$58,000 car loan payment
$1,152.30/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$11,138 total interest over 60 months
Principal $58,000 Interest $11,138. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,078.92 | 6.29% | $1,129.14 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,127.52 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,222.93 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,332.78 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,413.84 | 21.62% | $1,589.39 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $58,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,205 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $62,205 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,235.85 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,152.30 payment is 10% of gross income at $138,277 a year and 15% at $92,184. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $807.20 | $345.10 | $57,192.80 |
| 2 | $812.01 | $340.30 | $56,380.79 |
| 3 | $816.84 | $335.47 | $55,563.95 |
| 4 | $821.70 | $330.61 | $54,742.25 |
| 5 | $826.59 | $325.72 | $53,915.66 |
| 6 | $831.51 | $320.80 | $53,084.16 |
| 7 | $836.45 | $315.85 | $52,247.70 |
| 8 | $841.43 | $310.87 | $51,406.27 |
| 9 | $846.44 | $305.87 | $50,559.84 |
| 10 | $851.47 | $300.83 | $49,708.36 |
| 11 | $856.54 | $295.76 | $48,851.82 |
| 12 | $861.64 | $290.67 | $47,990.19 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,010 | $3,818 | $47,990 |
| 2 | $10,748 | $3,079 | $37,242 |
| 3 | $11,541 | $2,286 | $25,700 |
| 4 | $12,393 | $1,435 | $13,307 |
| 5 | $13,307 | $520 | $0 |
| Total | $58,000 | $11,138 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 807.20 | 345.10 | 57,192.80 |
| 2 | 812.01 | 340.30 | 56,380.79 |
| 3 | 816.84 | 335.47 | 55,563.95 |
| 4 | 821.70 | 330.61 | 54,742.25 |
| 5 | 826.59 | 325.72 | 53,915.66 |
| 6 | 831.51 | 320.80 | 53,084.16 |
| 7 | 836.45 | 315.85 | 52,247.70 |
| 8 | 841.43 | 310.87 | 51,406.27 |
| 9 | 846.44 | 305.87 | 50,559.84 |
| 10 | 851.47 | 300.83 | 49,708.36 |
| 11 | 856.54 | 295.76 | 48,851.82 |
| 12 | 861.64 | 290.67 | 47,990.19 |
| 13 | 866.76 | 285.54 | 47,123.42 |
| 14 | 871.92 | 280.38 | 46,251.50 |
| 15 | 877.11 | 275.20 | 45,374.40 |
| 16 | 882.33 | 269.98 | 44,492.07 |
| 17 | 887.58 | 264.73 | 43,604.49 |
| 18 | 892.86 | 259.45 | 42,711.63 |
| 19 | 898.17 | 254.13 | 41,813.46 |
| 20 | 903.51 | 248.79 | 40,909.95 |
| 21 | 908.89 | 243.41 | 40,001.06 |
| 22 | 914.30 | 238.01 | 39,086.76 |
| 23 | 919.74 | 232.57 | 38,167.02 |
| 24 | 925.21 | 227.09 | 37,241.81 |
| 25 | 930.72 | 221.59 | 36,311.10 |
| 26 | 936.25 | 216.05 | 35,374.84 |
| 27 | 941.82 | 210.48 | 34,433.02 |
| 28 | 947.43 | 204.88 | 33,485.59 |
| 29 | 953.07 | 199.24 | 32,532.53 |
| 30 | 958.74 | 193.57 | 31,573.79 |
| 31 | 964.44 | 187.86 | 30,609.35 |
| 32 | 970.18 | 182.13 | 29,639.17 |
| 33 | 975.95 | 176.35 | 28,663.22 |
| 34 | 981.76 | 170.55 | 27,681.46 |
| 35 | 987.60 | 164.70 | 26,693.86 |
| 36 | 993.48 | 158.83 | 25,700.39 |
| 37 | 999.39 | 152.92 | 24,701.00 |
| 38 | 1,005.33 | 146.97 | 23,695.67 |
| 39 | 1,011.32 | 140.99 | 22,684.35 |
| 40 | 1,017.33 | 134.97 | 21,667.02 |
| 41 | 1,023.39 | 128.92 | 20,643.63 |
| 42 | 1,029.47 | 122.83 | 19,614.16 |
| 43 | 1,035.60 | 116.70 | 18,578.56 |
| 44 | 1,041.76 | 110.54 | 17,536.80 |
| 45 | 1,047.96 | 104.34 | 16,488.83 |
| 46 | 1,054.20 | 98.11 | 15,434.64 |
| 47 | 1,060.47 | 91.84 | 14,374.17 |
| 48 | 1,066.78 | 85.53 | 13,307.39 |
| 49 | 1,073.13 | 79.18 | 12,234.27 |
| 50 | 1,079.51 | 72.79 | 11,154.76 |
| 51 | 1,085.93 | 66.37 | 10,068.82 |
| 52 | 1,092.39 | 59.91 | 8,976.43 |
| 53 | 1,098.89 | 53.41 | 7,877.53 |
| 54 | 1,105.43 | 46.87 | 6,772.10 |
| 55 | 1,112.01 | 40.29 | 5,660.09 |
| 56 | 1,118.63 | 33.68 | 4,541.46 |
| 57 | 1,125.28 | 27.02 | 3,416.18 |
| 58 | 1,131.98 | 20.33 | 2,284.20 |
| 59 | 1,138.71 | 13.59 | 1,145.49 |
| 60 | 1,145.49 | 6.82 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $58,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,152.30 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $11,138.
How much is a $58,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,332.78 a month over 60 months, versus $1,127.52 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $58,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,152.30 to $992.75 but adds $2,339 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $58,000 car loan?
The $1,152.30 payment is 10% of gross income at $138,277 a year and 15% at $92,184. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $58,000 car in California?
$4,205 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,235.85. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.