$38,500 car loan payment
$764.89/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$7,394 total interest over 60 months
Principal $38,500 Interest $7,394. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $716.18 | 6.29% | $749.52 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $748.44 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $811.77 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $884.69 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $938.50 | 21.62% | $1,055.03 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $38,500 |
| Sales tax | $2,791 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $41,291 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $820.35 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $764.89 payment is 10% of gross income at $91,787 a year and 15% at $61,191. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $535.82 | $229.08 | $37,964.18 |
| 2 | $539.00 | $225.89 | $37,425.18 |
| 3 | $542.21 | $222.68 | $36,882.97 |
| 4 | $545.44 | $219.45 | $36,337.53 |
| 5 | $548.68 | $216.21 | $35,788.85 |
| 6 | $551.95 | $212.94 | $35,236.90 |
| 7 | $555.23 | $209.66 | $34,681.66 |
| 8 | $558.54 | $206.36 | $34,123.13 |
| 9 | $561.86 | $203.03 | $33,561.27 |
| 10 | $565.20 | $199.69 | $32,996.07 |
| 11 | $568.57 | $196.33 | $32,427.50 |
| 12 | $571.95 | $192.94 | $31,855.55 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $6,644 | $2,534 | $31,856 |
| 2 | $7,135 | $2,044 | $24,721 |
| 3 | $7,661 | $1,518 | $17,060 |
| 4 | $8,226 | $952 | $8,833 |
| 5 | $8,833 | $345 | $0 |
| Total | $38,500 | $7,394 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 535.82 | 229.08 | 37,964.18 |
| 2 | 539.00 | 225.89 | 37,425.18 |
| 3 | 542.21 | 222.68 | 36,882.97 |
| 4 | 545.44 | 219.45 | 36,337.53 |
| 5 | 548.68 | 216.21 | 35,788.85 |
| 6 | 551.95 | 212.94 | 35,236.90 |
| 7 | 555.23 | 209.66 | 34,681.66 |
| 8 | 558.54 | 206.36 | 34,123.13 |
| 9 | 561.86 | 203.03 | 33,561.27 |
| 10 | 565.20 | 199.69 | 32,996.07 |
| 11 | 568.57 | 196.33 | 32,427.50 |
| 12 | 571.95 | 192.94 | 31,855.55 |
| 13 | 575.35 | 189.54 | 31,280.20 |
| 14 | 578.77 | 186.12 | 30,701.43 |
| 15 | 582.22 | 182.67 | 30,119.21 |
| 16 | 585.68 | 179.21 | 29,533.53 |
| 17 | 589.17 | 175.72 | 28,944.36 |
| 18 | 592.67 | 172.22 | 28,351.69 |
| 19 | 596.20 | 168.69 | 27,755.49 |
| 20 | 599.75 | 165.15 | 27,155.74 |
| 21 | 603.32 | 161.58 | 26,552.43 |
| 22 | 606.90 | 157.99 | 25,945.52 |
| 23 | 610.52 | 154.38 | 25,335.01 |
| 24 | 614.15 | 150.74 | 24,720.86 |
| 25 | 617.80 | 147.09 | 24,103.06 |
| 26 | 621.48 | 143.41 | 23,481.58 |
| 27 | 625.18 | 139.72 | 22,856.40 |
| 28 | 628.90 | 136.00 | 22,227.50 |
| 29 | 632.64 | 132.25 | 21,594.87 |
| 30 | 636.40 | 128.49 | 20,958.46 |
| 31 | 640.19 | 124.70 | 20,318.28 |
| 32 | 644.00 | 120.89 | 19,674.28 |
| 33 | 647.83 | 117.06 | 19,026.45 |
| 34 | 651.68 | 113.21 | 18,374.76 |
| 35 | 655.56 | 109.33 | 17,719.20 |
| 36 | 659.46 | 105.43 | 17,059.74 |
| 37 | 663.39 | 101.51 | 16,396.35 |
| 38 | 667.33 | 97.56 | 15,729.02 |
| 39 | 671.30 | 93.59 | 15,057.72 |
| 40 | 675.30 | 89.59 | 14,382.42 |
| 41 | 679.32 | 85.58 | 13,703.10 |
| 42 | 683.36 | 81.53 | 13,019.74 |
| 43 | 687.42 | 77.47 | 12,332.32 |
| 44 | 691.51 | 73.38 | 11,640.80 |
| 45 | 695.63 | 69.26 | 10,945.17 |
| 46 | 699.77 | 65.12 | 10,245.41 |
| 47 | 703.93 | 60.96 | 9,541.48 |
| 48 | 708.12 | 56.77 | 8,833.36 |
| 49 | 712.33 | 52.56 | 8,121.02 |
| 50 | 716.57 | 48.32 | 7,404.45 |
| 51 | 720.84 | 44.06 | 6,683.62 |
| 52 | 725.12 | 39.77 | 5,958.49 |
| 53 | 729.44 | 35.45 | 5,229.05 |
| 54 | 733.78 | 31.11 | 4,495.27 |
| 55 | 738.14 | 26.75 | 3,757.13 |
| 56 | 742.54 | 22.35 | 3,014.59 |
| 57 | 746.95 | 17.94 | 2,267.64 |
| 58 | 751.40 | 13.49 | 1,516.24 |
| 59 | 755.87 | 9.02 | 760.37 |
| 60 | 760.37 | 4.52 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $38,500 car loan for 60 months?
$764.89 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $7,394.
How much is a $38,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $884.69 a month over 60 months, versus $748.44 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $38,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $764.89 to $658.98 but adds $1,553 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $38,500 car loan?
The $764.89 payment is 10% of gross income at $91,787 a year and 15% at $61,191. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $38,500 car in California?
$2,791 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $820.35. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.