$44,500 car loan for 60 months
$884.10/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,546 total interest over 60 months
Principal $44,500 Interest $8,546. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $827.79 | 6.29% | $866.32 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $865.08 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $938.28 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,022.56 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,084.76 | 21.62% | $1,219.45 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $44,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,226 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $47,726 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $948.19 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $884.10 payment is 10% of gross income at $106,091 a year and 15% at $70,728. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $619.32 | $264.78 | $43,880.68 |
| 2 | $623.01 | $261.09 | $43,257.67 |
| 3 | $626.71 | $257.38 | $42,630.96 |
| 4 | $630.44 | $253.65 | $42,000.52 |
| 5 | $634.19 | $249.90 | $41,366.33 |
| 6 | $637.97 | $246.13 | $40,728.36 |
| 7 | $641.76 | $242.33 | $40,086.60 |
| 8 | $645.58 | $238.52 | $39,441.02 |
| 9 | $649.42 | $234.67 | $38,791.60 |
| 10 | $653.29 | $230.81 | $38,138.31 |
| 11 | $657.17 | $226.92 | $37,481.14 |
| 12 | $661.08 | $223.01 | $36,820.06 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,680 | $2,929 | $36,820 |
| 2 | $8,247 | $2,363 | $28,573 |
| 3 | $8,855 | $1,754 | $19,718 |
| 4 | $9,508 | $1,101 | $10,210 |
| 5 | $10,210 | $399 | $0 |
| Total | $44,500 | $8,546 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 619.32 | 264.78 | 43,880.68 |
| 2 | 623.01 | 261.09 | 43,257.67 |
| 3 | 626.71 | 257.38 | 42,630.96 |
| 4 | 630.44 | 253.65 | 42,000.52 |
| 5 | 634.19 | 249.90 | 41,366.33 |
| 6 | 637.97 | 246.13 | 40,728.36 |
| 7 | 641.76 | 242.33 | 40,086.60 |
| 8 | 645.58 | 238.52 | 39,441.02 |
| 9 | 649.42 | 234.67 | 38,791.60 |
| 10 | 653.29 | 230.81 | 38,138.31 |
| 11 | 657.17 | 226.92 | 37,481.14 |
| 12 | 661.08 | 223.01 | 36,820.06 |
| 13 | 665.02 | 219.08 | 36,155.04 |
| 14 | 668.97 | 215.12 | 35,486.07 |
| 15 | 672.95 | 211.14 | 34,813.11 |
| 16 | 676.96 | 207.14 | 34,136.16 |
| 17 | 680.99 | 203.11 | 33,455.17 |
| 18 | 685.04 | 199.06 | 32,770.13 |
| 19 | 689.11 | 194.98 | 32,081.02 |
| 20 | 693.21 | 190.88 | 31,387.81 |
| 21 | 697.34 | 186.76 | 30,690.47 |
| 22 | 701.49 | 182.61 | 29,988.98 |
| 23 | 705.66 | 178.43 | 29,283.32 |
| 24 | 709.86 | 174.24 | 28,573.46 |
| 25 | 714.08 | 170.01 | 27,859.38 |
| 26 | 718.33 | 165.76 | 27,141.04 |
| 27 | 722.61 | 161.49 | 26,418.44 |
| 28 | 726.91 | 157.19 | 25,691.53 |
| 29 | 731.23 | 152.86 | 24,960.30 |
| 30 | 735.58 | 148.51 | 24,224.72 |
| 31 | 739.96 | 144.14 | 23,484.76 |
| 32 | 744.36 | 139.73 | 22,740.40 |
| 33 | 748.79 | 135.31 | 21,991.61 |
| 34 | 753.25 | 130.85 | 21,238.36 |
| 35 | 757.73 | 126.37 | 20,480.64 |
| 36 | 762.24 | 121.86 | 19,718.40 |
| 37 | 766.77 | 117.32 | 18,951.63 |
| 38 | 771.33 | 112.76 | 18,180.30 |
| 39 | 775.92 | 108.17 | 17,404.37 |
| 40 | 780.54 | 103.56 | 16,623.83 |
| 41 | 785.18 | 98.91 | 15,838.65 |
| 42 | 789.86 | 94.24 | 15,048.79 |
| 43 | 794.56 | 89.54 | 14,254.24 |
| 44 | 799.28 | 84.81 | 13,454.95 |
| 45 | 804.04 | 80.06 | 12,650.92 |
| 46 | 808.82 | 75.27 | 11,842.09 |
| 47 | 813.64 | 70.46 | 11,028.46 |
| 48 | 818.48 | 65.62 | 10,209.98 |
| 49 | 823.35 | 60.75 | 9,386.64 |
| 50 | 828.25 | 55.85 | 8,558.39 |
| 51 | 833.17 | 50.92 | 7,725.22 |
| 52 | 838.13 | 45.97 | 6,887.09 |
| 53 | 843.12 | 40.98 | 6,043.97 |
| 54 | 848.13 | 35.96 | 5,195.84 |
| 55 | 853.18 | 30.92 | 4,342.66 |
| 56 | 858.26 | 25.84 | 3,484.40 |
| 57 | 863.36 | 20.73 | 2,621.03 |
| 58 | 868.50 | 15.60 | 1,752.53 |
| 59 | 873.67 | 10.43 | 878.87 |
| 60 | 878.87 | 5.23 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $44,500 car loan for 60 months?
$884.10 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,546.
How much is a $44,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,022.56 a month over 60 months, versus $865.08 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $44,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $884.10 to $761.68 but adds $1,795 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $44,500 car loan?
The $884.10 payment is 10% of gross income at $106,091 a year and 15% at $70,728. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $44,500 car in California?
$3,226 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $948.19. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.