$61,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,211.91/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$11,714 total interest over 60 months
Principal $61,000 Interest $11,714. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,134.73 | 6.29% | $1,187.54 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,185.84 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,286.19 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,401.72 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,486.97 | 21.62% | $1,671.60 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $61,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,423 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $65,423 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,299.77 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,211.91 payment is 10% of gross income at $145,429 a year and 15% at $96,953. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $848.96 | $362.95 | $60,151.04 |
| 2 | $854.01 | $357.90 | $59,297.04 |
| 3 | $859.09 | $352.82 | $58,437.95 |
| 4 | $864.20 | $347.71 | $57,573.75 |
| 5 | $869.34 | $342.56 | $56,704.40 |
| 6 | $874.52 | $337.39 | $55,829.89 |
| 7 | $879.72 | $332.19 | $54,950.17 |
| 8 | $884.95 | $326.95 | $54,065.22 |
| 9 | $890.22 | $321.69 | $53,175.00 |
| 10 | $895.52 | $316.39 | $52,279.48 |
| 11 | $900.84 | $311.06 | $51,378.64 |
| 12 | $906.20 | $305.70 | $50,472.44 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,528 | $4,015 | $50,472 |
| 2 | $11,304 | $3,239 | $39,168 |
| 3 | $12,138 | $2,404 | $27,030 |
| 4 | $13,034 | $1,509 | $13,996 |
| 5 | $13,996 | $547 | $0 |
| Total | $61,000 | $11,714 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 848.96 | 362.95 | 60,151.04 |
| 2 | 854.01 | 357.90 | 59,297.04 |
| 3 | 859.09 | 352.82 | 58,437.95 |
| 4 | 864.20 | 347.71 | 57,573.75 |
| 5 | 869.34 | 342.56 | 56,704.40 |
| 6 | 874.52 | 337.39 | 55,829.89 |
| 7 | 879.72 | 332.19 | 54,950.17 |
| 8 | 884.95 | 326.95 | 54,065.22 |
| 9 | 890.22 | 321.69 | 53,175.00 |
| 10 | 895.52 | 316.39 | 52,279.48 |
| 11 | 900.84 | 311.06 | 51,378.64 |
| 12 | 906.20 | 305.70 | 50,472.44 |
| 13 | 911.60 | 300.31 | 49,560.84 |
| 14 | 917.02 | 294.89 | 48,643.82 |
| 15 | 922.48 | 289.43 | 47,721.35 |
| 16 | 927.96 | 283.94 | 46,793.38 |
| 17 | 933.49 | 278.42 | 45,859.90 |
| 18 | 939.04 | 272.87 | 44,920.86 |
| 19 | 944.63 | 267.28 | 43,976.23 |
| 20 | 950.25 | 261.66 | 43,025.98 |
| 21 | 955.90 | 256.00 | 42,070.08 |
| 22 | 961.59 | 250.32 | 41,108.49 |
| 23 | 967.31 | 244.60 | 40,141.18 |
| 24 | 973.07 | 238.84 | 39,168.11 |
| 25 | 978.86 | 233.05 | 38,189.26 |
| 26 | 984.68 | 227.23 | 37,204.58 |
| 27 | 990.54 | 221.37 | 36,214.04 |
| 28 | 996.43 | 215.47 | 35,217.60 |
| 29 | 1,002.36 | 209.54 | 34,215.24 |
| 30 | 1,008.33 | 203.58 | 33,206.92 |
| 31 | 1,014.33 | 197.58 | 32,192.59 |
| 32 | 1,020.36 | 191.55 | 31,172.23 |
| 33 | 1,026.43 | 185.47 | 30,145.80 |
| 34 | 1,032.54 | 179.37 | 29,113.26 |
| 35 | 1,038.68 | 173.22 | 28,074.58 |
| 36 | 1,044.86 | 167.04 | 27,029.72 |
| 37 | 1,051.08 | 160.83 | 25,978.64 |
| 38 | 1,057.33 | 154.57 | 24,921.30 |
| 39 | 1,063.62 | 148.28 | 23,857.68 |
| 40 | 1,069.95 | 141.95 | 22,787.73 |
| 41 | 1,076.32 | 135.59 | 21,711.41 |
| 42 | 1,082.72 | 129.18 | 20,628.68 |
| 43 | 1,089.17 | 122.74 | 19,539.52 |
| 44 | 1,095.65 | 116.26 | 18,443.87 |
| 45 | 1,102.17 | 109.74 | 17,341.71 |
| 46 | 1,108.72 | 103.18 | 16,232.98 |
| 47 | 1,115.32 | 96.59 | 15,117.66 |
| 48 | 1,121.96 | 89.95 | 13,995.71 |
| 49 | 1,128.63 | 83.27 | 12,867.07 |
| 50 | 1,135.35 | 76.56 | 11,731.73 |
| 51 | 1,142.10 | 69.80 | 10,589.62 |
| 52 | 1,148.90 | 63.01 | 9,440.73 |
| 53 | 1,155.73 | 56.17 | 8,284.99 |
| 54 | 1,162.61 | 49.30 | 7,122.38 |
| 55 | 1,169.53 | 42.38 | 5,952.85 |
| 56 | 1,176.49 | 35.42 | 4,776.37 |
| 57 | 1,183.49 | 28.42 | 3,592.88 |
| 58 | 1,190.53 | 21.38 | 2,402.35 |
| 59 | 1,197.61 | 14.29 | 1,204.74 |
| 60 | 1,204.74 | 7.17 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $61,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,211.91 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $11,714.
How much is a $61,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,401.72 a month over 60 months, versus $1,185.84 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $61,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,211.91 to $1,044.10 but adds $2,460 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $61,000 car loan?
The $1,211.91 payment is 10% of gross income at $145,429 a year and 15% at $96,953. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $61,000 car in California?
$4,423 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,299.77. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.