$46,500 car loan payment
$923.83/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$8,930 total interest over 60 months
Principal $46,500 Interest $8,930. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $865.00 | 6.29% | $905.26 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $903.96 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $980.45 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,068.52 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,133.51 | 21.62% | $1,274.25 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $46,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,371 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $49,871 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $990.81 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $923.83 payment is 10% of gross income at $110,860 a year and 15% at $73,906. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $647.16 | $276.68 | $45,852.84 |
| 2 | $651.01 | $272.82 | $45,201.84 |
| 3 | $654.88 | $268.95 | $44,546.96 |
| 4 | $658.78 | $265.05 | $43,888.18 |
| 5 | $662.70 | $261.13 | $43,225.49 |
| 6 | $666.64 | $257.19 | $42,558.85 |
| 7 | $670.61 | $253.23 | $41,888.24 |
| 8 | $674.60 | $249.24 | $41,213.65 |
| 9 | $678.61 | $245.22 | $40,535.04 |
| 10 | $682.65 | $241.18 | $39,852.39 |
| 11 | $686.71 | $237.12 | $39,165.68 |
| 12 | $690.79 | $233.04 | $38,474.89 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,025 | $3,061 | $38,475 |
| 2 | $8,617 | $2,469 | $29,858 |
| 3 | $9,253 | $1,833 | $20,605 |
| 4 | $9,936 | $1,150 | $10,669 |
| 5 | $10,669 | $417 | $0 |
| Total | $46,500 | $8,930 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 647.16 | 276.68 | 45,852.84 |
| 2 | 651.01 | 272.82 | 45,201.84 |
| 3 | 654.88 | 268.95 | 44,546.96 |
| 4 | 658.78 | 265.05 | 43,888.18 |
| 5 | 662.70 | 261.13 | 43,225.49 |
| 6 | 666.64 | 257.19 | 42,558.85 |
| 7 | 670.61 | 253.23 | 41,888.24 |
| 8 | 674.60 | 249.24 | 41,213.65 |
| 9 | 678.61 | 245.22 | 40,535.04 |
| 10 | 682.65 | 241.18 | 39,852.39 |
| 11 | 686.71 | 237.12 | 39,165.68 |
| 12 | 690.79 | 233.04 | 38,474.89 |
| 13 | 694.90 | 228.93 | 37,779.99 |
| 14 | 699.04 | 224.79 | 37,080.95 |
| 15 | 703.20 | 220.63 | 36,377.75 |
| 16 | 707.38 | 216.45 | 35,670.37 |
| 17 | 711.59 | 212.24 | 34,958.77 |
| 18 | 715.83 | 208.00 | 34,242.95 |
| 19 | 720.08 | 203.75 | 33,522.86 |
| 20 | 724.37 | 199.46 | 32,798.49 |
| 21 | 728.68 | 195.15 | 32,069.81 |
| 22 | 733.01 | 190.82 | 31,336.80 |
| 23 | 737.38 | 186.45 | 30,599.42 |
| 24 | 741.76 | 182.07 | 29,857.66 |
| 25 | 746.18 | 177.65 | 29,111.48 |
| 26 | 750.62 | 173.21 | 28,360.87 |
| 27 | 755.08 | 168.75 | 27,605.78 |
| 28 | 759.58 | 164.25 | 26,846.21 |
| 29 | 764.10 | 159.73 | 26,082.11 |
| 30 | 768.64 | 155.19 | 25,313.47 |
| 31 | 773.22 | 150.62 | 24,540.25 |
| 32 | 777.82 | 146.01 | 23,762.44 |
| 33 | 782.44 | 141.39 | 22,980.00 |
| 34 | 787.10 | 136.73 | 22,192.90 |
| 35 | 791.78 | 132.05 | 21,401.11 |
| 36 | 796.49 | 127.34 | 20,604.62 |
| 37 | 801.23 | 122.60 | 19,803.39 |
| 38 | 806.00 | 117.83 | 18,997.39 |
| 39 | 810.80 | 113.03 | 18,186.59 |
| 40 | 815.62 | 108.21 | 17,370.97 |
| 41 | 820.47 | 103.36 | 16,550.50 |
| 42 | 825.35 | 98.48 | 15,725.14 |
| 43 | 830.27 | 93.56 | 14,894.88 |
| 44 | 835.21 | 88.62 | 14,059.67 |
| 45 | 840.18 | 83.66 | 13,219.50 |
| 46 | 845.17 | 78.66 | 12,374.32 |
| 47 | 850.20 | 73.63 | 11,524.12 |
| 48 | 855.26 | 68.57 | 10,668.86 |
| 49 | 860.35 | 63.48 | 9,808.51 |
| 50 | 865.47 | 58.36 | 8,943.04 |
| 51 | 870.62 | 53.21 | 8,072.42 |
| 52 | 875.80 | 48.03 | 7,196.62 |
| 53 | 881.01 | 42.82 | 6,315.61 |
| 54 | 886.25 | 37.58 | 5,429.36 |
| 55 | 891.53 | 32.30 | 4,537.83 |
| 56 | 896.83 | 27.00 | 3,641.00 |
| 57 | 902.17 | 21.66 | 2,738.83 |
| 58 | 907.53 | 16.30 | 1,831.30 |
| 59 | 912.93 | 10.90 | 918.37 |
| 60 | 918.37 | 5.46 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $46,500 car loan for 60 months?
$923.83 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $8,930.
How much is a $46,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,068.52 a month over 60 months, versus $903.96 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $46,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $923.83 to $795.91 but adds $1,876 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $46,500 car loan?
The $923.83 payment is 10% of gross income at $110,860 a year and 15% at $73,906. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $46,500 car in California?
$3,371 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $990.81. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.