$47,500 car loan for 60 months
$943.70/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,122 total interest over 60 months
Principal $47,500 Interest $9,122. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $883.60 | 6.29% | $924.73 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $923.40 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,001.54 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,091.50 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,157.89 | 21.62% | $1,301.66 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $47,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,444 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $50,944 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,012.12 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $943.70 payment is 10% of gross income at $113,244 a year and 15% at $75,496. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $661.07 | $282.63 | $46,838.93 |
| 2 | $665.01 | $278.69 | $46,173.92 |
| 3 | $668.96 | $274.73 | $45,504.96 |
| 4 | $672.94 | $270.75 | $44,832.02 |
| 5 | $676.95 | $266.75 | $44,155.07 |
| 6 | $680.97 | $262.72 | $43,474.09 |
| 7 | $685.03 | $258.67 | $42,789.07 |
| 8 | $689.10 | $254.59 | $42,099.96 |
| 9 | $693.20 | $250.49 | $41,406.76 |
| 10 | $697.33 | $246.37 | $40,709.43 |
| 11 | $701.48 | $242.22 | $40,007.96 |
| 12 | $705.65 | $238.05 | $39,302.31 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,198 | $3,127 | $39,302 |
| 2 | $8,803 | $2,522 | $30,500 |
| 3 | $9,452 | $1,872 | $21,048 |
| 4 | $10,149 | $1,175 | $10,898 |
| 5 | $10,898 | $426 | $0 |
| Total | $47,500 | $9,122 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 661.07 | 282.63 | 46,838.93 |
| 2 | 665.01 | 278.69 | 46,173.92 |
| 3 | 668.96 | 274.73 | 45,504.96 |
| 4 | 672.94 | 270.75 | 44,832.02 |
| 5 | 676.95 | 266.75 | 44,155.07 |
| 6 | 680.97 | 262.72 | 43,474.09 |
| 7 | 685.03 | 258.67 | 42,789.07 |
| 8 | 689.10 | 254.59 | 42,099.96 |
| 9 | 693.20 | 250.49 | 41,406.76 |
| 10 | 697.33 | 246.37 | 40,709.43 |
| 11 | 701.48 | 242.22 | 40,007.96 |
| 12 | 705.65 | 238.05 | 39,302.31 |
| 13 | 709.85 | 233.85 | 38,592.46 |
| 14 | 714.07 | 229.63 | 37,878.39 |
| 15 | 718.32 | 225.38 | 37,160.07 |
| 16 | 722.60 | 221.10 | 36,437.47 |
| 17 | 726.89 | 216.80 | 35,710.58 |
| 18 | 731.22 | 212.48 | 34,979.36 |
| 19 | 735.57 | 208.13 | 34,243.79 |
| 20 | 739.95 | 203.75 | 33,503.84 |
| 21 | 744.35 | 199.35 | 32,759.49 |
| 22 | 748.78 | 194.92 | 32,010.71 |
| 23 | 753.23 | 190.46 | 31,257.48 |
| 24 | 757.72 | 185.98 | 30,499.76 |
| 25 | 762.22 | 181.47 | 29,737.54 |
| 26 | 766.76 | 176.94 | 28,970.78 |
| 27 | 771.32 | 172.38 | 28,199.46 |
| 28 | 775.91 | 167.79 | 27,423.54 |
| 29 | 780.53 | 163.17 | 26,643.02 |
| 30 | 785.17 | 158.53 | 25,857.85 |
| 31 | 789.84 | 153.85 | 25,068.00 |
| 32 | 794.54 | 149.15 | 24,273.46 |
| 33 | 799.27 | 144.43 | 23,474.19 |
| 34 | 804.03 | 139.67 | 22,670.16 |
| 35 | 808.81 | 134.89 | 21,861.35 |
| 36 | 813.62 | 130.08 | 21,047.73 |
| 37 | 818.46 | 125.23 | 20,229.27 |
| 38 | 823.33 | 120.36 | 19,405.93 |
| 39 | 828.23 | 115.47 | 18,577.70 |
| 40 | 833.16 | 110.54 | 17,744.54 |
| 41 | 838.12 | 105.58 | 16,906.42 |
| 42 | 843.10 | 100.59 | 16,063.32 |
| 43 | 848.12 | 95.58 | 15,215.20 |
| 44 | 853.17 | 90.53 | 14,362.03 |
| 45 | 858.24 | 85.45 | 13,503.79 |
| 46 | 863.35 | 80.35 | 12,640.44 |
| 47 | 868.49 | 75.21 | 11,771.95 |
| 48 | 873.65 | 70.04 | 10,898.30 |
| 49 | 878.85 | 64.84 | 10,019.44 |
| 50 | 884.08 | 59.62 | 9,135.36 |
| 51 | 889.34 | 54.36 | 8,246.02 |
| 52 | 894.63 | 49.06 | 7,351.39 |
| 53 | 899.96 | 43.74 | 6,451.43 |
| 54 | 905.31 | 38.39 | 5,546.12 |
| 55 | 910.70 | 33.00 | 4,635.42 |
| 56 | 916.12 | 27.58 | 3,719.30 |
| 57 | 921.57 | 22.13 | 2,797.73 |
| 58 | 927.05 | 16.65 | 1,870.68 |
| 59 | 932.57 | 11.13 | 938.12 |
| 60 | 938.12 | 5.58 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $47,500 car loan for 60 months?
$943.70 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,122.
How much is a $47,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,091.50 a month over 60 months, versus $923.40 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $47,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $943.70 to $813.02 but adds $1,916 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $47,500 car loan?
The $943.70 payment is 10% of gross income at $113,244 a year and 15% at $75,496. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $47,500 car in California?
$3,444 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,012.12. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.