$49,000 car loan payment
$973.50/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,410 total interest over 60 months
Principal $49,000 Interest $9,410. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $911.50 | 6.29% | $953.93 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $952.56 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,033.17 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,125.97 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,194.45 | 21.62% | $1,342.76 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $49,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,553 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $52,553 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,044.08 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $973.50 payment is 10% of gross income at $116,820 a year and 15% at $77,880. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $681.95 | $291.55 | $48,318.05 |
| 2 | $686.01 | $287.49 | $47,632.05 |
| 3 | $690.09 | $283.41 | $46,941.96 |
| 4 | $694.19 | $279.30 | $46,247.76 |
| 5 | $698.32 | $275.17 | $45,549.44 |
| 6 | $702.48 | $271.02 | $44,846.96 |
| 7 | $706.66 | $266.84 | $44,140.30 |
| 8 | $710.86 | $262.63 | $43,429.44 |
| 9 | $715.09 | $258.41 | $42,714.34 |
| 10 | $719.35 | $254.15 | $41,995.00 |
| 11 | $723.63 | $249.87 | $41,271.37 |
| 12 | $727.93 | $245.56 | $40,543.43 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,457 | $3,225 | $40,543 |
| 2 | $9,081 | $2,601 | $31,463 |
| 3 | $9,751 | $1,931 | $21,712 |
| 4 | $10,470 | $1,212 | $11,242 |
| 5 | $11,242 | $440 | $0 |
| Total | $49,000 | $9,410 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 681.95 | 291.55 | 48,318.05 |
| 2 | 686.01 | 287.49 | 47,632.05 |
| 3 | 690.09 | 283.41 | 46,941.96 |
| 4 | 694.19 | 279.30 | 46,247.76 |
| 5 | 698.32 | 275.17 | 45,549.44 |
| 6 | 702.48 | 271.02 | 44,846.96 |
| 7 | 706.66 | 266.84 | 44,140.30 |
| 8 | 710.86 | 262.63 | 43,429.44 |
| 9 | 715.09 | 258.41 | 42,714.34 |
| 10 | 719.35 | 254.15 | 41,995.00 |
| 11 | 723.63 | 249.87 | 41,271.37 |
| 12 | 727.93 | 245.56 | 40,543.43 |
| 13 | 732.27 | 241.23 | 39,811.17 |
| 14 | 736.62 | 236.88 | 39,074.55 |
| 15 | 741.01 | 232.49 | 38,333.54 |
| 16 | 745.41 | 228.08 | 37,588.13 |
| 17 | 749.85 | 223.65 | 36,838.28 |
| 18 | 754.31 | 219.19 | 36,083.97 |
| 19 | 758.80 | 214.70 | 35,325.17 |
| 20 | 763.31 | 210.18 | 34,561.85 |
| 21 | 767.86 | 205.64 | 33,794.00 |
| 22 | 772.42 | 201.07 | 33,021.57 |
| 23 | 777.02 | 196.48 | 32,244.55 |
| 24 | 781.64 | 191.86 | 31,462.91 |
| 25 | 786.29 | 187.20 | 30,676.62 |
| 26 | 790.97 | 182.53 | 29,885.64 |
| 27 | 795.68 | 177.82 | 29,089.96 |
| 28 | 800.41 | 173.09 | 28,289.55 |
| 29 | 805.18 | 168.32 | 27,484.38 |
| 30 | 809.97 | 163.53 | 26,674.41 |
| 31 | 814.79 | 158.71 | 25,859.62 |
| 32 | 819.63 | 153.86 | 25,039.99 |
| 33 | 824.51 | 148.99 | 24,215.48 |
| 34 | 829.42 | 144.08 | 23,386.06 |
| 35 | 834.35 | 139.15 | 22,551.71 |
| 36 | 839.32 | 134.18 | 21,712.40 |
| 37 | 844.31 | 129.19 | 20,868.09 |
| 38 | 849.33 | 124.17 | 20,018.75 |
| 39 | 854.39 | 119.11 | 19,164.36 |
| 40 | 859.47 | 114.03 | 18,304.89 |
| 41 | 864.58 | 108.91 | 17,440.31 |
| 42 | 869.73 | 103.77 | 16,570.58 |
| 43 | 874.90 | 98.59 | 15,695.68 |
| 44 | 880.11 | 93.39 | 14,815.57 |
| 45 | 885.35 | 88.15 | 13,930.22 |
| 46 | 890.61 | 82.88 | 13,039.61 |
| 47 | 895.91 | 77.59 | 12,143.70 |
| 48 | 901.24 | 72.25 | 11,242.45 |
| 49 | 906.61 | 66.89 | 10,335.85 |
| 50 | 912.00 | 61.50 | 9,423.85 |
| 51 | 917.43 | 56.07 | 8,506.42 |
| 52 | 922.89 | 50.61 | 7,583.53 |
| 53 | 928.38 | 45.12 | 6,655.16 |
| 54 | 933.90 | 39.60 | 5,721.26 |
| 55 | 939.46 | 34.04 | 4,781.80 |
| 56 | 945.05 | 28.45 | 3,836.75 |
| 57 | 950.67 | 22.83 | 2,886.08 |
| 58 | 956.33 | 17.17 | 1,929.76 |
| 59 | 962.02 | 11.48 | 967.74 |
| 60 | 967.74 | 5.76 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $49,000 car loan for 60 months?
$973.50 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,410.
How much is a $49,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,125.97 a month over 60 months, versus $952.56 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $49,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $973.50 to $838.70 but adds $1,976 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $49,000 car loan?
The $973.50 payment is 10% of gross income at $116,820 a year and 15% at $77,880. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $49,000 car in California?
$3,553 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,044.08. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.