$43,000 car loan payment
$854.29/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,258 total interest over 60 months
Principal $43,000 Interest $8,258. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $799.89 | 6.29% | $837.12 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $835.92 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $906.66 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $988.09 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,048.19 | 21.62% | $1,178.34 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $43,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,118 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $46,118 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $916.23 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $854.29 payment is 10% of gross income at $102,515 a year and 15% at $68,344. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $598.44 | $255.85 | $42,401.56 |
| 2 | $602.01 | $252.29 | $41,799.55 |
| 3 | $605.59 | $248.71 | $41,193.96 |
| 4 | $609.19 | $245.10 | $40,584.77 |
| 5 | $612.82 | $241.48 | $39,971.96 |
| 6 | $616.46 | $237.83 | $39,355.50 |
| 7 | $620.13 | $234.17 | $38,735.37 |
| 8 | $623.82 | $230.48 | $38,111.55 |
| 9 | $627.53 | $226.76 | $37,484.02 |
| 10 | $631.26 | $223.03 | $36,852.75 |
| 11 | $635.02 | $219.27 | $36,217.73 |
| 12 | $638.80 | $215.50 | $35,578.93 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,421 | $2,830 | $35,579 |
| 2 | $7,969 | $2,283 | $27,610 |
| 3 | $8,557 | $1,695 | $19,054 |
| 4 | $9,188 | $1,064 | $9,866 |
| 5 | $9,866 | $386 | $0 |
| Total | $43,000 | $8,258 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 598.44 | 255.85 | 42,401.56 |
| 2 | 602.01 | 252.29 | 41,799.55 |
| 3 | 605.59 | 248.71 | 41,193.96 |
| 4 | 609.19 | 245.10 | 40,584.77 |
| 5 | 612.82 | 241.48 | 39,971.96 |
| 6 | 616.46 | 237.83 | 39,355.50 |
| 7 | 620.13 | 234.17 | 38,735.37 |
| 8 | 623.82 | 230.48 | 38,111.55 |
| 9 | 627.53 | 226.76 | 37,484.02 |
| 10 | 631.26 | 223.03 | 36,852.75 |
| 11 | 635.02 | 219.27 | 36,217.73 |
| 12 | 638.80 | 215.50 | 35,578.93 |
| 13 | 642.60 | 211.69 | 34,936.33 |
| 14 | 646.42 | 207.87 | 34,289.91 |
| 15 | 650.27 | 204.02 | 33,639.64 |
| 16 | 654.14 | 200.16 | 32,985.50 |
| 17 | 658.03 | 196.26 | 32,327.47 |
| 18 | 661.95 | 192.35 | 31,665.52 |
| 19 | 665.88 | 188.41 | 30,999.64 |
| 20 | 669.85 | 184.45 | 30,329.79 |
| 21 | 673.83 | 180.46 | 29,655.96 |
| 22 | 677.84 | 176.45 | 28,978.12 |
| 23 | 681.87 | 172.42 | 28,296.24 |
| 24 | 685.93 | 168.36 | 27,610.31 |
| 25 | 690.01 | 164.28 | 26,920.30 |
| 26 | 694.12 | 160.18 | 26,226.18 |
| 27 | 698.25 | 156.05 | 25,527.93 |
| 28 | 702.40 | 151.89 | 24,825.52 |
| 29 | 706.58 | 147.71 | 24,118.94 |
| 30 | 710.79 | 143.51 | 23,408.16 |
| 31 | 715.02 | 139.28 | 22,693.14 |
| 32 | 719.27 | 135.02 | 21,973.87 |
| 33 | 723.55 | 130.74 | 21,250.32 |
| 34 | 727.86 | 126.44 | 20,522.46 |
| 35 | 732.19 | 122.11 | 19,790.28 |
| 36 | 736.54 | 117.75 | 19,053.73 |
| 37 | 740.92 | 113.37 | 18,312.81 |
| 38 | 745.33 | 108.96 | 17,567.48 |
| 39 | 749.77 | 104.53 | 16,817.71 |
| 40 | 754.23 | 100.07 | 16,063.48 |
| 41 | 758.72 | 95.58 | 15,304.76 |
| 42 | 763.23 | 91.06 | 14,541.53 |
| 43 | 767.77 | 86.52 | 13,773.76 |
| 44 | 772.34 | 81.95 | 13,001.42 |
| 45 | 776.94 | 77.36 | 12,224.48 |
| 46 | 781.56 | 72.74 | 11,442.92 |
| 47 | 786.21 | 68.09 | 10,656.71 |
| 48 | 790.89 | 63.41 | 9,865.83 |
| 49 | 795.59 | 58.70 | 9,070.23 |
| 50 | 800.33 | 53.97 | 8,269.91 |
| 51 | 805.09 | 49.21 | 7,464.82 |
| 52 | 809.88 | 44.42 | 6,654.94 |
| 53 | 814.70 | 39.60 | 5,840.24 |
| 54 | 819.55 | 34.75 | 5,020.70 |
| 55 | 824.42 | 29.87 | 4,196.27 |
| 56 | 829.33 | 24.97 | 3,366.95 |
| 57 | 834.26 | 20.03 | 2,532.69 |
| 58 | 839.23 | 15.07 | 1,693.46 |
| 59 | 844.22 | 10.08 | 849.24 |
| 60 | 849.24 | 5.05 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $43,000 car loan for 60 months?
$854.29 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,258.
How much is a $43,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $988.09 a month over 60 months, versus $835.92 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $43,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $854.29 to $736.00 but adds $1,734 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $43,000 car loan?
The $854.29 payment is 10% of gross income at $102,515 a year and 15% at $68,344. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $43,000 car in California?
$3,118 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $916.23. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.