$46,000 car loan payment
$913.90/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,834 total interest over 60 months
Principal $46,000 Interest $8,834. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $855.70 | 6.29% | $895.53 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $894.24 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $969.91 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,057.03 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,121.32 | 21.62% | $1,260.55 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $46,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,335 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $49,335 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $980.15 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $913.90 payment is 10% of gross income at $109,668 a year and 15% at $73,112. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $640.20 | $273.70 | $45,359.80 |
| 2 | $644.01 | $269.89 | $44,715.80 |
| 3 | $647.84 | $266.06 | $44,067.96 |
| 4 | $651.69 | $262.20 | $43,416.27 |
| 5 | $655.57 | $258.33 | $42,760.70 |
| 6 | $659.47 | $254.43 | $42,101.23 |
| 7 | $663.39 | $250.50 | $41,437.83 |
| 8 | $667.34 | $246.56 | $40,770.49 |
| 9 | $671.31 | $242.58 | $40,099.18 |
| 10 | $675.31 | $238.59 | $39,423.87 |
| 11 | $679.32 | $234.57 | $38,744.55 |
| 12 | $683.37 | $230.53 | $38,061.18 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $7,939 | $3,028 | $38,061 |
| 2 | $8,525 | $2,442 | $29,537 |
| 3 | $9,154 | $1,813 | $20,383 |
| 4 | $9,829 | $1,138 | $10,554 |
| 5 | $10,554 | $413 | $0 |
| Total | $46,000 | $8,834 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 640.20 | 273.70 | 45,359.80 |
| 2 | 644.01 | 269.89 | 44,715.80 |
| 3 | 647.84 | 266.06 | 44,067.96 |
| 4 | 651.69 | 262.20 | 43,416.27 |
| 5 | 655.57 | 258.33 | 42,760.70 |
| 6 | 659.47 | 254.43 | 42,101.23 |
| 7 | 663.39 | 250.50 | 41,437.83 |
| 8 | 667.34 | 246.56 | 40,770.49 |
| 9 | 671.31 | 242.58 | 40,099.18 |
| 10 | 675.31 | 238.59 | 39,423.87 |
| 11 | 679.32 | 234.57 | 38,744.55 |
| 12 | 683.37 | 230.53 | 38,061.18 |
| 13 | 687.43 | 226.46 | 37,373.75 |
| 14 | 691.52 | 222.37 | 36,682.23 |
| 15 | 695.64 | 218.26 | 35,986.59 |
| 16 | 699.78 | 214.12 | 35,286.81 |
| 17 | 703.94 | 209.96 | 34,582.87 |
| 18 | 708.13 | 205.77 | 33,874.74 |
| 19 | 712.34 | 201.55 | 33,162.40 |
| 20 | 716.58 | 197.32 | 32,445.82 |
| 21 | 720.84 | 193.05 | 31,724.98 |
| 22 | 725.13 | 188.76 | 30,999.85 |
| 23 | 729.45 | 184.45 | 30,270.40 |
| 24 | 733.79 | 180.11 | 29,536.61 |
| 25 | 738.15 | 175.74 | 28,798.46 |
| 26 | 742.55 | 171.35 | 28,055.91 |
| 27 | 746.96 | 166.93 | 27,308.95 |
| 28 | 751.41 | 162.49 | 26,557.54 |
| 29 | 755.88 | 158.02 | 25,801.66 |
| 30 | 760.38 | 153.52 | 25,041.28 |
| 31 | 764.90 | 149.00 | 24,276.38 |
| 32 | 769.45 | 144.44 | 23,506.93 |
| 33 | 774.03 | 139.87 | 22,732.90 |
| 34 | 778.64 | 135.26 | 21,954.26 |
| 35 | 783.27 | 130.63 | 21,170.99 |
| 36 | 787.93 | 125.97 | 20,383.06 |
| 37 | 792.62 | 121.28 | 19,590.45 |
| 38 | 797.33 | 116.56 | 18,793.11 |
| 39 | 802.08 | 111.82 | 17,991.04 |
| 40 | 806.85 | 107.05 | 17,184.19 |
| 41 | 811.65 | 102.25 | 16,372.54 |
| 42 | 816.48 | 97.42 | 15,556.06 |
| 43 | 821.34 | 92.56 | 14,734.72 |
| 44 | 826.23 | 87.67 | 13,908.49 |
| 45 | 831.14 | 82.76 | 13,077.35 |
| 46 | 836.09 | 77.81 | 12,241.27 |
| 47 | 841.06 | 72.84 | 11,400.20 |
| 48 | 846.07 | 67.83 | 10,554.14 |
| 49 | 851.10 | 62.80 | 9,703.04 |
| 50 | 856.16 | 57.73 | 8,846.88 |
| 51 | 861.26 | 52.64 | 7,985.62 |
| 52 | 866.38 | 47.51 | 7,119.24 |
| 53 | 871.54 | 42.36 | 6,247.70 |
| 54 | 876.72 | 37.17 | 5,370.98 |
| 55 | 881.94 | 31.96 | 4,489.04 |
| 56 | 887.19 | 26.71 | 3,601.85 |
| 57 | 892.47 | 21.43 | 2,709.38 |
| 58 | 897.78 | 16.12 | 1,811.61 |
| 59 | 903.12 | 10.78 | 908.49 |
| 60 | 908.49 | 5.41 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $46,000 car loan for 60 months?
$913.90 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,834.
How much is a $46,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,057.03 a month over 60 months, versus $894.24 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $46,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $913.90 to $787.35 but adds $1,855 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $46,000 car loan?
The $913.90 payment is 10% of gross income at $109,668 a year and 15% at $73,112. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $46,000 car in California?
$3,335 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $980.15. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.