$48,000 car loan payment
$953.63/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,218 total interest over 60 months
Principal $48,000 Interest $9,218. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $892.90 | 6.29% | $934.46 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $933.12 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,012.08 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,102.99 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,170.07 | 21.62% | $1,315.36 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $48,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,480 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $51,480 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,022.77 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $953.63 payment is 10% of gross income at $114,436 a year and 15% at $76,290. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $668.03 | $285.60 | $47,331.97 |
| 2 | $672.01 | $281.63 | $46,659.96 |
| 3 | $676.00 | $277.63 | $45,983.96 |
| 4 | $680.03 | $273.60 | $45,303.93 |
| 5 | $684.07 | $269.56 | $44,619.86 |
| 6 | $688.14 | $265.49 | $43,931.72 |
| 7 | $692.24 | $261.39 | $43,239.48 |
| 8 | $696.36 | $257.27 | $42,543.12 |
| 9 | $700.50 | $253.13 | $41,842.62 |
| 10 | $704.67 | $248.96 | $41,137.95 |
| 11 | $708.86 | $244.77 | $40,429.09 |
| 12 | $713.08 | $240.55 | $39,716.02 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,284 | $3,160 | $39,716 |
| 2 | $8,895 | $2,548 | $30,821 |
| 3 | $9,552 | $1,892 | $21,269 |
| 4 | $10,256 | $1,187 | $11,013 |
| 5 | $11,013 | $431 | $0 |
| Total | $48,000 | $9,218 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 668.03 | 285.60 | 47,331.97 |
| 2 | 672.01 | 281.63 | 46,659.96 |
| 3 | 676.00 | 277.63 | 45,983.96 |
| 4 | 680.03 | 273.60 | 45,303.93 |
| 5 | 684.07 | 269.56 | 44,619.86 |
| 6 | 688.14 | 265.49 | 43,931.72 |
| 7 | 692.24 | 261.39 | 43,239.48 |
| 8 | 696.36 | 257.27 | 42,543.12 |
| 9 | 700.50 | 253.13 | 41,842.62 |
| 10 | 704.67 | 248.96 | 41,137.95 |
| 11 | 708.86 | 244.77 | 40,429.09 |
| 12 | 713.08 | 240.55 | 39,716.02 |
| 13 | 717.32 | 236.31 | 38,998.70 |
| 14 | 721.59 | 232.04 | 38,277.11 |
| 15 | 725.88 | 227.75 | 37,551.22 |
| 16 | 730.20 | 223.43 | 36,821.02 |
| 17 | 734.55 | 219.09 | 36,086.48 |
| 18 | 738.92 | 214.71 | 35,347.56 |
| 19 | 743.31 | 210.32 | 34,604.25 |
| 20 | 747.74 | 205.90 | 33,856.51 |
| 21 | 752.19 | 201.45 | 33,104.33 |
| 22 | 756.66 | 196.97 | 32,347.66 |
| 23 | 761.16 | 192.47 | 31,586.50 |
| 24 | 765.69 | 187.94 | 30,820.81 |
| 25 | 770.25 | 183.38 | 30,050.56 |
| 26 | 774.83 | 178.80 | 29,275.73 |
| 27 | 779.44 | 174.19 | 28,496.29 |
| 28 | 784.08 | 169.55 | 27,712.21 |
| 29 | 788.74 | 164.89 | 26,923.47 |
| 30 | 793.44 | 160.19 | 26,130.03 |
| 31 | 798.16 | 155.47 | 25,331.88 |
| 32 | 802.91 | 150.72 | 24,528.97 |
| 33 | 807.68 | 145.95 | 23,721.29 |
| 34 | 812.49 | 141.14 | 22,908.80 |
| 35 | 817.32 | 136.31 | 22,091.47 |
| 36 | 822.19 | 131.44 | 21,269.29 |
| 37 | 827.08 | 126.55 | 20,442.21 |
| 38 | 832.00 | 121.63 | 19,610.21 |
| 39 | 836.95 | 116.68 | 18,773.26 |
| 40 | 841.93 | 111.70 | 17,931.33 |
| 41 | 846.94 | 106.69 | 17,084.39 |
| 42 | 851.98 | 101.65 | 16,232.41 |
| 43 | 857.05 | 96.58 | 15,375.36 |
| 44 | 862.15 | 91.48 | 14,513.21 |
| 45 | 867.28 | 86.35 | 13,645.93 |
| 46 | 872.44 | 81.19 | 12,773.49 |
| 47 | 877.63 | 76.00 | 11,895.87 |
| 48 | 882.85 | 70.78 | 11,013.01 |
| 49 | 888.10 | 65.53 | 10,124.91 |
| 50 | 893.39 | 60.24 | 9,231.52 |
| 51 | 898.70 | 54.93 | 8,332.82 |
| 52 | 904.05 | 49.58 | 7,428.77 |
| 53 | 909.43 | 44.20 | 6,519.34 |
| 54 | 914.84 | 38.79 | 5,604.50 |
| 55 | 920.28 | 33.35 | 4,684.21 |
| 56 | 925.76 | 27.87 | 3,758.45 |
| 57 | 931.27 | 22.36 | 2,827.18 |
| 58 | 936.81 | 16.82 | 1,890.37 |
| 59 | 942.38 | 11.25 | 947.99 |
| 60 | 947.99 | 5.64 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $48,000 car loan for 60 months?
$953.63 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,218.
How much is a $48,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,102.99 a month over 60 months, versus $933.12 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $48,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $953.63 to $821.58 but adds $1,936 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $48,000 car loan?
The $953.63 payment is 10% of gross income at $114,436 a year and 15% at $76,290. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $48,000 car in California?
$3,480 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,022.77. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.