$48,500 car loan for 60 months
$963.56/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,314 total interest over 60 months
Principal $48,500 Interest $9,314. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $902.20 | 6.29% | $944.19 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $942.84 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,022.62 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,114.48 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,182.26 | 21.62% | $1,329.06 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $48,500 |
| Sales tax | $3,516 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $52,016 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,033.42 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $963.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $115,628 a year and 15% at $77,085. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $674.99 | $288.58 | $47,825.01 |
| 2 | $679.01 | $284.56 | $47,146.00 |
| 3 | $683.05 | $280.52 | $46,462.96 |
| 4 | $687.11 | $276.45 | $45,775.85 |
| 5 | $691.20 | $272.37 | $45,084.65 |
| 6 | $695.31 | $268.25 | $44,389.34 |
| 7 | $699.45 | $264.12 | $43,689.89 |
| 8 | $703.61 | $259.95 | $42,986.28 |
| 9 | $707.80 | $255.77 | $42,278.48 |
| 10 | $712.01 | $251.56 | $41,566.47 |
| 11 | $716.24 | $247.32 | $40,850.23 |
| 12 | $720.51 | $243.06 | $40,129.72 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,370 | $3,193 | $40,130 |
| 2 | $8,988 | $2,575 | $31,142 |
| 3 | $9,651 | $1,912 | $21,491 |
| 4 | $10,363 | $1,200 | $11,128 |
| 5 | $11,128 | $435 | $0 |
| Total | $48,500 | $9,314 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 674.99 | 288.58 | 47,825.01 |
| 2 | 679.01 | 284.56 | 47,146.00 |
| 3 | 683.05 | 280.52 | 46,462.96 |
| 4 | 687.11 | 276.45 | 45,775.85 |
| 5 | 691.20 | 272.37 | 45,084.65 |
| 6 | 695.31 | 268.25 | 44,389.34 |
| 7 | 699.45 | 264.12 | 43,689.89 |
| 8 | 703.61 | 259.95 | 42,986.28 |
| 9 | 707.80 | 255.77 | 42,278.48 |
| 10 | 712.01 | 251.56 | 41,566.47 |
| 11 | 716.24 | 247.32 | 40,850.23 |
| 12 | 720.51 | 243.06 | 40,129.72 |
| 13 | 724.79 | 238.77 | 39,404.93 |
| 14 | 729.11 | 234.46 | 38,675.83 |
| 15 | 733.44 | 230.12 | 37,942.38 |
| 16 | 737.81 | 225.76 | 37,204.57 |
| 17 | 742.20 | 221.37 | 36,462.38 |
| 18 | 746.61 | 216.95 | 35,715.76 |
| 19 | 751.06 | 212.51 | 34,964.71 |
| 20 | 755.52 | 208.04 | 34,209.18 |
| 21 | 760.02 | 203.54 | 33,449.16 |
| 22 | 764.54 | 199.02 | 32,684.62 |
| 23 | 769.09 | 194.47 | 31,915.53 |
| 24 | 773.67 | 189.90 | 31,141.86 |
| 25 | 778.27 | 185.29 | 30,363.59 |
| 26 | 782.90 | 180.66 | 29,580.69 |
| 27 | 787.56 | 176.01 | 28,793.13 |
| 28 | 792.25 | 171.32 | 28,000.88 |
| 29 | 796.96 | 166.61 | 27,203.92 |
| 30 | 801.70 | 161.86 | 26,402.22 |
| 31 | 806.47 | 157.09 | 25,595.75 |
| 32 | 811.27 | 152.29 | 24,784.48 |
| 33 | 816.10 | 147.47 | 23,968.38 |
| 34 | 820.95 | 142.61 | 23,147.43 |
| 35 | 825.84 | 137.73 | 22,321.59 |
| 36 | 830.75 | 132.81 | 21,490.84 |
| 37 | 835.69 | 127.87 | 20,655.15 |
| 38 | 840.67 | 122.90 | 19,814.48 |
| 39 | 845.67 | 117.90 | 18,968.81 |
| 40 | 850.70 | 112.86 | 18,118.11 |
| 41 | 855.76 | 107.80 | 17,262.35 |
| 42 | 860.85 | 102.71 | 16,401.49 |
| 43 | 865.98 | 97.59 | 15,535.52 |
| 44 | 871.13 | 92.44 | 14,664.39 |
| 45 | 876.31 | 87.25 | 13,788.08 |
| 46 | 881.53 | 82.04 | 12,906.55 |
| 47 | 886.77 | 76.79 | 12,019.78 |
| 48 | 892.05 | 71.52 | 11,127.73 |
| 49 | 897.35 | 66.21 | 10,230.38 |
| 50 | 902.69 | 60.87 | 9,327.68 |
| 51 | 908.07 | 55.50 | 8,419.62 |
| 52 | 913.47 | 50.10 | 7,506.15 |
| 53 | 918.90 | 44.66 | 6,587.25 |
| 54 | 924.37 | 39.19 | 5,662.88 |
| 55 | 929.87 | 33.69 | 4,733.01 |
| 56 | 935.40 | 28.16 | 3,797.60 |
| 57 | 940.97 | 22.60 | 2,856.63 |
| 58 | 946.57 | 17.00 | 1,910.07 |
| 59 | 952.20 | 11.36 | 957.87 |
| 60 | 957.87 | 5.70 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $48,500 car loan for 60 months?
$963.56 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,314.
How much is a $48,500 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,114.48 a month over 60 months, versus $942.84 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $48,500 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $963.56 to $830.14 but adds $1,956 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $48,500 car loan?
The $963.56 payment is 10% of gross income at $115,628 a year and 15% at $77,085. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $48,500 car in California?
$3,516 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,033.42. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.