$38,000 car loan payment
$754.96/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$7,297 total interest over 60 months
Principal $38,000 Interest $7,297. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $706.88 | 6.29% | $739.78 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $738.72 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $801.23 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $873.20 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $926.31 | 21.62% | $1,041.33 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $38,000 |
| Sales tax | $2,755 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $40,755 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $809.69 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $754.96 payment is 10% of gross income at $90,595 a year and 15% at $60,397. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $528.86 | $226.10 | $37,471.14 |
| 2 | $532.00 | $222.95 | $36,939.14 |
| 3 | $535.17 | $219.79 | $36,403.97 |
| 4 | $538.35 | $216.60 | $35,865.61 |
| 5 | $541.56 | $213.40 | $35,324.05 |
| 6 | $544.78 | $210.18 | $34,779.27 |
| 7 | $548.02 | $206.94 | $34,231.25 |
| 8 | $551.28 | $203.68 | $33,679.97 |
| 9 | $554.56 | $200.40 | $33,125.41 |
| 10 | $557.86 | $197.10 | $32,567.55 |
| 11 | $561.18 | $193.78 | $32,006.37 |
| 12 | $564.52 | $190.44 | $31,441.85 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,558 | $2,501 | $31,442 |
| 2 | $7,042 | $2,017 | $24,400 |
| 3 | $7,562 | $1,498 | $16,838 |
| 4 | $8,120 | $940 | $8,719 |
| 5 | $8,719 | $341 | $0 |
| Total | $38,000 | $7,297 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 528.86 | 226.10 | 37,471.14 |
| 2 | 532.00 | 222.95 | 36,939.14 |
| 3 | 535.17 | 219.79 | 36,403.97 |
| 4 | 538.35 | 216.60 | 35,865.61 |
| 5 | 541.56 | 213.40 | 35,324.05 |
| 6 | 544.78 | 210.18 | 34,779.27 |
| 7 | 548.02 | 206.94 | 34,231.25 |
| 8 | 551.28 | 203.68 | 33,679.97 |
| 9 | 554.56 | 200.40 | 33,125.41 |
| 10 | 557.86 | 197.10 | 32,567.55 |
| 11 | 561.18 | 193.78 | 32,006.37 |
| 12 | 564.52 | 190.44 | 31,441.85 |
| 13 | 567.88 | 187.08 | 30,873.97 |
| 14 | 571.26 | 183.70 | 30,302.71 |
| 15 | 574.66 | 180.30 | 29,728.05 |
| 16 | 578.08 | 176.88 | 29,149.98 |
| 17 | 581.52 | 173.44 | 28,568.46 |
| 18 | 584.98 | 169.98 | 27,983.48 |
| 19 | 588.46 | 166.50 | 27,395.03 |
| 20 | 591.96 | 163.00 | 26,803.07 |
| 21 | 595.48 | 159.48 | 26,207.59 |
| 22 | 599.02 | 155.94 | 25,608.57 |
| 23 | 602.59 | 152.37 | 25,005.98 |
| 24 | 606.17 | 148.79 | 24,399.81 |
| 25 | 609.78 | 145.18 | 23,790.03 |
| 26 | 613.41 | 141.55 | 23,176.62 |
| 27 | 617.06 | 137.90 | 22,559.56 |
| 28 | 620.73 | 134.23 | 21,938.84 |
| 29 | 624.42 | 130.54 | 21,314.41 |
| 30 | 628.14 | 126.82 | 20,686.28 |
| 31 | 631.87 | 123.08 | 20,054.40 |
| 32 | 635.63 | 119.32 | 19,418.77 |
| 33 | 639.42 | 115.54 | 18,779.35 |
| 34 | 643.22 | 111.74 | 18,136.13 |
| 35 | 647.05 | 107.91 | 17,489.08 |
| 36 | 650.90 | 104.06 | 16,838.18 |
| 37 | 654.77 | 100.19 | 16,183.41 |
| 38 | 658.67 | 96.29 | 15,524.75 |
| 39 | 662.59 | 92.37 | 14,862.16 |
| 40 | 666.53 | 88.43 | 14,195.63 |
| 41 | 670.49 | 84.46 | 13,525.14 |
| 42 | 674.48 | 80.47 | 12,850.65 |
| 43 | 678.50 | 76.46 | 12,172.16 |
| 44 | 682.53 | 72.42 | 11,489.62 |
| 45 | 686.59 | 68.36 | 10,803.03 |
| 46 | 690.68 | 64.28 | 10,112.35 |
| 47 | 694.79 | 60.17 | 9,417.56 |
| 48 | 698.92 | 56.03 | 8,718.64 |
| 49 | 703.08 | 51.88 | 8,015.55 |
| 50 | 707.27 | 47.69 | 7,308.29 |
| 51 | 711.47 | 43.48 | 6,596.82 |
| 52 | 715.71 | 39.25 | 5,881.11 |
| 53 | 719.97 | 34.99 | 5,161.14 |
| 54 | 724.25 | 30.71 | 4,436.89 |
| 55 | 728.56 | 26.40 | 3,708.33 |
| 56 | 732.89 | 22.06 | 2,975.44 |
| 57 | 737.25 | 17.70 | 2,238.19 |
| 58 | 741.64 | 13.32 | 1,496.55 |
| 59 | 746.05 | 8.90 | 750.49 |
| 60 | 750.49 | 4.47 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $38,000 car loan for 60 months?
$754.96 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $7,297.
How much is a $38,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $873.20 a month over 60 months, versus $738.72 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $38,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $754.96 to $650.42 but adds $1,533 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $38,000 car loan?
The $754.96 payment is 10% of gross income at $90,595 a year and 15% at $60,397. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $38,000 car in California?
$2,755 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $809.69. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.