$52,000 car loan payment
$1,033.10/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$9,986 total interest over 60 months
Principal $52,000 Interest $9,986. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $967.31 | 6.29% | $1,012.33 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,010.88 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,096.42 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,194.91 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,267.58 | 21.62% | $1,424.97 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $52,000 |
| Sales tax | $3,770 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $55,770 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,108.00 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,033.10 payment is 10% of gross income at $123,972 a year and 15% at $82,648. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $723.70 | $309.40 | $51,276.30 |
| 2 | $728.01 | $305.09 | $50,548.29 |
| 3 | $732.34 | $300.76 | $49,815.95 |
| 4 | $736.70 | $296.40 | $49,079.26 |
| 5 | $741.08 | $292.02 | $48,338.18 |
| 6 | $745.49 | $287.61 | $47,592.69 |
| 7 | $749.92 | $283.18 | $46,842.77 |
| 8 | $754.39 | $278.71 | $46,088.38 |
| 9 | $758.87 | $274.23 | $45,329.51 |
| 10 | $763.39 | $269.71 | $44,566.12 |
| 11 | $767.93 | $265.17 | $43,798.19 |
| 12 | $772.50 | $260.60 | $43,025.68 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $8,974 | $3,423 | $43,026 |
| 2 | $9,636 | $2,761 | $33,389 |
| 3 | $10,347 | $2,050 | $23,042 |
| 4 | $11,111 | $1,286 | $11,931 |
| 5 | $11,931 | $466 | $0 |
| Total | $52,000 | $9,986 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 723.70 | 309.40 | 51,276.30 |
| 2 | 728.01 | 305.09 | 50,548.29 |
| 3 | 732.34 | 300.76 | 49,815.95 |
| 4 | 736.70 | 296.40 | 49,079.26 |
| 5 | 741.08 | 292.02 | 48,338.18 |
| 6 | 745.49 | 287.61 | 47,592.69 |
| 7 | 749.92 | 283.18 | 46,842.77 |
| 8 | 754.39 | 278.71 | 46,088.38 |
| 9 | 758.87 | 274.23 | 45,329.51 |
| 10 | 763.39 | 269.71 | 44,566.12 |
| 11 | 767.93 | 265.17 | 43,798.19 |
| 12 | 772.50 | 260.60 | 43,025.68 |
| 13 | 777.10 | 256.00 | 42,248.59 |
| 14 | 781.72 | 251.38 | 41,466.86 |
| 15 | 786.37 | 246.73 | 40,680.49 |
| 16 | 791.05 | 242.05 | 39,889.44 |
| 17 | 795.76 | 237.34 | 39,093.68 |
| 18 | 800.49 | 232.61 | 38,293.19 |
| 19 | 805.26 | 227.84 | 37,487.93 |
| 20 | 810.05 | 223.05 | 36,677.89 |
| 21 | 814.87 | 218.23 | 35,863.02 |
| 22 | 819.72 | 213.38 | 35,043.30 |
| 23 | 824.59 | 208.51 | 34,218.71 |
| 24 | 829.50 | 203.60 | 33,389.21 |
| 25 | 834.43 | 198.67 | 32,554.78 |
| 26 | 839.40 | 193.70 | 31,715.38 |
| 27 | 844.39 | 188.71 | 30,870.98 |
| 28 | 849.42 | 183.68 | 30,021.56 |
| 29 | 854.47 | 178.63 | 29,167.09 |
| 30 | 859.56 | 173.54 | 28,307.54 |
| 31 | 864.67 | 168.43 | 27,442.87 |
| 32 | 869.82 | 163.29 | 26,573.05 |
| 33 | 874.99 | 158.11 | 25,698.06 |
| 34 | 880.20 | 152.90 | 24,817.86 |
| 35 | 885.43 | 147.67 | 23,932.43 |
| 36 | 890.70 | 142.40 | 23,041.73 |
| 37 | 896.00 | 137.10 | 22,145.72 |
| 38 | 901.33 | 131.77 | 21,244.39 |
| 39 | 906.70 | 126.40 | 20,337.69 |
| 40 | 912.09 | 121.01 | 19,425.60 |
| 41 | 917.52 | 115.58 | 18,508.08 |
| 42 | 922.98 | 110.12 | 17,585.11 |
| 43 | 928.47 | 104.63 | 16,656.64 |
| 44 | 933.99 | 99.11 | 15,722.64 |
| 45 | 939.55 | 93.55 | 14,783.09 |
| 46 | 945.14 | 87.96 | 13,837.95 |
| 47 | 950.76 | 82.34 | 12,887.19 |
| 48 | 956.42 | 76.68 | 11,930.77 |
| 49 | 962.11 | 70.99 | 10,968.65 |
| 50 | 967.84 | 65.26 | 10,000.82 |
| 51 | 973.60 | 59.50 | 9,027.22 |
| 52 | 979.39 | 53.71 | 8,047.83 |
| 53 | 985.22 | 47.88 | 7,062.62 |
| 54 | 991.08 | 42.02 | 6,071.54 |
| 55 | 996.97 | 36.13 | 5,074.56 |
| 56 | 1,002.91 | 30.19 | 4,071.66 |
| 57 | 1,008.87 | 24.23 | 3,062.78 |
| 58 | 1,014.88 | 18.22 | 2,047.91 |
| 59 | 1,020.92 | 12.19 | 1,026.99 |
| 60 | 1,026.99 | 6.11 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $52,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,033.10 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $9,986.
How much is a $52,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,194.91 a month over 60 months, versus $1,010.88 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $52,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,033.10 to $890.05 but adds $2,097 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $52,000 car loan?
The $1,033.10 payment is 10% of gross income at $123,972 a year and 15% at $82,648. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $52,000 car in California?
$3,770 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,108.00. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.