$45,000 car loan payment
$894.03/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,642 total interest over 60 months
Principal $45,000 Interest $8,642. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $837.10 | 6.29% | $876.06 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $874.80 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $948.83 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,034.05 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,096.94 | 21.62% | $1,233.15 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $45,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,263 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $48,263 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $958.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $894.03 payment is 10% of gross income at $107,284 a year and 15% at $71,522. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $626.28 | $267.75 | $44,373.72 |
| 2 | $630.01 | $264.02 | $43,743.72 |
| 3 | $633.75 | $260.28 | $43,109.96 |
| 4 | $637.53 | $256.50 | $42,472.44 |
| 5 | $641.32 | $252.71 | $41,831.12 |
| 6 | $645.13 | $248.90 | $41,185.98 |
| 7 | $648.97 | $245.06 | $40,537.01 |
| 8 | $652.83 | $241.20 | $39,884.18 |
| 9 | $656.72 | $237.31 | $39,227.46 |
| 10 | $660.63 | $233.40 | $38,566.83 |
| 11 | $664.56 | $229.47 | $37,902.28 |
| 12 | $668.51 | $225.52 | $37,233.76 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,766 | $2,962 | $37,234 |
| 2 | $8,339 | $2,389 | $28,895 |
| 3 | $8,955 | $1,774 | $19,940 |
| 4 | $9,615 | $1,113 | $10,325 |
| 5 | $10,325 | $404 | $0 |
| Total | $45,000 | $8,642 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 626.28 | 267.75 | 44,373.72 |
| 2 | 630.01 | 264.02 | 43,743.72 |
| 3 | 633.75 | 260.28 | 43,109.96 |
| 4 | 637.53 | 256.50 | 42,472.44 |
| 5 | 641.32 | 252.71 | 41,831.12 |
| 6 | 645.13 | 248.90 | 41,185.98 |
| 7 | 648.97 | 245.06 | 40,537.01 |
| 8 | 652.83 | 241.20 | 39,884.18 |
| 9 | 656.72 | 237.31 | 39,227.46 |
| 10 | 660.63 | 233.40 | 38,566.83 |
| 11 | 664.56 | 229.47 | 37,902.28 |
| 12 | 668.51 | 225.52 | 37,233.76 |
| 13 | 672.49 | 221.54 | 36,561.28 |
| 14 | 676.49 | 217.54 | 35,884.79 |
| 15 | 680.51 | 213.51 | 35,204.27 |
| 16 | 684.56 | 209.47 | 34,519.71 |
| 17 | 688.64 | 205.39 | 33,831.07 |
| 18 | 692.73 | 201.29 | 33,138.34 |
| 19 | 696.86 | 197.17 | 32,441.48 |
| 20 | 701.00 | 193.03 | 31,740.48 |
| 21 | 705.17 | 188.86 | 31,035.30 |
| 22 | 709.37 | 184.66 | 30,325.94 |
| 23 | 713.59 | 180.44 | 29,612.35 |
| 24 | 717.84 | 176.19 | 28,894.51 |
| 25 | 722.11 | 171.92 | 28,172.40 |
| 26 | 726.40 | 167.63 | 27,446.00 |
| 27 | 730.73 | 163.30 | 26,715.27 |
| 28 | 735.07 | 158.96 | 25,980.20 |
| 29 | 739.45 | 154.58 | 25,240.75 |
| 30 | 743.85 | 150.18 | 24,496.91 |
| 31 | 748.27 | 145.76 | 23,748.63 |
| 32 | 752.72 | 141.30 | 22,995.91 |
| 33 | 757.20 | 136.83 | 22,238.71 |
| 34 | 761.71 | 132.32 | 21,477.00 |
| 35 | 766.24 | 127.79 | 20,710.76 |
| 36 | 770.80 | 123.23 | 19,939.95 |
| 37 | 775.39 | 118.64 | 19,164.57 |
| 38 | 780.00 | 114.03 | 18,384.57 |
| 39 | 784.64 | 109.39 | 17,599.93 |
| 40 | 789.31 | 104.72 | 16,810.62 |
| 41 | 794.01 | 100.02 | 16,016.61 |
| 42 | 798.73 | 95.30 | 15,217.88 |
| 43 | 803.48 | 90.55 | 14,414.40 |
| 44 | 808.26 | 85.77 | 13,606.13 |
| 45 | 813.07 | 80.96 | 12,793.06 |
| 46 | 817.91 | 76.12 | 11,975.15 |
| 47 | 822.78 | 71.25 | 11,152.37 |
| 48 | 827.67 | 66.36 | 10,324.70 |
| 49 | 832.60 | 61.43 | 9,492.10 |
| 50 | 837.55 | 56.48 | 8,654.55 |
| 51 | 842.53 | 51.49 | 7,812.02 |
| 52 | 847.55 | 46.48 | 6,964.47 |
| 53 | 852.59 | 41.44 | 6,111.88 |
| 54 | 857.66 | 36.37 | 5,254.22 |
| 55 | 862.77 | 31.26 | 4,391.45 |
| 56 | 867.90 | 26.13 | 3,523.55 |
| 57 | 873.06 | 20.97 | 2,650.48 |
| 58 | 878.26 | 15.77 | 1,772.23 |
| 59 | 883.48 | 10.54 | 888.74 |
| 60 | 888.74 | 5.29 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $45,000 car loan for 60 months?
$894.03 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,642.
How much is a $45,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,034.05 a month over 60 months, versus $874.80 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $45,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $894.03 to $770.23 but adds $1,815 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $45,000 car loan?
The $894.03 payment is 10% of gross income at $107,284 a year and 15% at $71,522. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $45,000 car in California?
$3,263 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $958.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.