$62,000 car loan for 60 months
$1,231.77/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$11,906 total interest over 60 months
Principal $62,000 Interest $11,906. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,153.33 | 6.29% | $1,207.01 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,205.28 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,307.27 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,424.69 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,511.35 | 21.62% | $1,699.00 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $62,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,495 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $66,495 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,321.08 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,231.77 payment is 10% of gross income at $147,813 a year and 15% at $98,542. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $862.87 | $368.90 | $61,137.13 |
| 2 | $868.01 | $363.77 | $60,269.12 |
| 3 | $873.17 | $358.60 | $59,395.95 |
| 4 | $878.37 | $353.41 | $58,517.58 |
| 5 | $883.59 | $348.18 | $57,633.98 |
| 6 | $888.85 | $342.92 | $56,745.13 |
| 7 | $894.14 | $337.63 | $55,850.99 |
| 8 | $899.46 | $332.31 | $54,951.53 |
| 9 | $904.81 | $326.96 | $54,046.72 |
| 10 | $910.20 | $321.58 | $53,136.52 |
| 11 | $915.61 | $316.16 | $52,220.91 |
| 12 | $921.06 | $310.71 | $51,299.85 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,700 | $4,081 | $51,300 |
| 2 | $11,490 | $3,292 | $39,810 |
| 3 | $12,337 | $2,444 | $27,473 |
| 4 | $13,248 | $1,534 | $14,225 |
| 5 | $14,225 | $556 | $0 |
| Total | $62,000 | $11,906 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 862.87 | 368.90 | 61,137.13 |
| 2 | 868.01 | 363.77 | 60,269.12 |
| 3 | 873.17 | 358.60 | 59,395.95 |
| 4 | 878.37 | 353.41 | 58,517.58 |
| 5 | 883.59 | 348.18 | 57,633.98 |
| 6 | 888.85 | 342.92 | 56,745.13 |
| 7 | 894.14 | 337.63 | 55,850.99 |
| 8 | 899.46 | 332.31 | 54,951.53 |
| 9 | 904.81 | 326.96 | 54,046.72 |
| 10 | 910.20 | 321.58 | 53,136.52 |
| 11 | 915.61 | 316.16 | 52,220.91 |
| 12 | 921.06 | 310.71 | 51,299.85 |
| 13 | 926.54 | 305.23 | 50,373.31 |
| 14 | 932.05 | 299.72 | 49,441.26 |
| 15 | 937.60 | 294.18 | 48,503.66 |
| 16 | 943.18 | 288.60 | 47,560.49 |
| 17 | 948.79 | 282.98 | 46,611.70 |
| 18 | 954.43 | 277.34 | 45,657.26 |
| 19 | 960.11 | 271.66 | 44,697.15 |
| 20 | 965.83 | 265.95 | 43,731.33 |
| 21 | 971.57 | 260.20 | 42,759.75 |
| 22 | 977.35 | 254.42 | 41,782.40 |
| 23 | 983.17 | 248.61 | 40,799.23 |
| 24 | 989.02 | 242.76 | 39,810.21 |
| 25 | 994.90 | 236.87 | 38,815.31 |
| 26 | 1,000.82 | 230.95 | 37,814.49 |
| 27 | 1,006.78 | 225.00 | 36,807.71 |
| 28 | 1,012.77 | 219.01 | 35,794.94 |
| 29 | 1,018.79 | 212.98 | 34,776.15 |
| 30 | 1,024.86 | 206.92 | 33,751.29 |
| 31 | 1,030.95 | 200.82 | 32,720.34 |
| 32 | 1,037.09 | 194.69 | 31,683.25 |
| 33 | 1,043.26 | 188.52 | 30,639.99 |
| 34 | 1,049.47 | 182.31 | 29,590.53 |
| 35 | 1,055.71 | 176.06 | 28,534.82 |
| 36 | 1,061.99 | 169.78 | 27,472.83 |
| 37 | 1,068.31 | 163.46 | 26,404.52 |
| 38 | 1,074.67 | 157.11 | 25,329.85 |
| 39 | 1,081.06 | 150.71 | 24,248.79 |
| 40 | 1,087.49 | 144.28 | 23,161.29 |
| 41 | 1,093.96 | 137.81 | 22,067.33 |
| 42 | 1,100.47 | 131.30 | 20,966.86 |
| 43 | 1,107.02 | 124.75 | 19,859.84 |
| 44 | 1,113.61 | 118.17 | 18,746.23 |
| 45 | 1,120.23 | 111.54 | 17,626.00 |
| 46 | 1,126.90 | 104.87 | 16,499.10 |
| 47 | 1,133.60 | 98.17 | 15,365.49 |
| 48 | 1,140.35 | 91.42 | 14,225.14 |
| 49 | 1,147.13 | 84.64 | 13,078.01 |
| 50 | 1,153.96 | 77.81 | 11,924.05 |
| 51 | 1,160.83 | 70.95 | 10,763.22 |
| 52 | 1,167.73 | 64.04 | 9,595.49 |
| 53 | 1,174.68 | 57.09 | 8,420.81 |
| 54 | 1,181.67 | 50.10 | 7,239.14 |
| 55 | 1,188.70 | 43.07 | 6,050.44 |
| 56 | 1,195.77 | 36.00 | 4,854.67 |
| 57 | 1,202.89 | 28.89 | 3,651.78 |
| 58 | 1,210.05 | 21.73 | 2,441.73 |
| 59 | 1,217.25 | 14.53 | 1,224.49 |
| 60 | 1,224.49 | 7.29 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $62,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,231.77 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $11,906.
How much is a $62,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,424.69 a month over 60 months, versus $1,205.28 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $62,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,231.77 to $1,061.21 but adds $2,501 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $62,000 car loan?
The $1,231.77 payment is 10% of gross income at $147,813 a year and 15% at $98,542. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $62,000 car in California?
$4,495 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,321.08. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.