$60,000 car loan payment
$1,192.04/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$11,522 total interest over 60 months
Principal $60,000 Interest $11,522. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,116.13 | 6.29% | $1,168.08 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,166.40 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,265.10 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,378.74 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,462.59 | 21.62% | $1,644.20 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $60,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,350 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $64,350 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,278.46 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,192.04 payment is 10% of gross income at $143,045 a year and 15% at $95,363. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $835.04 | $357.00 | $59,164.96 |
| 2 | $840.01 | $352.03 | $58,324.95 |
| 3 | $845.01 | $347.03 | $57,479.95 |
| 4 | $850.03 | $342.01 | $56,629.91 |
| 5 | $855.09 | $336.95 | $55,774.82 |
| 6 | $860.18 | $331.86 | $54,914.64 |
| 7 | $865.30 | $326.74 | $54,049.35 |
| 8 | $870.45 | $321.59 | $53,178.90 |
| 9 | $875.62 | $316.41 | $52,303.28 |
| 10 | $880.83 | $311.20 | $51,422.44 |
| 11 | $886.08 | $305.96 | $50,536.37 |
| 12 | $891.35 | $300.69 | $49,645.02 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,355 | $3,949 | $49,645 |
| 2 | $11,119 | $3,185 | $38,526 |
| 3 | $11,939 | $2,365 | $26,587 |
| 4 | $12,820 | $1,484 | $13,766 |
| 5 | $13,766 | $538 | $0 |
| Total | $60,000 | $11,522 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 835.04 | 357.00 | 59,164.96 |
| 2 | 840.01 | 352.03 | 58,324.95 |
| 3 | 845.01 | 347.03 | 57,479.95 |
| 4 | 850.03 | 342.01 | 56,629.91 |
| 5 | 855.09 | 336.95 | 55,774.82 |
| 6 | 860.18 | 331.86 | 54,914.64 |
| 7 | 865.30 | 326.74 | 54,049.35 |
| 8 | 870.45 | 321.59 | 53,178.90 |
| 9 | 875.62 | 316.41 | 52,303.28 |
| 10 | 880.83 | 311.20 | 51,422.44 |
| 11 | 886.08 | 305.96 | 50,536.37 |
| 12 | 891.35 | 300.69 | 49,645.02 |
| 13 | 896.65 | 295.39 | 48,748.37 |
| 14 | 901.99 | 290.05 | 47,846.38 |
| 15 | 907.35 | 284.69 | 46,939.03 |
| 16 | 912.75 | 279.29 | 46,026.28 |
| 17 | 918.18 | 273.86 | 45,108.09 |
| 18 | 923.65 | 268.39 | 44,184.45 |
| 19 | 929.14 | 262.90 | 43,255.31 |
| 20 | 934.67 | 257.37 | 42,320.64 |
| 21 | 940.23 | 251.81 | 41,380.41 |
| 22 | 945.83 | 246.21 | 40,434.58 |
| 23 | 951.45 | 240.59 | 39,483.13 |
| 24 | 957.11 | 234.92 | 38,526.01 |
| 25 | 962.81 | 229.23 | 37,563.20 |
| 26 | 968.54 | 223.50 | 36,594.67 |
| 27 | 974.30 | 217.74 | 35,620.36 |
| 28 | 980.10 | 211.94 | 34,640.27 |
| 29 | 985.93 | 206.11 | 33,654.34 |
| 30 | 991.80 | 200.24 | 32,662.54 |
| 31 | 997.70 | 194.34 | 31,664.84 |
| 32 | 1,003.63 | 188.41 | 30,661.21 |
| 33 | 1,009.60 | 182.43 | 29,651.61 |
| 34 | 1,015.61 | 176.43 | 28,635.99 |
| 35 | 1,021.65 | 170.38 | 27,614.34 |
| 36 | 1,027.73 | 164.31 | 26,586.61 |
| 37 | 1,033.85 | 158.19 | 25,552.76 |
| 38 | 1,040.00 | 152.04 | 24,512.76 |
| 39 | 1,046.19 | 145.85 | 23,466.57 |
| 40 | 1,052.41 | 139.63 | 22,414.16 |
| 41 | 1,058.67 | 133.36 | 21,355.48 |
| 42 | 1,064.97 | 127.07 | 20,290.51 |
| 43 | 1,071.31 | 120.73 | 19,219.20 |
| 44 | 1,077.68 | 114.35 | 18,141.51 |
| 45 | 1,084.10 | 107.94 | 17,057.42 |
| 46 | 1,090.55 | 101.49 | 15,966.87 |
| 47 | 1,097.04 | 95.00 | 14,869.83 |
| 48 | 1,103.56 | 88.48 | 13,766.27 |
| 49 | 1,110.13 | 81.91 | 12,656.14 |
| 50 | 1,116.74 | 75.30 | 11,539.40 |
| 51 | 1,123.38 | 68.66 | 10,416.02 |
| 52 | 1,130.06 | 61.98 | 9,285.96 |
| 53 | 1,136.79 | 55.25 | 8,149.17 |
| 54 | 1,143.55 | 48.49 | 7,005.62 |
| 55 | 1,150.36 | 41.68 | 5,855.27 |
| 56 | 1,157.20 | 34.84 | 4,698.07 |
| 57 | 1,164.09 | 27.95 | 3,533.98 |
| 58 | 1,171.01 | 21.03 | 2,362.97 |
| 59 | 1,177.98 | 14.06 | 1,184.99 |
| 60 | 1,184.99 | 7.05 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $60,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,192.04 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $11,522.
How much is a $60,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,378.74 a month over 60 months, versus $1,166.40 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $60,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,192.04 to $1,026.98 but adds $2,420 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $60,000 car loan?
The $1,192.04 payment is 10% of gross income at $143,045 a year and 15% at $95,363. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $60,000 car in California?
$4,350 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,278.46. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.