$47,000 car loan for 60 months
$933.76/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,026 total interest over 60 months
Principal $47,000 Interest $9,026. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $874.30 | 6.29% | $914.99 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $913.68 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $991.00 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,080.01 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,145.70 | 21.62% | $1,287.95 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $47,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,408 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $50,408 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,001.46 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $933.76 payment is 10% of gross income at $112,052 a year and 15% at $74,701. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $654.11 | $279.65 | $46,345.89 |
| 2 | $658.01 | $275.76 | $45,687.88 |
| 3 | $661.92 | $271.84 | $45,025.96 |
| 4 | $665.86 | $267.90 | $44,360.10 |
| 5 | $669.82 | $263.94 | $43,690.28 |
| 6 | $673.81 | $259.96 | $43,016.47 |
| 7 | $677.82 | $255.95 | $42,338.66 |
| 8 | $681.85 | $251.92 | $41,656.81 |
| 9 | $685.91 | $247.86 | $40,970.90 |
| 10 | $689.99 | $243.78 | $40,280.91 |
| 11 | $694.09 | $239.67 | $39,586.82 |
| 12 | $698.22 | $235.54 | $38,888.60 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,111 | $3,094 | $38,889 |
| 2 | $8,710 | $2,495 | $30,179 |
| 3 | $9,353 | $1,853 | $20,826 |
| 4 | $10,043 | $1,163 | $10,784 |
| 5 | $10,784 | $422 | $0 |
| Total | $47,000 | $9,026 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 654.11 | 279.65 | 46,345.89 |
| 2 | 658.01 | 275.76 | 45,687.88 |
| 3 | 661.92 | 271.84 | 45,025.96 |
| 4 | 665.86 | 267.90 | 44,360.10 |
| 5 | 669.82 | 263.94 | 43,690.28 |
| 6 | 673.81 | 259.96 | 43,016.47 |
| 7 | 677.82 | 255.95 | 42,338.66 |
| 8 | 681.85 | 251.92 | 41,656.81 |
| 9 | 685.91 | 247.86 | 40,970.90 |
| 10 | 689.99 | 243.78 | 40,280.91 |
| 11 | 694.09 | 239.67 | 39,586.82 |
| 12 | 698.22 | 235.54 | 38,888.60 |
| 13 | 702.38 | 231.39 | 38,186.22 |
| 14 | 706.56 | 227.21 | 37,479.67 |
| 15 | 710.76 | 223.00 | 36,768.91 |
| 16 | 714.99 | 218.77 | 36,053.92 |
| 17 | 719.24 | 214.52 | 35,334.67 |
| 18 | 723.52 | 210.24 | 34,611.15 |
| 19 | 727.83 | 205.94 | 33,883.32 |
| 20 | 732.16 | 201.61 | 33,151.17 |
| 21 | 736.51 | 197.25 | 32,414.65 |
| 22 | 740.90 | 192.87 | 31,673.75 |
| 23 | 745.31 | 188.46 | 30,928.45 |
| 24 | 749.74 | 184.02 | 30,178.71 |
| 25 | 754.20 | 179.56 | 29,424.51 |
| 26 | 758.69 | 175.08 | 28,665.82 |
| 27 | 763.20 | 170.56 | 27,902.62 |
| 28 | 767.74 | 166.02 | 27,134.88 |
| 29 | 772.31 | 161.45 | 26,362.56 |
| 30 | 776.91 | 156.86 | 25,585.66 |
| 31 | 781.53 | 152.23 | 24,804.13 |
| 32 | 786.18 | 147.58 | 24,017.95 |
| 33 | 790.86 | 142.91 | 23,227.09 |
| 34 | 795.56 | 138.20 | 22,431.53 |
| 35 | 800.30 | 133.47 | 21,631.23 |
| 36 | 805.06 | 128.71 | 20,826.17 |
| 37 | 809.85 | 123.92 | 20,016.33 |
| 38 | 814.67 | 119.10 | 19,201.66 |
| 39 | 819.51 | 114.25 | 18,382.15 |
| 40 | 824.39 | 109.37 | 17,557.76 |
| 41 | 829.30 | 104.47 | 16,728.46 |
| 42 | 834.23 | 99.53 | 15,894.23 |
| 43 | 839.19 | 94.57 | 15,055.04 |
| 44 | 844.19 | 89.58 | 14,210.85 |
| 45 | 849.21 | 84.55 | 13,361.64 |
| 46 | 854.26 | 79.50 | 12,507.38 |
| 47 | 859.35 | 74.42 | 11,648.03 |
| 48 | 864.46 | 69.31 | 10,783.58 |
| 49 | 869.60 | 64.16 | 9,913.98 |
| 50 | 874.78 | 58.99 | 9,039.20 |
| 51 | 879.98 | 53.78 | 8,159.22 |
| 52 | 885.22 | 48.55 | 7,274.00 |
| 53 | 890.48 | 43.28 | 6,383.52 |
| 54 | 895.78 | 37.98 | 5,487.74 |
| 55 | 901.11 | 32.65 | 4,586.62 |
| 56 | 906.47 | 27.29 | 3,680.15 |
| 57 | 911.87 | 21.90 | 2,768.28 |
| 58 | 917.29 | 16.47 | 1,850.99 |
| 59 | 922.75 | 11.01 | 928.24 |
| 60 | 928.24 | 5.52 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $47,000 car loan for 60 months?
$933.76 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,026.
How much is a $47,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,080.01 a month over 60 months, versus $913.68 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $47,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $933.76 to $804.47 but adds $1,896 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $47,000 car loan?
The $933.76 payment is 10% of gross income at $112,052 a year and 15% at $74,701. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $47,000 car in California?
$3,408 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,001.46. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.