$37,000 car loan payment
$735.09/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$7,105 total interest over 60 months
Principal $37,000 Interest $7,105. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $688.28 | 6.29% | $720.31 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $719.28 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $780.15 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $850.22 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $901.93 | 21.62% | $1,013.92 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $37,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,683 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $39,683 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $788.38 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $735.09 payment is 10% of gross income at $88,211 a year and 15% at $58,807. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $514.94 | $220.15 | $36,485.06 |
| 2 | $518.00 | $217.09 | $35,967.05 |
| 3 | $521.09 | $214.00 | $35,445.97 |
| 4 | $524.19 | $210.90 | $34,921.78 |
| 5 | $527.31 | $207.78 | $34,394.47 |
| 6 | $530.44 | $204.65 | $33,864.03 |
| 7 | $533.60 | $201.49 | $33,330.43 |
| 8 | $536.77 | $198.32 | $32,793.66 |
| 9 | $539.97 | $195.12 | $32,253.69 |
| 10 | $543.18 | $191.91 | $31,710.51 |
| 11 | $546.41 | $188.68 | $31,164.09 |
| 12 | $549.66 | $185.43 | $30,614.43 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,386 | $2,436 | $30,614 |
| 2 | $6,857 | $1,964 | $23,758 |
| 3 | $7,363 | $1,458 | $16,395 |
| 4 | $7,906 | $915 | $8,489 |
| 5 | $8,489 | $332 | $0 |
| Total | $37,000 | $7,105 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 514.94 | 220.15 | 36,485.06 |
| 2 | 518.00 | 217.09 | 35,967.05 |
| 3 | 521.09 | 214.00 | 35,445.97 |
| 4 | 524.19 | 210.90 | 34,921.78 |
| 5 | 527.31 | 207.78 | 34,394.47 |
| 6 | 530.44 | 204.65 | 33,864.03 |
| 7 | 533.60 | 201.49 | 33,330.43 |
| 8 | 536.77 | 198.32 | 32,793.66 |
| 9 | 539.97 | 195.12 | 32,253.69 |
| 10 | 543.18 | 191.91 | 31,710.51 |
| 11 | 546.41 | 188.68 | 31,164.09 |
| 12 | 549.66 | 185.43 | 30,614.43 |
| 13 | 552.93 | 182.16 | 30,061.49 |
| 14 | 556.22 | 178.87 | 29,505.27 |
| 15 | 559.53 | 175.56 | 28,945.73 |
| 16 | 562.86 | 172.23 | 28,382.87 |
| 17 | 566.21 | 168.88 | 27,816.66 |
| 18 | 569.58 | 165.51 | 27,247.08 |
| 19 | 572.97 | 162.12 | 26,674.11 |
| 20 | 576.38 | 158.71 | 26,097.73 |
| 21 | 579.81 | 155.28 | 25,517.92 |
| 22 | 583.26 | 151.83 | 24,934.66 |
| 23 | 586.73 | 148.36 | 24,347.93 |
| 24 | 590.22 | 144.87 | 23,757.71 |
| 25 | 593.73 | 141.36 | 23,163.98 |
| 26 | 597.27 | 137.83 | 22,566.71 |
| 27 | 600.82 | 134.27 | 21,965.89 |
| 28 | 604.39 | 130.70 | 21,361.50 |
| 29 | 607.99 | 127.10 | 20,753.51 |
| 30 | 611.61 | 123.48 | 20,141.90 |
| 31 | 615.25 | 119.84 | 19,526.65 |
| 32 | 618.91 | 116.18 | 18,907.75 |
| 33 | 622.59 | 112.50 | 18,285.16 |
| 34 | 626.29 | 108.80 | 17,658.86 |
| 35 | 630.02 | 105.07 | 17,028.84 |
| 36 | 633.77 | 101.32 | 16,395.07 |
| 37 | 637.54 | 97.55 | 15,757.53 |
| 38 | 641.33 | 93.76 | 15,116.20 |
| 39 | 645.15 | 89.94 | 14,471.05 |
| 40 | 648.99 | 86.10 | 13,822.06 |
| 41 | 652.85 | 82.24 | 13,169.21 |
| 42 | 656.73 | 78.36 | 12,512.48 |
| 43 | 660.64 | 74.45 | 11,851.84 |
| 44 | 664.57 | 70.52 | 11,187.27 |
| 45 | 668.53 | 66.56 | 10,518.74 |
| 46 | 672.50 | 62.59 | 9,846.24 |
| 47 | 676.51 | 58.59 | 9,169.73 |
| 48 | 680.53 | 54.56 | 8,489.20 |
| 49 | 684.58 | 50.51 | 7,804.62 |
| 50 | 688.65 | 46.44 | 7,115.97 |
| 51 | 692.75 | 42.34 | 6,423.21 |
| 52 | 696.87 | 38.22 | 5,726.34 |
| 53 | 701.02 | 34.07 | 5,025.32 |
| 54 | 705.19 | 29.90 | 4,320.13 |
| 55 | 709.39 | 25.70 | 3,610.75 |
| 56 | 713.61 | 21.48 | 2,897.14 |
| 57 | 717.85 | 17.24 | 2,179.29 |
| 58 | 722.12 | 12.97 | 1,457.16 |
| 59 | 726.42 | 8.67 | 730.74 |
| 60 | 730.74 | 4.35 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $37,000 car loan for 60 months?
$735.09 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $7,105.
How much is a $37,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $850.22 a month over 60 months, versus $719.28 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $37,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $735.09 to $633.30 but adds $1,492 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $37,000 car loan?
The $735.09 payment is 10% of gross income at $88,211 a year and 15% at $58,807. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $37,000 car in California?
$2,683 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $788.38. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.