$63,000 car loan payment
$1,251.64/month principal and interest, before sales tax
$12,098 total interest over 60 months
Principal $63,000 Interest $12,098. 16¢ of every dollar paid goes to interest.
60 months at 7.14%, the Federal Reserve's average finance rate on 60-month new-car loans at commercial banks (May 2026 survey).
Source: Federal Reserve G.19, May 2026 survey. An average, not an offer.
By credit score
| Credit tier | Score | New-car APR | Payment | Used-car APR | Payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super prime | 781–850 | 4.41% | $1,171.93 | 6.29% | $1,226.48 |
| Prime | 661–780 | 6.23% | $1,224.72 | not reported | — |
| Near prime | 601–660 | 9.67% | $1,328.36 | not reported | — |
| Subprime | 501–600 | 13.44% | $1,447.67 | not reported | — |
| Deep subprime | 300–500 | 16.11% | $1,535.72 | 21.62% | $1,726.41 |
Averages across lenders for loans originated in the quarter, not offers. All tiers combined: 6.35% new, 11.19% used.
By loan term
With sales tax
| State tax rate sales tax (statewide base incl. 1.25% uniform local) | 7.25% |
|---|---|
| Trade-in credit | no |
| Taxable amount | $63,000 |
| Sales tax | $4,568 |
| Financed (price − trade-in + tax) | $67,568 |
| Monthly payment with tax | $1,342.38 |
Trade-in is treated as payment and does not reduce the taxable selling price (CDTFA Pub 34). District taxes add on top of 7.25% depending on the registration address. Only states whose rules we have verified are listed.
Payment and income
The $1,251.64 payment is 10% of gross income at $150,197 a year and 15% at $100,131. Insurance, fuel and maintenance come on top.
Amortization schedule
First 12 months
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $876.79 | $374.85 | $62,123.21 |
| 2 | $882.01 | $369.63 | $61,241.20 |
| 3 | $887.26 | $364.39 | $60,353.95 |
| 4 | $892.54 | $359.11 | $59,461.41 |
| 5 | $897.85 | $353.80 | $58,563.56 |
| 6 | $903.19 | $348.45 | $57,660.38 |
| 7 | $908.56 | $343.08 | $56,751.82 |
| 8 | $913.97 | $337.67 | $55,837.85 |
| 9 | $919.41 | $332.24 | $54,918.44 |
| 10 | $924.88 | $326.76 | $53,993.57 |
| 11 | $930.38 | $321.26 | $53,063.19 |
| 12 | $935.92 | $315.73 | $52,127.27 |
Year by year
| Year | Principal | Interest | Balance at year end |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $10,873 | $4,147 | $52,127 |
| 2 | $11,675 | $3,345 | $40,452 |
| 3 | $12,536 | $2,483 | $27,916 |
| 4 | $13,461 | $1,558 | $14,455 |
| 5 | $14,455 | $565 | $0 |
| Total | $63,000 | $12,098 | $0 |
Full schedule, all 60 payments
| Month | Principal | Interest | Balance |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 876.79 | 374.85 | 62,123.21 |
| 2 | 882.01 | 369.63 | 61,241.20 |
| 3 | 887.26 | 364.39 | 60,353.95 |
| 4 | 892.54 | 359.11 | 59,461.41 |
| 5 | 897.85 | 353.80 | 58,563.56 |
| 6 | 903.19 | 348.45 | 57,660.38 |
| 7 | 908.56 | 343.08 | 56,751.82 |
| 8 | 913.97 | 337.67 | 55,837.85 |
| 9 | 919.41 | 332.24 | 54,918.44 |
| 10 | 924.88 | 326.76 | 53,993.57 |
| 11 | 930.38 | 321.26 | 53,063.19 |
| 12 | 935.92 | 315.73 | 52,127.27 |
| 13 | 941.48 | 310.16 | 51,185.79 |
| 14 | 947.09 | 304.56 | 50,238.70 |
| 15 | 952.72 | 298.92 | 49,285.98 |
| 16 | 958.39 | 293.25 | 48,327.59 |
| 17 | 964.09 | 287.55 | 47,363.50 |
