$53,000 car loan payment
$1,052.97/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$10,178 total interest over 60 months
Principal $53,000 Interest $10,178. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $985.91 | 6.29% | $1,031.80 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,030.32 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,117.51 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,217.88 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,291.96 | 21.62% | $1,452.37 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $53,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,843 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $56,843 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,129.31 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,052.97 payment is 10% of gross income at $126,356 a year and 15% at $84,237. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $737.62 | $315.35 | $52,262.38 |
| 2 | $742.01 | $310.96 | $51,520.38 |
| 3 | $746.42 | $306.55 | $50,773.95 |
| 4 | $750.86 | $302.11 | $50,023.09 |
| 5 | $755.33 | $297.64 | $49,267.76 |
| 6 | $759.82 | $293.14 | $48,507.94 |
| 7 | $764.35 | $288.62 | $47,743.59 |
| 8 | $768.89 | $284.07 | $46,974.70 |
| 9 | $773.47 | $279.50 | $46,201.23 |
| 10 | $778.07 | $274.90 | $45,423.16 |
| 11 | $782.70 | $270.27 | $44,640.46 |
| 12 | $787.36 | $265.61 | $43,853.10 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $9,147 | $3,489 | $43,853 |
| 2 | $9,822 | $2,814 | $34,031 |
| 3 | $10,546 | $2,089 | $23,485 |
| 4 | $11,325 | $1,311 | $12,160 |
| 5 | $12,160 | $475 | $0 |
| Total | $53,000 | $10,178 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 737.62 | 315.35 | 52,262.38 |
| 2 | 742.01 | 310.96 | 51,520.38 |
| 3 | 746.42 | 306.55 | 50,773.95 |
| 4 | 750.86 | 302.11 | 50,023.09 |
| 5 | 755.33 | 297.64 | 49,267.76 |
| 6 | 759.82 | 293.14 | 48,507.94 |
| 7 | 764.35 | 288.62 | 47,743.59 |
| 8 | 768.89 | 284.07 | 46,974.70 |
| 9 | 773.47 | 279.50 | 46,201.23 |
| 10 | 778.07 | 274.90 | 45,423.16 |
| 11 | 782.70 | 270.27 | 44,640.46 |
| 12 | 787.36 | 265.61 | 43,853.10 |
| 13 | 792.04 | 260.93 | 43,061.06 |
| 14 | 796.75 | 256.21 | 42,264.30 |
| 15 | 801.50 | 251.47 | 41,462.81 |
| 16 | 806.26 | 246.70 | 40,656.55 |
| 17 | 811.06 | 241.91 | 39,845.48 |
| 18 | 815.89 | 237.08 | 39,029.60 |
| 19 | 820.74 | 232.23 | 38,208.85 |
| 20 | 825.63 | 227.34 | 37,383.23 |
| 21 | 830.54 | 222.43 | 36,552.69 |
| 22 | 835.48 | 217.49 | 35,717.21 |
| 23 | 840.45 | 212.52 | 34,876.76 |
| 24 | 845.45 | 207.52 | 34,031.31 |
| 25 | 850.48 | 202.49 | 33,180.83 |
| 26 | 855.54 | 197.43 | 32,325.29 |
| 27 | 860.63 | 192.34 | 31,464.66 |
| 28 | 865.75 | 187.21 | 30,598.90 |
| 29 | 870.90 | 182.06 | 29,728.00 |
| 30 | 876.09 | 176.88 | 28,851.91 |
| 31 | 881.30 | 171.67 | 27,970.61 |
| 32 | 886.54 | 166.43 | 27,084.07 |
| 33 | 891.82 | 161.15 | 26,192.25 |
| 34 | 897.12 | 155.84 | 25,295.13 |
| 35 | 902.46 | 150.51 | 24,392.67 |
| 36 | 907.83 | 145.14 | 23,484.84 |
| 37 | 913.23 | 139.73 | 22,571.60 |
| 38 | 918.67 | 134.30 | 21,652.94 |
| 39 | 924.13 | 128.83 | 20,728.80 |
| 40 | 929.63 | 123.34 | 19,799.17 |
| 41 | 935.16 | 117.81 | 18,864.01 |
| 42 | 940.73 | 112.24 | 17,923.28 |
| 43 | 946.32 | 106.64 | 16,976.96 |
| 44 | 951.95 | 101.01 | 16,025.00 |
| 45 | 957.62 | 95.35 | 15,067.38 |
| 46 | 963.32 | 89.65 | 14,104.07 |
| 47 | 969.05 | 83.92 | 13,135.02 |
| 48 | 974.81 | 78.15 | 12,160.20 |
| 49 | 980.61 | 72.35 | 11,179.59 |
| 50 | 986.45 | 66.52 | 10,193.14 |
| 51 | 992.32 | 60.65 | 9,200.82 |
| 52 | 998.22 | 54.74 | 8,202.60 |
| 53 | 1,004.16 | 48.81 | 7,198.44 |
| 54 | 1,010.14 | 42.83 | 6,188.30 |
| 55 | 1,016.15 | 36.82 | 5,172.15 |
| 56 | 1,022.19 | 30.77 | 4,149.96 |
| 57 | 1,028.28 | 24.69 | 3,121.68 |
| 58 | 1,034.39 | 18.57 | 2,087.29 |
| 59 | 1,040.55 | 12.42 | 1,046.74 |
| 60 | 1,046.74 | 6.23 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $53,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,052.97 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $10,178.
How much is a $53,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,217.88 a month over 60 months, versus $1,030.32 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $53,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,052.97 to $907.16 but adds $2,138 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $53,000 car loan?
The $1,052.97 payment is 10% of gross income at $126,356 a year and 15% at $84,237. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $53,000 car in California?
$3,843 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,129.31. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.