$44,000 car loan for 60 months
$874.16/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,450 total interest over 60 months
Principal $44,000 Interest $8,450. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $818.49 | 6.29% | $856.59 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $855.36 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $927.74 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,011.07 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,072.57 | 21.62% | $1,205.74 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $44,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,190 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $47,190 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $937.54 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $874.16 payment is 10% of gross income at $104,899 a year and 15% at $69,933. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $612.36 | $261.80 | $43,387.64 |
| 2 | $616.01 | $258.16 | $42,771.63 |
| 3 | $619.67 | $254.49 | $42,151.96 |
| 4 | $623.36 | $250.80 | $41,528.60 |
| 5 | $627.07 | $247.10 | $40,901.54 |
| 6 | $630.80 | $243.36 | $40,270.74 |
| 7 | $634.55 | $239.61 | $39,636.19 |
| 8 | $638.33 | $235.84 | $38,997.86 |
| 9 | $642.12 | $232.04 | $38,355.74 |
| 10 | $645.95 | $228.22 | $37,709.79 |
| 11 | $649.79 | $224.37 | $37,060.00 |
| 12 | $653.65 | $220.51 | $36,406.35 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,594 | $2,896 | $36,406 |
| 2 | $8,154 | $2,336 | $28,252 |
| 3 | $8,756 | $1,734 | $19,497 |
| 4 | $9,402 | $1,088 | $10,095 |
| 5 | $10,095 | $395 | $0 |
| Total | $44,000 | $8,450 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 612.36 | 261.80 | 43,387.64 |
| 2 | 616.01 | 258.16 | 42,771.63 |
| 3 | 619.67 | 254.49 | 42,151.96 |
| 4 | 623.36 | 250.80 | 41,528.60 |
| 5 | 627.07 | 247.10 | 40,901.54 |
| 6 | 630.80 | 243.36 | 40,270.74 |
| 7 | 634.55 | 239.61 | 39,636.19 |
| 8 | 638.33 | 235.84 | 38,997.86 |
| 9 | 642.12 | 232.04 | 38,355.74 |
| 10 | 645.95 | 228.22 | 37,709.79 |
| 11 | 649.79 | 224.37 | 37,060.00 |
| 12 | 653.65 | 220.51 | 36,406.35 |
| 13 | 657.54 | 216.62 | 35,748.80 |
| 14 | 661.46 | 212.71 | 35,087.35 |
| 15 | 665.39 | 208.77 | 34,421.95 |
| 16 | 669.35 | 204.81 | 33,752.60 |
| 17 | 673.33 | 200.83 | 33,079.27 |
| 18 | 677.34 | 196.82 | 32,401.93 |
| 19 | 681.37 | 192.79 | 31,720.56 |
| 20 | 685.42 | 188.74 | 31,035.13 |
| 21 | 689.50 | 184.66 | 30,345.63 |
| 22 | 693.61 | 180.56 | 29,652.03 |
| 23 | 697.73 | 176.43 | 28,954.29 |
| 24 | 701.88 | 172.28 | 28,252.41 |
| 25 | 706.06 | 168.10 | 27,546.35 |
| 26 | 710.26 | 163.90 | 26,836.09 |
| 27 | 714.49 | 159.67 | 26,121.60 |
| 28 | 718.74 | 155.42 | 25,402.86 |
| 29 | 723.01 | 151.15 | 24,679.85 |
| 30 | 727.32 | 146.85 | 23,952.53 |
| 31 | 731.64 | 142.52 | 23,220.89 |
| 32 | 736.00 | 138.16 | 22,484.89 |
| 33 | 740.38 | 133.79 | 21,744.51 |
| 34 | 744.78 | 129.38 | 20,999.73 |
| 35 | 749.21 | 124.95 | 20,250.52 |
| 36 | 753.67 | 120.49 | 19,496.84 |
| 37 | 758.16 | 116.01 | 18,738.69 |
| 38 | 762.67 | 111.50 | 17,976.02 |
| 39 | 767.20 | 106.96 | 17,208.82 |
| 40 | 771.77 | 102.39 | 16,437.05 |
| 41 | 776.36 | 97.80 | 15,660.69 |
| 42 | 780.98 | 93.18 | 14,879.71 |
| 43 | 785.63 | 88.53 | 14,094.08 |
| 44 | 790.30 | 83.86 | 13,303.78 |
| 45 | 795.00 | 79.16 | 12,508.77 |
| 46 | 799.73 | 74.43 | 11,709.04 |
| 47 | 804.49 | 69.67 | 10,904.54 |
| 48 | 809.28 | 64.88 | 10,095.26 |
| 49 | 814.10 | 60.07 | 9,281.17 |
| 50 | 818.94 | 55.22 | 8,462.23 |
| 51 | 823.81 | 50.35 | 7,638.42 |
| 52 | 828.71 | 45.45 | 6,809.70 |
| 53 | 833.64 | 40.52 | 5,976.06 |
| 54 | 838.60 | 35.56 | 5,137.46 |
| 55 | 843.59 | 30.57 | 4,293.86 |
| 56 | 848.61 | 25.55 | 3,445.25 |
| 57 | 853.66 | 20.50 | 2,591.59 |
| 58 | 858.74 | 15.42 | 1,732.84 |
| 59 | 863.85 | 10.31 | 868.99 |
| 60 | 868.99 | 5.17 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $44,000 car loan for 60 months?
$874.16 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,450.
How much is a $44,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,011.07 a month over 60 months, versus $855.36 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $44,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $874.16 to $753.12 but adds $1,775 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $44,000 car loan?
The $874.16 payment is 10% of gross income at $104,899 a year and 15% at $69,933. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $44,000 car in California?
$3,190 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $937.54. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.