$43,500 car loan payment
$864.23/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,354 total interest over 60 months
Principal $43,500 Interest $8,354. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $809.19 | 6.29% | $846.86 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $845.64 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $917.20 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $999.58 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,060.38 | 21.62% | $1,192.04 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $43,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,154 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $46,654 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $926.88 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $864.23 payment is 10% of gross income at $103,707 a year and 15% at $69,138. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $605.40 | $258.83 | $42,894.60 |
| 2 | $609.01 | $255.22 | $42,285.59 |
| 3 | $612.63 | $251.60 | $41,672.96 |
| 4 | $616.27 | $247.95 | $41,056.69 |
| 5 | $619.94 | $244.29 | $40,436.75 |
| 6 | $623.63 | $240.60 | $39,813.12 |
| 7 | $627.34 | $236.89 | $39,185.78 |
| 8 | $631.07 | $233.16 | $38,554.70 |
| 9 | $634.83 | $229.40 | $37,919.88 |
| 10 | $638.61 | $225.62 | $37,281.27 |
| 11 | $642.40 | $221.82 | $36,638.87 |
| 12 | $646.23 | $218.00 | $35,992.64 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,507 | $2,863 | $35,993 |
| 2 | $8,061 | $2,309 | $27,931 |
| 3 | $8,656 | $1,715 | $19,275 |
| 4 | $9,295 | $1,076 | $9,981 |
| 5 | $9,981 | $390 | $0 |
| Total | $43,500 | $8,354 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 605.40 | 258.83 | 42,894.60 |
| 2 | 609.01 | 255.22 | 42,285.59 |
| 3 | 612.63 | 251.60 | 41,672.96 |
| 4 | 616.27 | 247.95 | 41,056.69 |
| 5 | 619.94 | 244.29 | 40,436.75 |
| 6 | 623.63 | 240.60 | 39,813.12 |
| 7 | 627.34 | 236.89 | 39,185.78 |
| 8 | 631.07 | 233.16 | 38,554.70 |
| 9 | 634.83 | 229.40 | 37,919.88 |
| 10 | 638.61 | 225.62 | 37,281.27 |
| 11 | 642.40 | 221.82 | 36,638.87 |
| 12 | 646.23 | 218.00 | 35,992.64 |
| 13 | 650.07 | 214.16 | 35,342.57 |
| 14 | 653.94 | 210.29 | 34,688.63 |
| 15 | 657.83 | 206.40 | 34,030.80 |
| 16 | 661.75 | 202.48 | 33,369.05 |
| 17 | 665.68 | 198.55 | 32,703.37 |
| 18 | 669.64 | 194.59 | 32,033.73 |
| 19 | 673.63 | 190.60 | 31,360.10 |
| 20 | 677.64 | 186.59 | 30,682.46 |
| 21 | 681.67 | 182.56 | 30,000.79 |
| 22 | 685.72 | 178.50 | 29,315.07 |
| 23 | 689.80 | 174.42 | 28,625.27 |
| 24 | 693.91 | 170.32 | 27,931.36 |
| 25 | 698.04 | 166.19 | 27,233.32 |
| 26 | 702.19 | 162.04 | 26,531.13 |
| 27 | 706.37 | 157.86 | 25,824.76 |
| 28 | 710.57 | 153.66 | 25,114.19 |
| 29 | 714.80 | 149.43 | 24,399.39 |
| 30 | 719.05 | 145.18 | 23,680.34 |
| 31 | 723.33 | 140.90 | 22,957.01 |
| 32 | 727.63 | 136.59 | 22,229.38 |
| 33 | 731.96 | 132.26 | 21,497.42 |
| 34 | 736.32 | 127.91 | 20,761.10 |
| 35 | 740.70 | 123.53 | 20,020.40 |
| 36 | 745.11 | 119.12 | 19,275.29 |
| 37 | 749.54 | 114.69 | 18,525.75 |
| 38 | 754.00 | 110.23 | 17,771.75 |
| 39 | 758.49 | 105.74 | 17,013.26 |
| 40 | 763.00 | 101.23 | 16,250.26 |
| 41 | 767.54 | 96.69 | 15,482.72 |
| 42 | 772.11 | 92.12 | 14,710.62 |
| 43 | 776.70 | 87.53 | 13,933.92 |
| 44 | 781.32 | 82.91 | 13,152.60 |
| 45 | 785.97 | 78.26 | 12,366.63 |
| 46 | 790.65 | 73.58 | 11,575.98 |
| 47 | 795.35 | 68.88 | 10,780.63 |
| 48 | 800.08 | 64.14 | 9,980.54 |
| 49 | 804.84 | 59.38 | 9,175.70 |
| 50 | 809.63 | 54.60 | 8,366.07 |
| 51 | 814.45 | 49.78 | 7,551.62 |
| 52 | 819.30 | 44.93 | 6,732.32 |
| 53 | 824.17 | 40.06 | 5,908.15 |
| 54 | 829.07 | 35.15 | 5,079.08 |
| 55 | 834.01 | 30.22 | 4,245.07 |
| 56 | 838.97 | 25.26 | 3,406.10 |
| 57 | 843.96 | 20.27 | 2,562.14 |
| 58 | 848.98 | 15.24 | 1,713.15 |
| 59 | 854.04 | 10.19 | 859.12 |
| 60 | 859.12 | 5.11 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $43,500 car loan for 60 months?
$864.23 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,354.
How much is a $43,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $999.58 a month over 60 months, versus $845.64 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $43,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $864.23 to $744.56 but adds $1,755 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $43,500 car loan?
The $864.23 payment is 10% of gross income at $103,707 a year and 15% at $69,138. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $43,500 car in California?
$3,154 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $926.88. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.