$57,000 car loan payment
$1,132.44/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$10,946 total interest over 60 months
Principal $57,000 Interest $10,946. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,060.32 | 6.29% | $1,109.67 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,108.08 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,201.85 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,309.80 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,389.46 | 21.62% | $1,561.99 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $57,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,133 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $61,133 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,214.54 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,132.44 payment is 10% of gross income at $135,892 a year and 15% at $90,595. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $793.29 | $339.15 | $56,206.71 |
| 2 | $798.01 | $334.43 | $55,408.71 |
| 3 | $802.76 | $329.68 | $54,605.95 |
| 4 | $807.53 | $324.91 | $53,798.42 |
| 5 | $812.34 | $320.10 | $52,986.08 |
| 6 | $817.17 | $315.27 | $52,168.91 |
| 7 | $822.03 | $310.41 | $51,346.88 |
| 8 | $826.92 | $305.51 | $50,519.96 |
| 9 | $831.84 | $300.59 | $49,688.11 |
| 10 | $836.79 | $295.64 | $48,851.32 |
| 11 | $841.77 | $290.67 | $48,009.55 |
| 12 | $846.78 | $285.66 | $47,162.77 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $9,837 | $3,752 | $47,163 |
| 2 | $10,563 | $3,026 | $36,600 |
| 3 | $11,342 | $2,247 | $25,257 |
| 4 | $12,179 | $1,410 | $13,078 |
| 5 | $13,078 | $511 | $0 |
| Total | $57,000 | $10,946 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 793.29 | 339.15 | 56,206.71 |
| 2 | 798.01 | 334.43 | 55,408.71 |
| 3 | 802.76 | 329.68 | 54,605.95 |
| 4 | 807.53 | 324.91 | 53,798.42 |
| 5 | 812.34 | 320.10 | 52,986.08 |
| 6 | 817.17 | 315.27 | 52,168.91 |
| 7 | 822.03 | 310.41 | 51,346.88 |
| 8 | 826.92 | 305.51 | 50,519.96 |
| 9 | 831.84 | 300.59 | 49,688.11 |
| 10 | 836.79 | 295.64 | 48,851.32 |
| 11 | 841.77 | 290.67 | 48,009.55 |
| 12 | 846.78 | 285.66 | 47,162.77 |
| 13 | 851.82 | 280.62 | 46,310.95 |
| 14 | 856.89 | 275.55 | 45,454.06 |
| 15 | 861.99 | 270.45 | 44,592.08 |
| 16 | 867.11 | 265.32 | 43,724.96 |
| 17 | 872.27 | 260.16 | 42,852.69 |
| 18 | 877.46 | 254.97 | 41,975.23 |
| 19 | 882.68 | 249.75 | 41,092.54 |
| 20 | 887.94 | 244.50 | 40,204.61 |
| 21 | 893.22 | 239.22 | 39,311.39 |
| 22 | 898.53 | 233.90 | 38,412.85 |
| 23 | 903.88 | 228.56 | 37,508.97 |
| 24 | 909.26 | 223.18 | 36,599.71 |
| 25 | 914.67 | 217.77 | 35,685.04 |
| 26 | 920.11 | 212.33 | 34,764.93 |
| 27 | 925.59 | 206.85 | 33,839.35 |
| 28 | 931.09 | 201.34 | 32,908.25 |
| 29 | 936.63 | 195.80 | 31,971.62 |
| 30 | 942.21 | 190.23 | 31,029.41 |
| 31 | 947.81 | 184.63 | 30,081.60 |
| 32 | 953.45 | 178.99 | 29,128.15 |
| 33 | 959.12 | 173.31 | 28,169.03 |
| 34 | 964.83 | 167.61 | 27,204.20 |
| 35 | 970.57 | 161.86 | 26,233.62 |
| 36 | 976.35 | 156.09 | 25,257.28 |
| 37 | 982.16 | 150.28 | 24,275.12 |
| 38 | 988.00 | 144.44 | 23,287.12 |
| 39 | 993.88 | 138.56 | 22,293.24 |
| 40 | 999.79 | 132.64 | 21,293.45 |
| 41 | 1,005.74 | 126.70 | 20,287.71 |
| 42 | 1,011.73 | 120.71 | 19,275.98 |
| 43 | 1,017.74 | 114.69 | 18,258.24 |
| 44 | 1,023.80 | 108.64 | 17,234.44 |
| 45 | 1,029.89 | 102.54 | 16,204.54 |
| 46 | 1,036.02 | 96.42 | 15,168.52 |
| 47 | 1,042.18 | 90.25 | 14,126.34 |
| 48 | 1,048.39 | 84.05 | 13,077.95 |
| 49 | 1,054.62 | 77.81 | 12,023.33 |
| 50 | 1,060.90 | 71.54 | 10,962.43 |
| 51 | 1,067.21 | 65.23 | 9,895.22 |
| 52 | 1,073.56 | 58.88 | 8,821.66 |
| 53 | 1,079.95 | 52.49 | 7,741.71 |
| 54 | 1,086.37 | 46.06 | 6,655.34 |
| 55 | 1,092.84 | 39.60 | 5,562.50 |
| 56 | 1,099.34 | 33.10 | 4,463.16 |
| 57 | 1,105.88 | 26.56 | 3,357.28 |
| 58 | 1,112.46 | 19.98 | 2,244.82 |
| 59 | 1,119.08 | 13.36 | 1,125.74 |
| 60 | 1,125.74 | 6.70 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $57,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,132.44 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $10,946.
How much is a $57,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,309.80 a month over 60 months, versus $1,108.08 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $57,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,132.44 to $975.63 but adds $2,299 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $57,000 car loan?
The $1,132.44 payment is 10% of gross income at $135,892 a year and 15% at $90,595. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $57,000 car in California?
$4,133 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,214.54. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.