$59,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,172.17/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$11,330 total interest over 60 months
Principal $59,000 Interest $11,330. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,097.53 | 6.29% | $1,148.61 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,146.96 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,244.02 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,355.76 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,438.22 | 21.62% | $1,616.79 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $59,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,278 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $63,278 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,257.15 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,172.17 payment is 10% of gross income at $140,661 a year and 15% at $93,774. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $821.12 | $351.05 | $58,178.88 |
| 2 | $826.01 | $346.16 | $57,352.87 |
| 3 | $830.92 | $341.25 | $56,521.95 |
| 4 | $835.87 | $336.31 | $55,686.08 |
| 5 | $840.84 | $331.33 | $54,845.24 |
| 6 | $845.84 | $326.33 | $53,999.40 |
| 7 | $850.88 | $321.30 | $53,148.53 |
| 8 | $855.94 | $316.23 | $52,292.59 |
| 9 | $861.03 | $311.14 | $51,431.56 |
| 10 | $866.15 | $306.02 | $50,565.40 |
| 11 | $871.31 | $300.86 | $49,694.09 |
| 12 | $876.49 | $295.68 | $48,817.60 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,182 | $3,884 | $48,818 |
| 2 | $10,934 | $3,132 | $37,884 |
| 3 | $11,740 | $2,326 | $26,143 |
| 4 | $12,607 | $1,459 | $13,537 |
| 5 | $13,537 | $529 | $0 |
| Total | $59,000 | $11,330 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 821.12 | 351.05 | 58,178.88 |
| 2 | 826.01 | 346.16 | 57,352.87 |
| 3 | 830.92 | 341.25 | 56,521.95 |
| 4 | 835.87 | 336.31 | 55,686.08 |
| 5 | 840.84 | 331.33 | 54,845.24 |
| 6 | 845.84 | 326.33 | 53,999.40 |
| 7 | 850.88 | 321.30 | 53,148.53 |
| 8 | 855.94 | 316.23 | 52,292.59 |
| 9 | 861.03 | 311.14 | 51,431.56 |
| 10 | 866.15 | 306.02 | 50,565.40 |
| 11 | 871.31 | 300.86 | 49,694.09 |
| 12 | 876.49 | 295.68 | 48,817.60 |
| 13 | 881.71 | 290.46 | 47,935.90 |
| 14 | 886.95 | 285.22 | 47,048.94 |
| 15 | 892.23 | 279.94 | 46,156.71 |
| 16 | 897.54 | 274.63 | 45,259.17 |
| 17 | 902.88 | 269.29 | 44,356.29 |
| 18 | 908.25 | 263.92 | 43,448.04 |
| 19 | 913.66 | 258.52 | 42,534.39 |
| 20 | 919.09 | 253.08 | 41,615.29 |
| 21 | 924.56 | 247.61 | 40,690.73 |
| 22 | 930.06 | 242.11 | 39,760.67 |
| 23 | 935.60 | 236.58 | 38,825.08 |
| 24 | 941.16 | 231.01 | 37,883.91 |
| 25 | 946.76 | 225.41 | 36,937.15 |
| 26 | 952.40 | 219.78 | 35,984.75 |
| 27 | 958.06 | 214.11 | 35,026.69 |
| 28 | 963.76 | 208.41 | 34,062.93 |
| 29 | 969.50 | 202.67 | 33,093.43 |
| 30 | 975.27 | 196.91 | 32,118.17 |
| 31 | 981.07 | 191.10 | 31,137.10 |
| 32 | 986.91 | 185.27 | 30,150.19 |
| 33 | 992.78 | 179.39 | 29,157.41 |
| 34 | 998.69 | 173.49 | 28,158.73 |
| 35 | 1,004.63 | 167.54 | 27,154.10 |
| 36 | 1,010.60 | 161.57 | 26,143.50 |
| 37 | 1,016.62 | 155.55 | 25,126.88 |
| 38 | 1,022.67 | 149.50 | 24,104.21 |
| 39 | 1,028.75 | 143.42 | 23,075.46 |
| 40 | 1,034.87 | 137.30 | 22,040.59 |
| 41 | 1,041.03 | 131.14 | 20,999.56 |
| 42 | 1,047.22 | 124.95 | 19,952.33 |
| 43 | 1,053.46 | 118.72 | 18,898.88 |
| 44 | 1,059.72 | 112.45 | 17,839.15 |
| 45 | 1,066.03 | 106.14 | 16,773.12 |
| 46 | 1,072.37 | 99.80 | 15,700.75 |
| 47 | 1,078.75 | 93.42 | 14,622.00 |
| 48 | 1,085.17 | 87.00 | 13,536.83 |
| 49 | 1,091.63 | 80.54 | 12,445.20 |
| 50 | 1,098.12 | 74.05 | 11,347.08 |
| 51 | 1,104.66 | 67.52 | 10,242.42 |
| 52 | 1,111.23 | 60.94 | 9,131.19 |
| 53 | 1,117.84 | 54.33 | 8,013.35 |
| 54 | 1,124.49 | 47.68 | 6,888.86 |
| 55 | 1,131.18 | 40.99 | 5,757.68 |
| 56 | 1,137.91 | 34.26 | 4,619.76 |
| 57 | 1,144.68 | 27.49 | 3,475.08 |
| 58 | 1,151.50 | 20.68 | 2,323.58 |
| 59 | 1,158.35 | 13.83 | 1,165.24 |
| 60 | 1,165.24 | 6.93 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $59,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,172.17 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $11,330.
How much is a $59,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,355.76 a month over 60 months, versus $1,146.96 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $59,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,172.17 to $1,009.86 but adds $2,380 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $59,000 car loan?
The $1,172.17 payment is 10% of gross income at $140,661 a year and 15% at $93,774. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $59,000 car in California?
$4,278 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,257.15. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.