| 18 | 969.83 | 281.81 | 46,393.67 |
| 19 | 975.60 | 276.04 | 45,418.07 |
| 20 | 981.40 | 270.24 | 44,436.67 |
| 21 | 987.24 | 264.40 | 43,449.43 |
| 22 | 993.12 | 258.52 | 42,456.31 |
| 23 | 999.03 | 252.62 | 41,457.28 |
| 24 | 1,004.97 | 246.67 | 40,452.31 |
| 25 | 1,010.95 | 240.69 | 39,441.36 |
| 26 | 1,016.96 | 234.68 | 38,424.40 |
| 27 | 1,023.02 | 228.63 | 37,401.38 |
| 28 | 1,029.10 | 222.54 | 36,372.28 |
| 29 | 1,035.23 | 216.42 | 35,337.05 |
| 30 | 1,041.39 | 210.26 | 34,295.67 |
| 31 | 1,047.58 | 204.06 | 33,248.09 |
| 32 | 1,053.81 | 197.83 | 32,194.27 |
| 33 | 1,060.09 | 191.56 | 31,134.19 |
| 34 | 1,066.39 | 185.25 | 30,067.79 |
| 35 | 1,072.74 | 178.90 | 28,995.06 |
| 36 | 1,079.12 | 172.52 | 27,915.94 |
| 37 | 1,085.54 | 166.10 | 26,830.40 |
| 38 | 1,092.00 | 159.64 | 25,738.40 |
| 39 | 1,098.50 | 153.14 | 24,639.90 |
| 40 | 1,105.03 | 146.61 | 23,534.86 |
| 41 | 1,111.61 | 140.03 | 22,423.26 |
| 42 | 1,118.22 | 133.42 | 21,305.03 |
| 43 | 1,124.88 | 126.76 | 20,180.16 |
| 44 | 1,131.57 | 120.07 | 19,048.59 |
| 45 | 1,138.30 | 113.34 | 17,910.29 |
| 46 | 1,145.07 | 106.57 | 16,765.21 |
| 47 | 1,151.89 | 99.75 | 15,613.32 |
| 48 | 1,158.74 | 92.90 | 14,454.58 |
| 49 | 1,165.64 | 86.00 | 13,288.95 |
| 50 | 1,172.57 | 79.07 | 12,116.37 |
| 51 | 1,179.55 | 72.09 | 10,936.82 |
| 52 | 1,186.57 | 65.07 | 9,750.26 |
| 53 | 1,193.63 | 58.01 | 8,556.63 |
| 54 | 1,200.73 | 50.91 | 7,355.90 |
| 55 | 1,207.87 | 43.77 | 6,148.03 |
| 56 | 1,215.06 | 36.58 | 4,932.97 |
| 57 | 1,222.29 | 29.35 | 3,710.68 |
| 58 | 1,229.56 | 22.08 | 2,481.12 |
| 59 | 1,236.88 | 14.76 | 1,244.24 |
| 60 | 1,244.24 | 7.40 | 0.00 |
Questions
What is the monthly payment on a $63,000 car loan for 60 months?
$1,251.64 at 7.14%, the average commercial-bank rate in the Fed's latest survey. Total interest is $12,098.
How much is a $63,000 car loan with bad credit?
At Experian's Q2 2026 average for subprime borrowers (scores 501–600, 13.44% on new cars), $1,447.67 a month over 60 months, versus $1,224.72 for prime borrowers.
Is 60 or 72 months better for a $63,000 car loan?
At the same 7.14% rate, 72 months lowers the payment from $1,251.64 to $1,078.33 but adds $2,541 in interest, and longer loans usually carry higher rates.
What income do I need for a $63,000 car loan?
The $1,251.64 payment is 10% of gross income at $150,197 a year and 15% at $100,131. Many budgets keep car payments near 10–15% of income.
How much does sales tax add to a $63,000 car in California?
$4,568 at the 7.25% state rate (no trade-in credit in this state). Financed with the car, it raises the payment to $1,342.38. Local taxes can add more.
Sources
- New-car loan, 60 months average: 7.14%. Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, terms of credit at commercial banks, series RIFLPBCIANM60NM, as of May 1, 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- Average auto loan APR by credit tier. Experian State of the Automotive Finance Market, Q2 2026; retrieved September 26, 2026.
- State vehicle sales tax and trade-in rules. State revenue departments and DMVs; state rate only, local taxes excluded.
Numbers on this page last changed September 26, 2026. How they are calculated: methodology.