $635.75 payment is 10% of gross income at $76,290 a year and 15% at $50,860. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $445.35 | $190.40 | $31,554.65 |
| 2 | $448.00 | $187.75 | $31,106.64 |
| 3 | $450.67 | $185.08 | $30,655.97 |
| 4 | $453.35 | $182.40 | $30,202.62 |
| 5 | $456.05 | $179.71 | $29,746.57 |
| 6 | $458.76 | $176.99 | $29,287.81 |
| 7 | $461.49 | $174.26 | $28,826.32 |
| 8 | $464.24 | $171.52 | $28,362.08 |
| 9 | $467.00 | $168.75 | $27,895.08 |
| 10 | $469.78 | $165.98 | $27,425.30 |
| 11 | $472.57 | $163.18 | $26,952.73 |
| 12 | $475.39 | $160.37 | $26,477.34 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $5,523 | $2,106 | $26,477 |
| 2 | $5,930 | $1,699 | $20,547 |
| 3 | $6,368 | $1,261 | $14,180 |
| 4 | $6,838 | $792 | $7,342 |
| 5 | $7,342 | $287 | $0 |
| Total | $32,000 | $6,145 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 445.35 | 190.40 | 31,554.65 |
| 2 | 448.00 | 187.75 | 31,106.64 |
| 3 | 450.67 | 185.08 | 30,655.97 |
| 4 | 453.35 | 182.40 | 30,202.62 |
| 5 | 456.05 | 179.71 | 29,746.57 |
| 6 | 458.76 | 176.99 | 29,287.81 |
| 7 | 461.49 | 174.26 | 28,826.32 |
| 8 | 464.24 | 171.52 | 28,362.08 |
| 9 | 467.00 | 168.75 | 27,895.08 |
| 10 | 469.78 | 165.98 | 27,425.30 |
| 11 | 472.57 | 163.18 | 26,952.73 |
| 12 | 475.39 | 160.37 | 26,477.34 |
| 13 | 478.21 | 157.54 | 25,999.13 |
| 14 | 481.06 | 154.69 | 25,518.07 |
| 15 | 483.92 | 151.83 | 25,034.15 |
| 16 | 486.80 | 148.95 | 24,547.35 |
| 17 | 489.70 | 146.06 | 24,057.65 |
| 18 | 492.61 | 143.14 | 23,565.04 |
| 19 | 495.54 | 140.21 | 23,069.50 |
| 20 | 498.49 | 137.26 | 22,571.01 |
| 21 | 501.46 | 134.30 | 22,069.55 |
| 22 | 504.44 | 131.31 | 21,565.11 |
| 23 | 507.44 | 128.31 | 21,057.67 |
| 24 | 510.46 | 125.29 | 20,547.21 |
| 25 | 513.50 | 122.26 | 20,033.71 |
| 26 | 516.55 | 119.20 | 19,517.16 |
| 27 | 519.63 | 116.13 | 18,997.53 |
| 28 | 522.72 | 113.04 | 18,474.81 |
| 29 | 525.83 | 109.93 | 17,948.98 |
| 30 | 528.96 | 106.80 | 17,420.02 |
| 31 | 532.11 | 103.65 | 16,887.92 |
| 32 | 535.27 | 100.48 | 16,352.65 |
| 33 | 538.46 | 97.30 | 15,814.19 |
| 34 | 541.66 | 94.09 | 15,272.53 |
| 35 | 544.88 | 90.87 | 14,727.65 |
| 36 | 548.12 | 87.63 | 14,179.52 |
| 37 | 551.39 | 84.37 | 13,628.14 |
| 38 | 554.67 | 81.09 | 13,073.47 |
| 39 | 557.97 | 77.79 | 12,515.50 |
| 40 | 561.29 | 74.47 | 11,954.22 |
| 41 | 564.63 | 71.13 | 11,389.59 |
| 42 | 567.99 | 67.77 | 10,821.60 |
| 43 | 571.37 | 64.39 | 10,250.24 |
| 44 | 574.77 | 60.99 | 9,675.47 |
| 45 | 578.19 | 57.57 | 9,097.29 |
| 46 | 581.63 | 54.13 | 8,515.66 |
| 47 | 585.09 | 50.67 | 7,930.58 |
| 48 | 588.57 | 47.19 | 7,342.01 |
| 49 | 592.07 | 43.68 | 6,749.94 |
| 50 | 595.59 | 40.16 | 6,154.35 |
| 51 | 599.14 | 36.62 | 5,555.21 |
| 52 | 602.70 | 33.05 | 4,952.51 |
| 53 | 606.29 | 29.47 | 4,346.23 |
| 54 | 609.89 | 25.86 | 3,736.33 |
| 55 | 613.52 | 22.23 | 3,122.81 |
| 56 | 617.17 | 18.58 | 2,505.63 |
| 57 | 620.85 | 14.91 | 1,884.79 |
| 58 | 624.54 | 11.21 | 1,260.25 |
| 59 | 628.26 | 7.50 | 631.99 |
| 60 | 631.99 | 3.76 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $32,000 car loan for 60 months?
$635.75 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $6,145.
How much is a $32,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $735.33 a month over 60 months, versus $622.08 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $32,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $635.75 to $547.72 but adds $1,291 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $32,000 car loan?
The $635.75 payment is 10% of gross income at $76,290 a year and 15% at $50,860. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $32,000 car in California?
$2,320 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $681.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.